We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt very unsafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Studio Geneve Centre
Ranked #14 of 22 Geneva B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 11, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fernando_priv
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 144 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Ruesselsheim, Germany
13
Reviewed March 19, 2012

It's located in downtown so easily to go around.
However, everynight I heard big noise from outside. arguing, drunken people.
Very cheap, very clean but for business traveller, i'd not recommand.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Zurich
12
Reviewed February 25, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
London, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed January 28, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
12
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I booked this hotel as I thought it was part of a special offer...everything about the room/hotel is basic. Due to the night time activities ??//?? going on until the early hours I did not feel comfortable entering and leaving the hotel at any time.
Only in Geneva could one be charged this amount for such poor accommodation; i will research my hotel bookings a little bit more carefully in future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Be warned - this place is at the intersection of two of Geneva's liveliest streets, with numerous restautants, bars, kebab shops and, yes, prostitutes right downstairs. I stayed there in the summer, there is no air conditioning, and anyway, even when i shut all the windows I still heard much more from the street than I would have liked to.

Another inconvenience is that the building itself has no hotel facilities, you have to go to the Novotel around the corner to check in and to have your meals. Speaking of meals, although the rooms have a kitchenette, you have to pay 100 francs extra per stay if you want to use it, which is absolutely not worth it.

So all in all I would only recommend this place in emergencies!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DzejDzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed here for four nights for a work event in Geneva. This was the only 'hotel' we could find in Geneva for under 1000 francs per night during the time period. I think our sponsor paid about 150 CHF, certainly not a good deal for this place, although I'm not sure any price would make it a good deal! haha.

As mentioned, you must check in around the corner at the Novotel hotel, where even they raise their eyebrows when you mention you are staying at the residence. The door to the residence is flanked by the employees from the Novotel on smoke break and prostitutes on the corner.

The room reminded me of a large dorm room at university. Relatively clean, basic and cement. There is free wifi which was very good. I was quite happy that it was just me there - I would not want to bring my family to this place.

Although you are in the 'red light district' of Geneva, it is hardly rough compared to other cities in the world. I never felt unsafe, although it certainly was loud! Most nights, and I wasn't there for a weekend, the noise went until about 4 in the morning. You will want to be on a high floor for sure.

Please see attached photo for a picture of my room and the view outside. I was on the fifth floor, there is only one tiny elevator that did get stuck one day that I was there and I quit taking it after that!

All in all, a survivable experience if you are really stuck for a place. Was ok for me since I wasn't paying out of pocket and was not in my room too often.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,301 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 106 in Geneva
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Studio Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Studio Geneve Centre

Address: rue de Berne 36, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range: $90 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Studio Geneve Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Studio Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Studio Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing