We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY designed / funky boutique hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Had an enjoyable night here this month on business. I always enjoy staying in 'different' hotels. this is a painfully designed boutique hotel in the latin quarter. The room was very trendy with lots of ultra-modern furniture. Bed was very comfortable.

Communal area is fun with free internet where you sit in a pod.

Excellent service and helpful reception.

Across the road is an excellent bistro frequented by medical students from the nearby hospital.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank apawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 374 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2008

We were a family of 5 with three kids aged 16, 14 and 7 looking for 5 nights in Geneva. We couldn't afford two hotel rooms so went looking for an apartment. Although this was our most expensive stopover on a 6-week holiday, we knew that would be the case given the city and La Cour Des Augustins was a great choice and we were delighted with our experience. We got a superior executive suite (Room 501) on the ground floor near the carpark of the second building. We loved the modern design in an old building and the room fit-outs were superb with polished floors, great beds, funky furniture and excellent kitchen facilities. We had a car and were able to park it in the space behind our room at no charge. Despite being so close to the parking and the roads, we didn't hear a thing as the windows had marine-quality seals (!) and shutters outside and blinds inside. With a large family producing copious amounts of washing, we were relieved to find a large laundrette literally next door, although I discovered washing on the first night that the whole place (machines included) shuts down at 11pm so beware. The staff were always attentive and helpful. I had my own laptop and there was a general purpose computer in the foyer but both were missing a disk drive that I needed to save photos onto CD-ROM so the staff gave us a beautiful new laptop to use in our room for our entire stay at no charge. We also had a brain fade on the last day and mistakenly thought we had one more night to go. At 2pm in the afternoon (after we should have checked out) the hotel allowed us to stay in the same room for that night (a Saturday night as well!) and even charged us a lower rate than we had been paying, so we were very grateful indeed. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel since we had the kitchen and there are supermarkets (Migros, Coop) nearby and plenty of pasty shops to get those delicious chocolate croissants. Trams close by give you good access to all parts of Geneva and we recommend you get the travel passes from the hotel for free public transportation (you pay for it indirectly through the daily tax on your room). My wife grew up in Geneva, leaving 20 years ago when this part of the old town was not somewhere you would hang out, but she was delightfully surprised to see how the area had changed. Overall we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DreamingOfTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in a junior suite as my husband attended a conference, thus having a kitchen available for private breakfast.
The service was very good, location perfect, especially as the hotel gives a pass for free local transport. The cathedral and old city within walking distance, the neighborhood rejuvenated; lots of interesting shops very close by.
The staff also advised me how to go by public transport towards France, taking the telepherique up to Saleve and enjoy the view of the french alps and Mont Blanc.
Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinjoorAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

very stylish hotel, not bad location only about 5 min. to the lake by tram

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdullahAltamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We visited Geneva for a short break in March 2008 and chose our hotel on the recommendations of previous user's reviews here on Tripadvisor.

I booked the hotel using the Swiss Tourist Board website and had no problems at all with the arrangements.
We were delighted with our stay at La Cour Des Augustins, it is a 20 minute walk from the city centre, but the no.12 and no.13 trams run past the end of the road so it is not difficult to get to!
The hotel upgraded our room from an Open Space room to a Junior Suite on arrival without our asking and at no extra cost and it was superb!
Very modern, white walls, white linen, wooden floor, Siemens equipped kitchenette with microwave, hob, dishwasher and tea & coffee making facilities and all exceptionally clean!

We paid £167.50 per night room only, Geneva is an expensive City but this hotel was one of the more reasonable one's I could find and we highly recommend based on our experience.
One of the reviews I read said something like phone call charges were added to the credit card bill after they had left, we had no such problems, but then we did'nt use the room phone!
Breakfast is charged as an extra, but with a kitchen in the room and a supermarket over the way selling fresh croissant's there's no need to pay extra!

Getting from the airport to the City is easy, just a short train journey, getting around the City is easy too, trams, buses, waterferry's, you just by a travel pass and use all the above and unlike public transport here in the UK, everything runs like clockwork! If the Swiss can do it, why can't we???

There's plenty to see and do, we got our information from geneva.info/sights
Geneva, well worth a visit! :-) Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcj242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at La Cour des Augustins in December 2007 / January 2008 in a room facing the backyard (no. 205, a "junior suite" upgrade from "open space" room). The room was spacious, stylish, well equipped, clean, new and had a comfortable bed. Reception staff was very nice and extremely helpful (found us a rental car although all the bigger firms were completely booked out). The breakfast (buffet) wasn't spectacular but ok and the atmosphere was nice. The neighbourhood is probably not the best part of the city, but it is safe, quiet, close to the inner city and close to Carouge, a (nowadays fashionable) old quarter very nice for dinner (try L'Olivier de Provence) and going out at night. Altogether, La Cour des Augustin clearly is not the Hotel des Bergues but a recommendable less pricy alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Loisiontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

I stayed at the hotel during the time of the ISTH conference in Geneva. The reception staff were very charming.

The room itself was a suite and housed a plasma screen, and kitchen area. The whole room was cutting edge and the visually the best place that I have stayed in.

Howevere after checking out the experience was a bit soured by the hotel charging me for phone bills that I did not take, after I left the hotel. The amount, however was only approx £30.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank DrHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Tiffany Hotel
#23 of 106 in Geneva
567 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,006 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel

Address: rue Jean-Violette 15, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#16 Business Hotel in Geneva
#19 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $185 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Geneva's Latin Quarter, La Cour des Augustins is an innovatively designed hotel with a distinctly urban style. It modernises the boutique hotel concept, combining architectural heritage with contemporary interior design. Far from the city's busy main roads and right in the heart of Genevan life, you can easily stroll through the Old City, the art and business districts, and the charming Sardinian village of Carouge. The concept was designed in collaboration with the Swiss designer Philippe Cramer, based on the idea of personalised and diverse spaces. The hotel harmoniously and subtly blends modern and classic design. Composed of 16 rooms and 24 suites that masterfully combine design, comfort and technology, the hotel is comprised of two buildings from the 1850s. Both building were entirely renovated in 2006 and are connected by an interior courtyard. Each room and suite has a unique and specific style, with contemporary designer furniture and objects. Whether you are planning to stay for a night, a week, a month or longer, La Cour des Augustins will fulfil all of your expectations. La Cour des Augustins also serves as an art gallery, hosting a permanent private collection of African art. Between vibrantly coloured designer objects, African statues, masks and figurines bring unexpected depth to the hotel decor. In each room and suite, you will find various artworks by international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cour Des Augustins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing