We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely take your own movies.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Geneve Centre
Ranked #40 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past 13 years. It is the one my company has a contract with so I do not have a choice, either this one or one at the airport, and I prefer to be down town. Also you get the "Genève Transport Card" which gives you free travel within Genève on the trains, buses and trams. Commuting to and from the airport, where most of my meetings are held, is easy and free.

The hotel is pleasant enough, as are the staff. However, there are always areas for improvement. The shower in my room (435) was pitiful, small head and no power! The towels are more like tea towels, thin, and even a little too small for my liking.

Something I am going to complain about everywhere, except apparently in China, is: When are hotels going to fit "universal power sockets" in their rooms?!!? 21st century, and we are still running around with adapters! I know they exist, just check out http://www.amazon.co.uk/Universal-Outlet-Socket-Single-Switch/dp/B00CWAFNUS/ref=sr_1_4?s=diy&ie=UTF8&qid=1380096106&sr=1-4&keywords=Universal+wall+socket

Breakfast is ok, the typical buffet, with a small selection of hot and cold. Nothing to shout about.

Now supper was another thing.

Started with a Jim Beam and ginger ale, which as it should came with some nibbles, peanuts:-)

Went for the "2 course formula" for CHF49 and chose main course and desert (add a CHF3 supplement for the beef fillet).

They brought a couple of small, but nice, bread roles with some butter (in plastic tubs, not so nice).
The Beef Filet with sea salt, served with a "vegetable hotchpotch" (asparagus, mangtout, baby broad beans, mushrooms) was excellent. Cooked to perfection, just as I asked, and the vegetables were also perfectly done, not too mushy and not too raw. The mushroom sauce, that came separately, was a nice touch, and gave a lovely creamy accompaniment, to the meat, although I must say the meat did not need it as it tasted great also on its own.

Downed it all with a glass of red "Genève AOC, Chouilly Pinot noir Le Crêt 2012", which when first tasted, after the JB & Ginger, was a shock to the taste buds. This could also have been due to the fact that the waitress had just opened the bottle. However, afterwards the wine went down beautifully with the meat.

Desert was the "Strawberry cake and typical Swiss double-cream ice cream". Funny little concoction, but very nice. You definitely notice the "double-cream" in the ice cream.

Finished it all off with a vervain tea.

Final bill 71.50chf. (17.50 for the JB & ginger, €5 for the vervain). Not the most economical of meals, I have had the same for less, but then Switzerland is not the cheapest of places anyway.

Talking about expensive, what is really extortionate is the price the hotel charges for video films on demand, CHF25 !!! At that price it is cheaper to go online and buy the movie from iTunes!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for the time you took to post this comment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant with its selection of typical Swiss products. Regarding the need for socket adaptors, always feel free to ask for them at our front desk where our team is always pleased to be of service. We hope to have soon the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Location is very much central, but side of the hotel building is part of red light district.
Never stay on the first floor facing the street - you will have to listen to conversations of drunken people lead sitting just under your window.
Hotel is heavily used, but quite well maintained. Very clean. Breakfast was awesome. Reception staff is very friendly and professional, speak all languages.
Hotel is 10 min on foot from the main train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koneslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed the quality of our facilities, the excellence of our breakfast as well as the hospitableness and talent of our team. Regarding the nearby neighborhood, we are aware of its potentially distasteful aspect but the security guards of our establishment as well as our continuing collaboration with local law enforcement agencies are proof of our dedication to your safety and security. We thank you for taking some time to post this comment and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

this is not the first novotel, i have stayed in. generally all novotel have standard maintained. this place needs a mention. first of all, when the reception were forced to make us wait for 15 mins, , that too for a valid reason ( which is since we occupied 2 rooms for family of 5,) they made sure that we have rooms next to each other. while we wait, they offered us one drink free at the bar.
the staff at the reception was very polite. they also advised us on our mode of transport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arati_mali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time to post this comment. We are very glad to read that the professionalism and geniality of our team added to the quality of your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again when next you shall stay in our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is close to the central station and close to the red light district.So be prepared to see everyday all day and all night prostitutes and drug dealers. In fact from our room window we saw the same drug dealer everyday at the same spot doing his "busιness". That's the major problem with this hotel especially if you are travelling with young children. On the other hand the room we got was a superior room ,spacious and clean. The reception stuff was service minded and they gave us the room earlier than they supposed to (at 11.30). The breakfast was good but not over the top like other novotel hotels in Switzerland we visited in the past (like Zurich for example). There were english speaking channels(bbc,itv) tuned in tv and not only the swiss ones.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting this comment. It is true that the neighborhood located nearby can be visually unnerving but for your comfort we have a private security officer inside our hotel and we continuously work with the local authorities in order for your safety and security to be insured. Then, luckily, depending on the choice of itinerary, it is fully possible to completely avoid any unpleasantness in the streets, always feel free to ask our staff for the best way to navigate our city. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived in Geneva after a long drive from Frankfurt. Great reception staff and we were upgraded to a room with free wifi and mini bar etc which was a bonus! The room was very nice. Clean and well presented. Bed was comofrtable. Nice coffee machine with pods in the room. The breakfast in the morning was really nice too. Overall for the price we paid for this one night stay was a great value hotel as many in Geneva are expensive. A minor problem was that the room had a jacuzzi style bath that did not work. This didnt spoil our stay but it had obviously not been working for a while because when we mentioned it the receptoinist was already aware. The other small thing is that we had a land rover car which was too tall for their car park which was such a shame because it is located next to the hotel and is secure. So we had to hang around outside the hotel for about half hour waiting for someone to move on with their car so we could park outside the hotel. The hotel is ideally situated to walk within five minutes to lake Geneva which was fantastic. We had a great stay all in all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should your car be slightly too high for our car-park gate feel free to report the issue to front desk as they can point out another safe nearby parking lot that can be accessed by larger vehicles. We thank you for taking the time to post this comment and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for one night in July '13 .... Arrived at the hotel around 10am on a Saturday and there was, shall we say, 'signs of a vibrant nightlife' on some of the street corners and as the sun set, things got more 'vibrant' !!!

The hotel it self was quite good, check in staff were very helpful and offered us free public transport tickets so we could kill time while our rooms were made ready ..... we were early, to be fair. The lobby is actually below street level, so make sure you get assistance with your bags.

My friend and I were both paying the same rate, yet the room he got would've been double the size of mine, which was a bit disappointing. My room overlooked the 'vibrant' street, but the excellent double glazing meant little of the noise from the street could be heard. My friend's larger room overlooked the air conditioning units ..... I suspect the double glazing benefited him too.

The room was in excellent condition, VERY clean and everything worked as it should however the TV was a tad on the small side. The bathroom was huge by comparison to my room and it was 'hospital' clean with all of the amenities one would expect.

Room service menu was limited, but based on one meal, the quality was very good and the portions size was more than adequate.

All in all, a very good hotel, but not sure the area will be to everyone's liking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSL_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting this comment. We are glad to read that the fineness of our hotel was part of the quality of your stay though we fully understand that the overall look of the nearby neighborhood can appear a tad daunting; nevertheless as we are in constant contact with the local authority we are glad to confirm that our number one priority are your safety and security. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed with family for 1N in the final leg of our Europe Tour. This is a excellent hotel approx. 7 minutes walk from the Train and Tram station. The way is like a Red Light Area, feeling awkward when walking with family. The reception is at a lower level, at the entrance have a "SNAIL" paced self operated lift to carry the luggage down...no staff to help and there is a warning sign to "keep the luggage safe" at the entrance...all this made us a little concerned... The staff (Sophie) were friendly and as is the norm with Geneva hotels provided us with Free Pass for Bus/Train/Tram/Boat during our stay in Geneva. Rooms are spacious with 2 Queen beds, complimentary SPA, B.Fast included in the rate. A lot of restaurants catering to all tastes including Indian ' Gandhi' are located nearby. Hotel allowed us for a late check out but with a charge of CHF50 extra till 5pm. Breakfast was good in a spacious dining hall. The facility of printer along with Computer in the lobby made it helpful to do the necessary travel bookings etc. Also X-box play area was popular with our children. Overall nice hotel...look forward to come back on our next visit.

Room Tip: There is no view from our room,,, only the top of A/c units of the next buildings. Lift has to be op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murali r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to notice that the congeniality and professionalism of our staff was an important part of your stay in our city. We thank you for taking some time to post this comment and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome on your next European tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
261 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Geneva City
#43 of 106 in Geneva
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Centre

Address: rue de Zurich 19, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Geneva
#28 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $128 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Geneve Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Geneva, close to Lake Geneva and 15 minutes from the UN headquarters. The hotel features 206 rooms, a restaurant, bar and 6 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. In addition to the fitness centre and spa, with relaxation room, hammam, sauna, solarium and massage room, guests enjoy free public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneva
Geneva Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing