We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Geneve Centre
Ranked #39 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stay here at least once a month for work and always enjoy the stay. Staff are really nice and helpful all the time. Free newspapers in the lobby in the morning. (Financial Times and International NY Times).

We always pay the extra to get the executive rooms on the 6th or 7th floor but we always request the 7th floor as they have nice big terraces which are perfect in the summertime though in the winter the 6th floor is better cause it can get windy and it get's quite loud at night sometimes.

I also enjoy the unlimited movies, nespresso machine and the small mini bar that is included when we get the executive rooms as well.

Location is within walking distance of everywhere which is great and I've stayed at 3 different hotels in Geneva so far and this one is my favorite.

The only bad thing I have to say is that the bed is quite firm but that's personal preference.

Room Tip: If you get an executive room ask for the 7th floor during the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your continuing patronage and are happy to read of your nice times with us. Our goal is to offer, all year round, the best service to all our customers and we are grateful to you for taking the time to acknowledge our efforts by posting this comment. We hope to have soon again the pleasure of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

My colleagues and I have been working in Geneva for the past few months and have several hotels in the Paquis area and near Rue de Lausanne. So far the Novotel has been one of the best to meet all our requirements and we enjoyed our stay.
The welcome from the staff at the hotel on arrival was friendly and provided us with all the information we needed for the duration of our stay. The hotel was very clean and well looked after.
My room was clean and all facilities were in working order. The bathroom was a good with a very stylish sink - very useful for a lady with cosmetics.
The only small issue i would have is the layout of the entrance when entering the room, particularly in the hallway. The lightening was poor and I couldn't see in the main mirror very well. it was very dark despite all lights switched on in the room. Also trying to maneuver between the wardrobe/ entrance door etc was pretty tight. It would have been easier to also have an iron board in the room but this is personal preference.

The hotel has a gym which is rather small but has the majority of equipment which is needed for a stay away from home. I didn't get a change to use the sauna facilities but will update my post when i next stay there.

The breakfast options were great and layout suitable for breakfast dining. We didn't try the evening meals at the hotel as there are many places nearby to eat, plus the menu in the hotel was quiet expensive for what you get... but than again so is most of Geneva. There is a perfectly good Thai 2 mins away for scrummy food.

The hotel itself is located near the red light district which several other reviewers have already highlighted, on arrival to the hotel we did think it was rather weird people were hanging around were doing but they did not pose a direct threat so went about our business. The hotel has security post 24/7 if any one has any issues.

Overall I was very happy with my stay and plan to be a stay regularly when I am there on business trips.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the front of the hotel,as my colleagues room was more spacious and better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to read of your excellent experience with us. Regarding the ironing board always feel free to ask for one at front desk or go to our ironing room. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and we thank you for having taken the time to post this comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel has a very central location and only less than 10 minutes walk from the railway station. Very comfortable rooms and good breakfast.
Sauna, Steam Room and Gym are very good although a little small. You have to pay extra for the sunbed. A pool would have made it perfect!
Although it is set in the red light district, you are not really bothered, and strangely if you turn right on leaving the hotel you don't even notice it! Contrary to what others say, the area is safe enough.
The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk to the lake and the water transport.
Free WiFi in the room and throughout the hotel is available.
As is common with most Geneva hotels you are given a pass that allows free transport throughout Geneva. The airport is only 10 minutes from the local train station which is less than a ten minute walk!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcropolisLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
It’s with great pleasure that we read how satisfied you are with your stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Novotel is a reasonable quality value hotel on the inside but in the middle of the Paquis area. If you are walking from the station expect to run the gauntlet of multiple working ladies and young men looking for a deal. It is decidedly not a hotel to send you daughter or niece on their own. It is extremely well situated if you are searching for after hours entertainment with cosmopolitan and champagne bars, good selection of restaurants, drug dealers and working ladies on the street or behind shop windows ( Amsterdam style).

The hotel itself is extremely clean and functional, has an efficient and friendly front desk, security guard on the front door in the evenings. underground parking, nice functional but small gym and a good but not exceptional selection for breakfast but at CHF23 a little overpriced with basic but functional service.

The rooms are modern and spacious with large bathrooms directly off the bedroom and usually offering nespresso machines. There is a bar off the main lobby that is well run but not largely frequented. Internet access is free and there are two PC and printer in the lobby area and newspapers in multiple languages freely available.

The aircrew from Iberia are regularly staying at this hotel which confirms it as an international hotel of standing but priced a little high for the overall value including the neighborhood it resides in. If you are looking for local adventure this hotel is probably a good choice.

Summary : If you are new to Geneva and want a professional business hotel there are other choices closer to the lake either with a higher price tag or lower price but with smaller rooms. The Novotel is in between, correct and safe once you are inside.

Room Tip: If you are a Novotel clubmember they will usually upgrade you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_CQ1068IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the quality of our service joined to the excellence of our hotel and the professionalism of our team helped you overcome outside issues that can, unfortunately, be encountered in any premium international city. We thank you for taking the time to post a comment and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the city center between the railroad station and the lake. But this area does not look too safe at night and even sometimes during daytime. The room was spacious lit with a bay window and offering the usual amenities. Large bed and nice sofa for relaxation. The toilets are separated from the bathroom. Even though the bathroom had a bathtub as well as a shower, it was really small compared to the size of the room and not really inviting. The room itself lacked a bit of decoration: comfortable but plain without any character. It's good to have a coffee-maker. But being in Switzerland, they only offered instant Nescafé and Nestlé powder milk! Both tasteless, unfortunately. You would at least expect small fresh milk containers like in most other places in the country. In the glass-panelled refrigerator, there are two complimentary bottles of mineral water. But the light kept clicking all the time. I should have called for service, but I was too tired to do so after a long flight. So I tried to cover it up with a bathrobe to avoid being disturbed by the light at night. It helped just a bit! I did mention this to the receptionist upon leaving the hotel. Some more, the A/C controller did not seem to be efficient. Finally, at check-out the next day, there was a long queue as there were only two receptionists on duty. As an ACCOR silver member, I noticed there was a member side at the reception but it did not seem to make any difference! When you pay the full price to stay in a hotel of this category, you are entitled to expect for the best. Well, this is not the feeling I had by staying at this hotel. They definitively need to improve their services.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are definitively very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for having taken the time to post this comment. We are glad to read that the convenient location of our hotel proved an asset to your stay. Naturally, we are aware of the aspect of the nearby neighborhood and though such issue is but a common in premium international cities such as ours, we permanently collaborate with the local authorities in order to insure your safety and security. We hope to have soon again the pleasure of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Suresh A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel for convenience, while we were looking for property in the area. As with all Novotels, the accommodation is well presented, represents a good balance of value for money and comfort.
On the downside, we felt that this hotel differed very little from the Mercure at Les Bossons, Chamonix - the rooms were not substantially larger, nor was there any evidence of improved quality of fittings. The restaurant, while acceptable, also showed little differentiation between the Mercure offer and the supposedly more upmarket Novotel experience...
I think this hotel is an older one, probably due for refurbishment in the forseeable, but the Accor Group need to think through differentiation more carefully.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your continuing patronage of our group. We thank you as well for taking the time to post this comment and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
945 reviews
NH Geneva City
#43 of 106 in Geneva
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Centre

Address: rue de Zurich 19, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Geneva
#28 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $145 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Geneve Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Geneva, close to Lake Geneva and 15 minutes from the UN headquarters. The hotel features 206 rooms, a restaurant, bar and 6 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. In addition to the fitness centre and spa, with relaxation room, hammam, sauna, solarium and massage room, guests enjoy free public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneva
Geneva Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing