We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have no choice.”
Review of Geneva Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Geneva Hostel
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you have no choice.”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Well i gota say i can usually see past a few flaws and problems with hostels and it takes alot for me to even write a review with negativity but there isn't too much good to say about this hostel at all.
I stayed for 2 nights as i was catching a flight really early from geneva but planned to visit geneva aswell for a whole day, First off, Location is ok but still quite a walk away from the station down the main street. Well i arrived and one of the staff members was so damn ignorant to a point where i was talking and he was just completely ignoring me and then just walks off into the office without notice, Another member of staff this girl took over i think in embarrasment of the fact he was being so abnoxious and ignorant, anyways she was friendly and assisted me with information on the hostel and also the questions i had on the city.

The room itself was actually ok, i think it depends on when you stay and who you stay with but i had a generally nice set of people in my room with which one i ended up spending the entire next day travelling around geneva. The hostel is really not good value though, Even by cheaper expectations this place was below standard, The smell in the main stairway and entrance was a weird sterile smell, The showers/bathroom were really messy from the influx of people and didn't seem to appear to have any staff on top of it as i came back later to see the same rubbish which was left from the morning, The breakfast was poor quality and how i would expect food to be in jail or something,even school dinners doesn't degrade it enough, It was basic and really tasteless trash.

The city of Geneva is really not my kind of city, The people all seem ignorant and self obsessed with status and wealth, It is really pathetic, I have never been in a place which promotes everything of a self consumed lifestyle more than geneva. There is plenty of opportunity to spend alot of money on luxuries if thats your thing, the city has no culture or heart and you would have to dig deep into the deepest of alleys to find anything of traditional nature which hasn't been spoilt. The prices are also ridiculous, good luck finding a cheap bite unless you head to a supermarket for which again is limited because the hostel has no kitchen to cook.
Overall if i didn't meet some nice people in my dorm this would be a 1 out of 5 because i think i would have been genuinely unhappy to be on my own in this hostel and geneva, Both a waste of time and best avoided.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brighteststar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    157
    97
    39
    26
See reviews for
19
17
155
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I made a reservation for this hostel online. I realized I entered the incorrect e-mail address, so I sent e-mails to the 2 e-mail addresses provided online on their website.

I never received a response.

When I called to confirm my reservation prior to departure, I was told that my reservation was for a day that had already passed. I inquired as to why my e-mail was never answered and Ivan, the hostel manager, told me it was my fault that I did not receive a response. At first he said that if I had called a couple of days after the incorrect reservation date, he would have refunded my money. Two minutes later he denied saying that.

Bottom line: forget dealing with these people through e-mail. They will tell you that they have so many beds that they can't keep track of everything on-line. I've stayed at over 70 hostels and have never had anyone blame me for trying to confirm arrangements on-line.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SH_0785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Duffield, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed here 17/8/10 for two nights. Booked by Internet on Swiss hostels website. Paid CHF 29 per night in a dormitory, including breakfast.

Located in a rather nondescript part of Les Pâquis area on the Rive Droite, about 15-20 minutes walk from the station, 5 minutes from the lake and quite a way from the old centre of the city; the walk from the station can be shortened by catching a tram along Rue de Lausanne. On arrival at the hostel, you are given a free card for city centre transport for the duration of your stay, including the day of departure; this includes travel to the airport and the International area.

I was in a 6 bed dormitory, which was reasonably spacious (above average for size). There are lockers, one for each person, outside the room, these are operated by the same key card as the room. Good washing area and showers, separate from the room.

The ground floor is a huge open space with some seating; there is also an area with tables and chairs for eating which can also be for general use. There are some other rooms which appear to not be generally available. Overall this hostel is slightly lacking for communal areas.

Breakfast available from 6.30. Includes cereal, bread, just one portion of jam, juice, hot drinks, making it the least interesting breakfast I had in Switzerland.

I had the hostel meal both evenings; one course for CHF 12 (which I had) or CHF 14.50 including dessert and drink. This was a good meal and a large helping, and the best hostel meals I had in Switzerland.

There is no kitchen for self catering, as was the case in all the HI hostels I stayed at on this trip to Switzerland, which I found a drawback, and different from my last visit.

This is a fairly standard hostel with nothing much good or bad about it, except the price - cheaper than most other city hostels, making it a good bargain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Pro:
Location - just a few blocks away from Main Station. Among all the other hotels.
Price - average price
Safety - the location is quite safe. Again, among many major hotels with diverse restaurants.
Big locker inside the room.

Con:
- The SMELL. It smells like the changing room of a swimming pool throughout the whole hostel..
- The bathrooms are really not that clean. I was so grossed out I didn't take a shower that night. Doors are hard to lock, Toilet cubicles were dirty and ran out of toilet paper. The space for putting your things at the sink were dirty, you get the drift
- The rooms were quite dark and not inviting. They give you your own linen and I just didn't feel clean at all. If you have hygiene issues like me you might prefer to live somewhere cleaner.

Basically it's OK if you are a frugal traveller and just want somewhere close to train station to stay for a night or two. It's really basic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

The best thing about this place is its location, just a few blocks from the main Geneva station and the lake. Security has been taken seriously, every guest is provided with a magnetic card which is used to gain access the dormitory area, open your locker and the room door.

Now, on the other hand, the hostel is kinda "cold", the building itself resembles more a government facility than a youth hostel. Internet is not free and for me it was expensive. The staff is not really enthusiastic nor cheerful. What is worse, I found the lady in charge of the counter desk lying on a couch, watching TV on the guest "entertainment room" (a big and almost empty room with some desks, a sofa and a television).

Beware, this hotel is really noisy, the elevator can be heard even when the doors are shut, and the fact that the lockers are outside the (small) common rooms make people less aware that some of us want to sleep!

Breakfast is included in the price but I found it very disappointing and tasteless (especially the cold loafs of bread and the awful "orange" juice).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killthepixelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I stayed at Auberge de Jeunesse Geneva in November 2009 for the price of 29CHF per night. The hostel is about 5 minutes walk into the centre of town. The 24/7 staff there were friendly, showing me places to visit and helping me out with any questions I had. The room had 6 beds (3 bunks) and bedding was provided. There were lockers located outside the room where you could put all your belongings – very useful if you are carrying valuable items. Internet was 4CHF for an hour, or 10CHF for 4 hours, wifi available for your laptop. Breakfast is included. You can also choose to have dinner at the hostel (14.50 CHF) however my dinner was not very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolarPsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manipal
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Its an old hostel ........with poor ambience.........Compared to other HI hostels in Europe its NOT UPTO The Mark. Recommended for bag packers only.
Very poorly maintained bathrooms..........With Below average breakfast...........Only plus point is its vicinity to lake geneve and railway station.

  • Liked — Location is fine
  • Disliked — Everything but the location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank entdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
912 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 105 in Geneva
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#75 of 105 in Geneva
177 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 105 in Geneva
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Hostel

Property: Geneva Hostel
Address: rue Rothschild 28-30, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Hostel enjoys a central location in Geneva and is in a historic building from the 19th century. It features free Wi-Fi and a restaurant serving Swiss cuisine in the evenings. Lake Geneva is only 800 ft away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Geneva Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing