We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opera, opera and more opera”

Grand Theatre de Geneve
Ranked #51 of 149 things to do in Geneva
Attraction details
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Opera, opera and more opera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent place to see an opera and enjoy the classical music. Tickets can be hard to obtain.

Helpful?
Thank nance30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely Opera house - reminds me of Garnier but of course smaller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We go here 5 or 6 times a year the last time being in May for Mignon. It is quite a lovely opera house - and reminds me a bit of Garnier in Paris. The acoustics are quite good and we have never had a seat with a bad view. However, the seating is a bit cramped - not a lot of leg room -and the climatisation (air conditioning) is not quite right. We were quite warm in May. That being said, we love the place and have our for abonnement for 2012/2103. If you go by car, there are two parking garages nearby - not cheap - but then, neither is Geneve.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChantalGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Old Opera House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The acoustics were excellent, refreshments were easily obtained, the opera was magnifique! The seating was tolerable, but they need to upgrade the ventilation! It's much too hot, and the air doesn't move. That's not a reason to stay away, but they do need to fix it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DWGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
191 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior and interesting programme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We went here for a free show of the 1938 edition of the Anna Karenina movie starring Greta Garbo. It was done in preparation of the Anna Karenina ballet at the Opera. It was a great event and the interiors were stunning. Looking forward to going there for an opera or ballet.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Temple of opera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The main and only opera house in geneva. Check reviews before going a quality is not as constant as it used to be.

Helpful?
Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Theatre de Geneve also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Grand Theatre de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing