We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptably average”
Review of Geneva Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Geneva Hostel
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Upon arrival we were handed a bed set consisting of a very scratchy sheet and linen covers, however the beds themselves were ok, adequate for a short stay. Lockers provided were very secure and large, whilst the bathroom was also of acceptable cleanliness, if lacking reliable hot water. Breakfast was acceptable but with a limited choice, however this is free and there is a multitude of cafes in the local area. Location was good, close to the lake and short walk to Gare du Cornavin.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 416 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location: a bit of a walk through a seedy part of town to get the public transport needed to get downtown. As its too far to stroll downtown. Not much in the area except hot food bars, gambling shops, and shady looking characters. Would defiantly not recommend this part of town, we felt very unforgettable, and a little concerned for our personal safety, we were travelling in a family with 3 generations.

Room, very basic and somewhat depressing, showers were not great for HI international standards. The hostel itself had other guests staying who didnt seem to be tourists and were by our impressions most likely homeless . Notices on the front doors also gave an indication that homeless people utilize this hostel, and need to break up their stay, so they don't stay for more than 7 constitutive days. Reception was protected with bars like a prison, and communal areas, such as corridors and lifts were covered in graffiti.

Overall: avoid this one, you cant relax due to the depressing dodgyness

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenevahostelGE, Responsable réception at Geneva Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hello,
We just saw your comment on our page on Tripadvisor and we regret that you have not had a good stay in Geneva.
Against by reading a message, we had a doubt about the place you stayed.
We would like to ask you to confirm if you stayed with us in Geneva Youth Hostel at 28-30 Rothschild street or the Geneva Housing rue de Berne 11 http://www.tripadvisor.fr/Hotel_Review-g188057-d5483326- Reviews-Geneva_Housing-Geneva.html.
The Geneva Housing is not a HI hostel and they have no relationship with us.
If you have stayed with us, please accept our apologies and we will take notes on the points you mentioned and we will continue to improve our service.
Waiting for your reply, please accept our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Don't expect a real hostel experience. Sterile, impersonal, no character, a non helpful staff that think they only check you in and out. Locks on every door, even once you're in the hostel. Communal spaces are drab. There's a 6 dollar non HI-member fee that you done see upon booking. Can't think oaf good reason to stay here really. Totally regret being here.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very close to the lake, which is beautiful, but a little bit far from the old town, the hostel gives you a transportation card to use the tram during your stay though. Everything was very clean and well organized and the breakfast was quite good too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafaeltloureiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Massive modern hostel located a couple of tram stops from the main station and a short walk from the lakeside. Great lockers, which are easy to use and provide plenty of space. Rooms are adequately sized and no more for 6 smallish modern bunk beds and all the facilities worked well. Popular with large youth groups when I was there, which could have been annoying if checking in/breakfasting at the same time. Quiet and a little soulless, but clean and efficient all the same

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanMCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's an enormous, spartan hostel two streets up from the lake. There's no friendly welcome and no communal area - you're simply handed your keycard and told to pick up linens and go make your bed in whichever cell block you've been assigned. It reminds me of a cross between a prison and swimming pool changing rooms.

Worth mentioning at this point that the keycard access works on all the doors and your own locker. Lockers are outside the rooms and very big.

Easy to get to using the no. 1 bus or no. 15 tram from Cornavin train station. It's not a hostel for meeting people, it's really just a base to use when you're passing through or exploring the town. Everyone generally keeps to themselves and is buried in their phone/laptop in the lobby, where they have the best wi-fi signal.

The price was 30+ CHF which does seem pretty steep but like all hotels in town they provide you with a free Geneva transport card for your stay and a sizeable, albeit simple breakfast is provided. Also, location-wise you cannot get any closer to the centre for that price - unless you get a flat on Airbnb, which I would recommend instead.

Room Tip: As for a bottom bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hostel is a few streets away from other major hotels by the lake. I liked the keycard access which allows access into room area, your (very big) locker and bathroom. The modern elevators are also most welcome. The tram stop is around 5 minutes walk from the hostel entrance, and tram 15 brings you to the hostel from Cornavin train station- get down at Butini and walk back towards the train station...Rue Rothschild should be on your left (as of Jan 2014 I turned left at a mattress shop...)

Here's a little tip: If you intend to take the tram from the train station, exit at the front of Gare Cornavin...there are many exits, how do you find the front? It can get a little tricky, since when you exit the train and go downstairs from the platform, you may end up in a different section of the train station. The front is near the elevators down from the platform. Look for a pharmacy and Pret cafe, and that is the front lobby. As you exit, you should see a H&M store opposite you...between H&M and the station, is the tram stop.

I wished that the breakfast hours were longer, and that the vending machines sold stuff at more reasonable prices...this is a youth hostel after all. Instead, get your drinks from the coop or Lidl supermarket nearby (or one tram stop closer to the train station...Mole station)

Access to other major sights, like fountain and old town are fairly easy. Remember that you get a free ticket when you arrive at Geneva airport, collect a free train ticket to town from baggage claim, near the exit; there is a machine that spits free tickets out but I rarely saw anyone using it. Your train ticket back to the airport is also covered by the free card given by the hostel (I think all Geneva hotels and hostels have them)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#78 of 106 in Geneva
181 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Hostel

Address: rue Rothschild 28-30, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: $32 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Hostel enjoys a central location in Geneva and is in a historic building from the 19th century. It features free Wi-Fi and a restaurant serving Swiss cuisine in the evenings. Lake Geneva is only 800 ft away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Geneva Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing