We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a bit of an iffy area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Geneve Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for one night in July '13 .... Arrived at the hotel around 10am on a Saturday and there was, shall we say, 'signs of a vibrant nightlife' on some of the street corners and as the sun set, things got more 'vibrant' !!!

The hotel it self was quite good, check in staff were very helpful and offered us free public transport tickets so we could kill time while our rooms were made ready ..... we were early, to be fair. The lobby is actually below street level, so make sure you get assistance with your bags.

My friend and I were both paying the same rate, yet the room he got would've been double the size of mine, which was a bit disappointing. My room overlooked the 'vibrant' street, but the excellent double glazing meant little of the noise from the street could be heard. My friend's larger room overlooked the air conditioning units ..... I suspect the double glazing benefited him too.

The room was in excellent condition, VERY clean and everything worked as it should however the TV was a tad on the small side. The bathroom was huge by comparison to my room and it was 'hospital' clean with all of the amenities one would expect.

Room service menu was limited, but based on one meal, the quality was very good and the portions size was more than adequate.

All in all, a very good hotel, but not sure the area will be to everyone's liking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSL_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting this comment. We are glad to read that the fineness of our hotel was part of the quality of your stay though we fully understand that the overall look of the nearby neighborhood can appear a tad daunting; nevertheless as we are in constant contact with the local authority we are glad to confirm that our number one priority are your safety and security. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed with family for 1N in the final leg of our Europe Tour. This is a excellent hotel approx. 7 minutes walk from the Train and Tram station. The way is like a Red Light Area, feeling awkward when walking with family. The reception is at a lower level, at the entrance have a "SNAIL" paced self operated lift to carry the luggage down...no staff to help and there is a warning sign to "keep the luggage safe" at the entrance...all this made us a little concerned... The staff (Sophie) were friendly and as is the norm with Geneva hotels provided us with Free Pass for Bus/Train/Tram/Boat during our stay in Geneva. Rooms are spacious with 2 Queen beds, complimentary SPA, B.Fast included in the rate. A lot of restaurants catering to all tastes including Indian ' Gandhi' are located nearby. Hotel allowed us for a late check out but with a charge of CHF50 extra till 5pm. Breakfast was good in a spacious dining hall. The facility of printer along with Computer in the lobby made it helpful to do the necessary travel bookings etc. Also X-box play area was popular with our children. Overall nice hotel...look forward to come back on our next visit.

Room Tip: There is no view from our room,,, only the top of A/c units of the next buildings. Lift has to be op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murali r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to notice that the congeniality and professionalism of our staff was an important part of your stay in our city. We thank you for taking some time to post this comment and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome on your next European tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A one night stay for business, but with family along as well, so chose the hotel for price and availability of family rooms (basically two queen size beds).

Driving in from two weeks in the mountains of Graubunden was a bit of a shock; other reviews had mentioned the red-light location, but it was the people hanging around on street corners that were most worrying. Luckily, the hotel has a secure underground carpark, so we could unload bags away from prying eyes.

Inside, all was very Novotel, but some good touches and the room was actually ok, if a bit tight for four people.

Breakfast was pretty good, with a wide range of fresh items and enough space, even at a busy time.

After the initial shock of the surroundings, we (including 2 children) walked to the other side of the lake for dinner - and that direction (along the Rue de Paquis itself) took us away from the main red light area, past restaurants etc. and felt ok, even at night.

Overall, the stay ended up better than expected, but I suspect that I would chose somewhere else if not on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doorstomanual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking some time in order to post this comment. We are conscious that the nearby neighborhood can mete out some torments in terms of visual comfort but we are glad to see that you noticed that your safety and security are our utmost priorities and that all is done to insure them. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our holiday. We had a lovely suite plenty of room for 3 people.Staff very helpful , we were even able to go straight to our room although we arrived early about 11am. Hotel close to the lake and they provided us with a Geneve city transport ticket for the duration of our stay. The only downside was the walk the from the railway station along the Rue de Berne , one or two ladies of the night about! Once in the hotel there was no problem at all.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good and not to expensive. As we were travelling as a family we liked the fact that the lifts only worked with the aid of the key card, we felt this stopped some of the local characters just wandering in and up to the rooms.

Room Tip: Go for the suite for the extra space if travelling as a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad that you noticed the particular attention we give to your safety and security as well as to your comfort. We thank you for taking the time to post this comment and we look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lvntblt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked two rooms here with airline miles so we could be close to a fireworks display.

Check in at a Novotel isn't usually so slow. Not entirely sure what the issue was. The rooms are novotel. The beds, desks, and bathrooms are the same everywhere. Not sure if housekeeping was short staffed or what, but at 8pm on a Saturday night our hall was still full of laundry and garbage.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNTNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to post a comment. Though the goal of our housekeeping department always is to deliver a flawless service it occasionally happens that some evidence of its work are still visible in the hall at an unexpected hour. We understand how provoking such sight can be and we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again so you can enjoy the full quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for the first night of our holiday on landing in Geneva.

It's a perfect hotel for stop overs, being immaculate inside with big modern rooms and the all important air conditioning.

We didn't even notice the quality of the neighbourhood and it was a nice short walk to the lake front.

The only slight negative point was the lack of attentiveness of the staff, as we definitely felt we were just another guest bringing in the money.

However, overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: None of the rooms appear to have any kind of good view, so they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comment. We are glad to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Rest assured that every guest is given the best attention by our staff and though it might be discreet and quiet - out of respect for one’s own privacy – we gladly and proudly remain at your service at any moment. We shall, nevertheless, carefully review our process by the light of your sagacious observation in order to improve our welcome so you can feel even better on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 109 in Geneva
267 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 109 in Geneva
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Geneva City
#41 of 109 in Geneva
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Centre

Address: rue de Zurich 19, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Geneva
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $151 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Geneve Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Geneva, close to Lake Geneva and 15 minutes from the UN headquarters. The hotel features 206 rooms, a restaurant, bar and 6 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. In addition to the fitness centre and spa, with relaxation room, hammam, sauna, solarium and massage room, guests enjoy free public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneva
Geneva Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing