We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, But Wouldn't Recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Geneva Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Geneva Hostel
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent, But Wouldn't Recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveled there this past weekend. The place was clean and the room was decent, but didn't think it was worth the money. I paid 38 CHF for a 6 person room (without hostel membership). Stayed at City Hostel on the third night and it cost 38 CHF per person for a 2 person room. City Hostel was cleaner, nicer, more comfortable (and had more common areas).

At Auberge de Jeunesse, staff was, for the most part unfriendly and unhelpful (unwilling to answer questions). It wasn't the worst experience, but I wouldn't recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    153
    93
    38
    26
See reviews for
19
16
151
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've been here in April 2012. was a nice surprise as it was my first experience in youth hostels with more than double-bedded rooms. good security system: lockeries, key-access to the area. wifi works well enough. clean bathroom, fan. good meals, ability to cook. nice view to the Geneva Lake. good area next to receiption, where people can communicate. Good location.
in few words - good experience :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenka1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Clean, all comforts you wish to have in a hostel, perfect location.

People at the reception not top of courtesy. but probably it is because of local standards.

Proximity to botanic garden for a run and a minute from the lake. ten minutes walk from UN and from train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beingandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Travelled from the 16/07/2012 to 19/07/2012, was accomodated in a dorm with five friends, reasonably spacious and lockers outside if they were needed, we just kept our luggage inside and still found it spacious. Lights and sockets were available to each bunk bed, although the sockets plugs are rather unusual. Clean and nice facilities, showers and bedroom was great, two lifts available which was helpful. Lovely view of the lake from the dorm we were in, nice sunrise and breakfast was basic but nevertheless breakfast.

Literally a few minutes walk to the lake which is beautiful and approximately a ten minutes walk to the nearby station where all forms of transports is available. Ask the receptionist for the free WiFi details which could only be used on the bottom floor and always seem to be full, however on the benches outside there is a Ville de Geneve free Wifi and works perfectly. The ground floor is a huge open space with some seating; there is also an area with tables and chairs for eating which can also be for general use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were two in a double room, in the heat of summer in Geneva - 30 degrees - no airconditioning, and at swiss prices, it wasn't cheap. But it included breakfast which I wasn't used to. Also the location is right near the lake and walking distance from the main station as well as downtown (north side of the lake)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrettyflyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I hated this hostel, finding it prison like, extremely noisy, unfriendly staff and poor value for money.
There is no kitchen, they charge for Wifi and there is no comfort at all in the common areas or elsewhere so to my mind it is not at all in the spirit of hostelling. The sheet for my bed (they give you a sheet and duvet cover when you arrive) was like sandpaper, it was so hard and rough.
In the morning the bathroom was filthy as somebody had got sick during the night, but it was very clean later on that day when I returned.
The noise of metal lockers clanging goes on into the night so sleep quality is very poor.
I could not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

My friends and I stayed there for 3nights I think somewhere August last year. We chose this hotel because most of the Geneve hotels are just too expensive for us, plus my friends never stay in a hostel before, so we decided to give a try with shared-dorm room which turned out not too bad to me. Everything was just ok except for 1 thing......

The 6-bedded dorm was full that night, everyone was sleeping at their own bed, and, the door opened from outside..... Two ladies walked into the room and claimed this was their room. I told them (as I was the nearest to the door) that the unit was full but they never believe me. There are 3 double-decker in the room, so lady A keep pointed each deck and asked me if someone was there, I repeated at least 3-4 times with "the room is full~!!" & "yes, someone is sleeping there, can't you see it?"..... Whereby lady B was kind of arguing with another room-mate in different language which I don't understand.... To them, it seems like we occupied their space and want to kick us off..... Of course, they gotta leave the room and it was somewhere between 11.50pm-12.10am~~!!! I don't know what happened to their security, or might be a mistake or what, but imagine the door opened "automatically" from outside at 12am, that's very scary ok....

As for the location, I am quite ok with it actually, it's just few minutes walk from a tram, or maybe 15mins walk from the train station which I think it is ok..... Breakfast is included and quite simple.... Simple doesn't mean bad, at least you don't have to worry they cook very bad food......

Nothing much to complaint except for above issue, just an average hostel.... This was my second hostel experience, the first one was at Vancouver-Hi-Hostel back in early 2006 which I think that was better than this one, but, again, there is nothing much to complaint or expect with hostel~

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvenracquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Hostel

Property: Geneva Hostel
Address: rue Rothschild 28-30, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Hostel enjoys a central location in Geneva and is in a historic building from the 19th century. It features free Wi-Fi and a restaurant serving Swiss cuisine in the evenings. Lake Geneva is only 800 ft away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Geneva Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing