We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for reasonable money”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good place for reasonable money”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is in a short walking distance fron a train station. The room is not great but for that price is very nice and clean. No minibar in a room and no water in a bottle. But u can buy it across a road in a supermarket which is open from 7 am till 10 pm every 7 days in a week what is uncommon for Switserland where every shop is closed on Sunday. Breakfast is good. But no hot meal served. The lady in a breakfast room was very kind and quick in serving. No fitness :(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
26
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a work trip. Rooms are simple - comfortable bed, clean bathroom, shower is not very good as its hand held, small TV with very few channels, so not very good for those that intend to stay in their room.
Breakfast is good - nice range of fruits, breads, croissants, cheese, meats and cereals.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
The location is the best feature - 2 minute walk from central train station and key bus routes. The lake is a 5 mins walk. And you are surrounded by great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level Contributor
279 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and it is ok and clean. room are spacious and clean. Breakfast bit boring but fine for those who needs only cappucino and cornetto in the morning.
Wifi is limited and you have to pay if you want it in your room . However, I was on the 1st floor and I was getting the line for free.

Room Tip: 1 and 2 floor you can get the wifi free from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I was on bussiness tour & i chose this hotel as its reasonably priced and near the Train station and Bus to Airport, But i had the worst stay ever in switzerland.

Rooms were ok, large enough, clean, NOISY, About the staffs- allmost every one is students from different collages.very entusiastic and polite, But no knowledge about the local areas and not much helpful regarding city directions

As adviced by a staff member i was about to meet the manager/owner of the hotel to get some local area map and directions, i saw her at the corridor with a staff member at work !! shame on her,, is this how you treat your staff ??? she was shouting, rather screaming at the staff asif like she killed some one and she dont even care me while i was passing through !! disgracefull !! i feel sorry for the staff, (a young girl around 20`s) looking at me misserably , asif like "Help Me" !!

The worst Part is the neighbourhood !! after 6 or 7 in the evening, it looks like the most dangerous place on earth !! guys fighting on the street, prostitutes every where and i felt so sorry to be in the middle of all these ..

if you are looking for a safe place to stay , stay away from this hotel,, i will never come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kummi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was in Geneva on a business trip and stayed here for a few nights, the room was ok sized for one person. Both the room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful when I needed converter plugs and advice on the local area. Breakfast was basic but the fresh pastries and assortment of jams, cheeses, cereals and drinks was more than enough, I imagine on a longer stay you might get bored of it but for three days it was just fine.

Room Tip: I was in a room facing the main road and had been warned this might be busy, however on a rainy week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBasaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Very clean, nice staff. 3-5 min walk to train station and close to the lake.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I had to find a place in Geneva on the fly one night and ended up walking by Hotel des Alpes. It was extremely low priced at 150 Swiss francs. Nearby low budget hotels were going for 200 or so in comparison. (Yes, hotels in Geneva are ridiculously expensive by US standards!) I asked to see a room and the desk attendant was extremely nice about it. The rooms are modest but clean. The bathroom was dated but also clean and there was fast hot water, a full bath, hairdryer, etc. I slept quite comfortably and checked out the next day feeling well rested. This is obviously not a hotel you want to spend many days in but if you need a short resting stop or you are a 20 something budget traveler (I'm a 30 something business traveler), this hotel is great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#60 of 105 in Geneva
268 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
467 reviews
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Cornavin
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#83 of 105 in Geneva
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: rue des Alpes 14, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis-Temple
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel des Alpes hospitality is warm and personal. We pay a special attention to offer your a pleasant stay in our hotel. We offer a concierge service to help you with travel arrangements, car rentals, your show reservations , .... The central location of the Hotel des Alpes is a real asset. Indeed a 3-minute walk from the train station and the lake areas. Interest center are a short: 10 minutes walk from the old town, 10 minutes by train from the airport and CERN, 7 minutes by tram to United Nations and International Organizations. A charming hotel with 28 rooms fully air conditioned have been recently renovated. Each room has a flat-screen TV, free WiFi access, hair dryer, and a courtesy tray (tea / coffee) offered. The courtyard rooms are very quiet (on request, when booking, we will do our best to fulfill your wishes). A cold buffet breakfast is offered in a dedicated room. You will find pastries, variety of breads, ham&salami, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, eggs in shells, fruit juice, tea, coffee .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing