We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic as a Novotel but super good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Studio Geneve Centre
Ranked #15 of 22 Geneva B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“very basic as a Novotel but super good deal”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It could be considered an annex which is converted from an (somewhat) rundown appartment building. Location is perfect albeit being in the middle of the redlight district. The amenities is pretty basic for a Novotel (yes, I got that because it's called 'resident'). There are only a couple of bottles bath gel & shampoo, not even tooth brush & paste unless asking the Front Desk. No minibar and although I didn't look, I bet there is no room service either. But one can be sure about the service is that it is a Novotel after all. The receptionist is prompt and courteous but I bet they are a bit busy though giving that they only have 1 girl on duty. during my check in (around 21:00) and 2 on my check out (around 13:00).

All in all, it is a very good deal... almost too good to be true!! Where can you find a Novotel with free internet in the middle of the city centre at a price cheaper than a 3 star hotel? Yes, I checked the hotels around that area and the cheapest I found is a hotel with NO private bathroom that is only Sfr. 5 cheaper.

One thing to note, the check in/out is at the actual hotel with is on Rue de Zurich around the corner (the address list for this studio 'annex' is on Rue de Berne).

But one thing to consider if you are a big group reserving several rooms... the lift for the studio 'annex' can only hold about 3 persons with a bit of luggage each time.

Tips: like most of the hotel in Geneva, the hotel provide a travel pass for public transport in central Geneva (which covers almost all attractions in the city). Be sure to ask for it in case they forgot (No, no... not that they did forget)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onelightyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    37
    41
    30
See reviews for
7
25
38
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I haven't stayed here yet, but I just learned my deposit (which is 100% of the room charge) is completely non-refundable. Now I want to change my plans but I'm hosed. Perhaps my travel experience is limited, but I've never experienced such a policy before. I can't wait to review this place after my stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zinjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 19, 2012

It's located in downtown so easily to go around.
However, everynight I heard big noise from outside. arguing, drunken people.
Very cheap, very clean but for business traveller, i'd not recommand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I booked this hotel as I thought it was part of a special offer...everything about the room/hotel is basic. Due to the night time activities ??//?? going on until the early hours I did not feel comfortable entering and leaving the hotel at any time.
Only in Geneva could one be charged this amount for such poor accommodation; i will research my hotel bookings a little bit more carefully in future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 105 in Geneva
1,258 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Studio Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Studio Geneve Centre

Property: Residence Studio Geneve Centre
Address: rue de Berne 36, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Studio Geneve Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Studio Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Studio Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing