We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it, despite all of the warnings against it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Geneve Centre
Ranked #41 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I liked it, despite all of the warnings against it”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a last minute business trip when I could not get another room in Geneva. I thought that it was fine for a number of reasons. First of all, when I flew into Geneva, the taxi line at the airport was so big that I surely would have missed my meetings if I waited in it. So, I took the train to downtown and was then able to just walk a few blocks to the hotel. My room was clean and fine. It was easy to get a cab from the hotel to my meetings. Yes, its true that the neighborhood is kind of sketchy - if anything can be sketchy in Geneva. However, I found a very cute and authentic Swiss restaurant at the end of the block and ate there and walked back to the hotel with no problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that our hotel was an essential part of your excellent experience of our city.
We thank you for taking the time to write this comment and we hope to have you again with us soon.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    578
    331
    103
    38
See reviews for
372
256
88
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice location. Not top but only a few minutes walk to the lake. Had a Executive room that was very nice indeed. Very nice food with nice presentation. Conferencerooms were large and comfortable. Liked the nespresso mashines in room and outside conferenceroom

Disliked the reception. Only One or two counters open meant ques every time i needed service

Very attentive and helpful staff!

Room Tip: Go for the Executive rooms. Very nice indeed. My room had two (!) large terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korkeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting this comment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the sheer quality of our product and the professionalism and congeniality of our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL
Booked a one night trip at this hotel through last minute and when we had arrived, we were told there was no booking under our name. Even though we had a printout of the confirmation which clearly stated our booking, the staff were ever so unhelpful and rude. They finally accomodated us but then charged me double the amount (the payment had already been made) a month later! I had not authorised this payment and now i havent even got the full anount back. There has clearly been a huge error between the Novotel/Last minute so i',m not sure why they are still using lastminute. It's a money making scheme.
Hotel is in a very dingy location, it didnt feel safe at all walking back and there was only ever one person at reception so there was lots of waiting around.

Rooms are ok - nothing great for the price you pay, there is no swimming pool etc and wifi is only available in the lobby.

Be very careful before you book this hotel and don't be surprised if a huge chunk of money leaves yours account a few weeks later without any warning.

Terrible experience.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UzzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you had to go through, but are glad to inform you that the full refund has been effected.
The nature of the problem you had to face doesn’t seem to have emanated from us but as the quality of service and our clients’ easiness of mind are our priorities the incident has been carefully reviewed in order to be prevented in the future.
We thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We do apologize and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again so you can experience the true quality of our hotel.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights 16-18 June. It seems like a mix of business and families stat there. Good and clean. Breakfast a little boring. Large rooms and fast wifi. Ita quiet and walking distance everywhere. Will stay there again if i go to Geneva

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marresnarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting a comment regarding your stay. We’re happy to read that you fully enjoyed your experience with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Close to railway, good restaurants and lake, so location good if the 24/7 "working girls" around it doesn't bother you. I had much more problems accepting being given a smoking room and having problems getting it changed, a previous guests pubic hairs in bathtub and the almost non-existent wi-fi which makes it useless for business purposes

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to see that our convenient location made it easy for you. Regarding the WIFI network, it can happen to be busy at times in which case feel free to contact our front desk so they can provide you with various solutions. We thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during my recent visit to geneva with my family. Being a novotel, i expected a good quality and accommodating hotel for our stay. Well, for the price i paid, the rooms were certainly large, much more so than what i've seen in usual european hotels. The bathrooms were also reasonably roomy.
However, that is the extent of the praise i can give. The staff at the hotel was most unprofessional. Although we had an assured check-in at 2:00 PM, we were only provided the rooms at 3:30 PM. The rooms were nice as stated above but in two rooms, the faucets in the wash basin were broken and hanging off the wall and the bathroom floor in one room was so sticky as if they had used glue instead of water and a mop to clean it.
We complained about the same to the reception desk and were told that it could only be fixed the next morning and that there was no other room available for us that day. The next day, when we came back from our sight seeing, we still found the faucets broken and the bathroom floor sticky and the reception desk was quite unapologetic about it. They offered to shift us to other rooms but the rooms were quite far and on different floors which was unacceptable to us. No other apology or compensation was offered for our experience.
I have never had such an "amazing" experience at a Standard Hotel brand before and i advice all other planning to stay at this hotel to be very careful with the bathroom floor or you might lose a slipper or two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladeofthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking some time to comment on your experience at our hotel. It seems that despite our best care you encountered some technicalities and we wish to apologize for them. Though it was not convenient to you, I’m glad to read that our team offered you alternate solutions including changing rooms. Even facing delicate situations our staff always tries its best to give you the best possible experience. I hope the challenges you had to face while with us shan’t prevent you from giving us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are English speaking and do not know French/Italian/Spanish. We, a family of six people who stayed at the hotel for two nights, all adults. All our interactions were with staff who had English badges on them.

The hotel as such is fantastic property at a central location. The room sizes are luxurious for the price you pay and it is close walk-able to the main train station and to the old town areas. Awkwardly, the hotel as such appears to be located in the middle of a red light zone, but we were not bothered by anyone and did not have any untoward incident.

However, we got a rude shock by the service of the front desk. The check-in time is 2.00 pm and they gave us two rooms by 3.00 pm and one by 3.30 pm. Let alone providing complementary services/rebates for the delays, they did not even apologies, and informed us to have lunch outside and come back later.

We had prepaid the hotel rooms and during check-in were asked to provide a security for 450 CHF for the three rooms. They informed that a card will do, and they will use the card on for a reservation and will not charge or block any amount from the card. So we provided them with a card. The next day, we realised that they have actually debited the amount from our card and when we confronted the front desk, they just brushed off the issue stating that it was a communication misunderstanding. Again, no apologies from them but by this time, we did not expect any. Further the reimbursement of the amount has also been delayed, even after check-out.

The room/bathroom ambiance and comfort is good the price you pay, but unfortunately for us, we were forced to change one room as the bathroom was not properly functioning.

We have stayed at four different locations in Switzerland on this trip. In my view, this hotel has the best comfort and ambience for the price, but I have enjoyed the other hotels and not this one. All-in-all, this hotel has the foundation to be a good hotel, but needs better management and customer relationship. You may try it if you feel that our experience is an exception.

Room Tip: The property is good, just look out for the service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Directeur général at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post this review. It seems indeed that some misunderstanding upon check-in prevented you from fully enjoying your time in our property. We are truly sorry about it and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had to go through. Providing a superior service is our goal and our procedures are designed to facilitate your stay and make it more pleasant; certainly, in any quest for excellence there’s always room for improvement. Nevertheless we’re glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and location. We hope to be able to welcome you again so you can enjoy a better experience.

Catherine Lamotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
885 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
909 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 105 in Geneva
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Centre

Property: Novotel Geneve Centre
Address: rue de Zurich 19, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Geneva
#29 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Geneve Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Geneva, close to Lake Geneva and 15 minutes from the UN headquarters. The hotel features 206 rooms, a restaurant, bar and 6 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. In addition to the fitness centre and spa, with relaxation room, hammam, sauna, solarium and massage room, guests enjoy free public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneva
Geneva Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing