We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a low budget hotel”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Jersey City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good for a low budget hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I had to find a place in Geneva on the fly one night and ended up walking by Hotel des Alpes. It was extremely low priced at 150 Swiss francs. Nearby low budget hotels were going for 200 or so in comparison. (Yes, hotels in Geneva are ridiculously expensive by US standards!) I asked to see a room and the desk attendant was extremely nice about it. The rooms are modest but clean. The bathroom was dated but also clean and there was fast hot water, a full bath, hairdryer, etc. I slept quite comfortably and checked out the next day feeling well rested. This is obviously not a hotel you want to spend many days in but if you need a short resting stop or you are a 20 something budget traveler (I'm a 30 something business traveler), this hotel is great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
27
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Visiting Switzerland in the end of May is splendid but the hotel rates are overpriced in Geneva. In spite of this, the rate in this hotel is quite reasonable. This hotel is in very good location and few hundred meters from Geneva main station. There are lots of food restaurants in the vicinity of this hotel. Giant Geneva lake is 500 meters away from this hotel. All the important places are nearby and within walking distance. Free breakfast is excellant and timing is between 7a.m. to 10 a.m. In the early departure from hotel they can arrange early breakfast. On departure date my flight was early in the morning and they could arrange early breakfast around 4 a.m. Rooms are big and clean. Staffs are very nice. During my stay, on the reception desk they appointed Hotel Mamagement trainee people. Their service is good and very helpful. In overall this hotel is excellant in every respect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and can be booked online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArghyaKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens/Greece
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Conveniently located between the central railway station and the lake,very clean and good valued

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiotisAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

stayed here for 2 nights, recommended by Tourist Advisor at Geneva airport. Located near the train station (5 mins) and 5 mins to the lake. Unfortunately, the evening was a nightmare - the road opposite the hotel was swarming after dark with prostitutes and drug dealers, my friend and I spend the whole night watching "runners" dealing and girls hanging on corners etc. Very noisy all night. On the first night went outside for a cigarette at about 9.00pm and was surrounded by 8 or so men - who I though might try and steal my bag - but unfortunately - was told afterward was not the reason I was being surrounded (I am not a spring chicken and was dressed in jeans and a long black coat!) - it was only when we called a taxi that the taxi driver warned my friend and I about the growing problems with drugs/prostitutes in the area. Extremely scary - on the nights - hotel was okay - not worth the money thought with the problems at night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabbits0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

A very clean basic hotel. In fact one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. Good location. Very good value for price. Many good restaurants on the door step. Only negative, they have the worst coffee in the morning.

  • Liked — location, cost
  • Disliked — very sparce
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank riko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Pretty cheap for Geneva this hotel represents a great place to stay for those on a personal budget. The staff are very helpful, rooms are functional,clean and tidy and the breakfast is good enough to start the day with. It is also in a good location being a fairly short walk from the main train, tram and bus terminal but also very close to the lake.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGAPTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel des Alpes in March 2007. Basic 2 ½ to 3 star tourist hotel.

Pros

Very close to the train station but not too close
Acceptably quiet with the window closed
Acceptable breakfast
Was in a slightly better area than some of the similar hotels we considered
Internet café across the street

Cons

Basic, small room with little amenities or style
Very noisy street traffic with window open (only ventilation)
Still somewhat near the red light district of Geneva

Summary

If you need to stay for a day or two maximum near the main train station, this hotel will suffice. However, this is just a place to sleep and put your bags. Nothing else.

Helpful?
2 Thank Offseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#54 of 105 in Geneva
272 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
211 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#55 of 105 in Geneva
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: rue des Alpes 14, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis-Temple
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel des Alpes hospitality is warm and personal. We pay a special attention to offer your a pleasant stay in our hotel. We offer a concierge service to help you with travel arrangements, car rentals, your show reservations , .... The central location of the Hotel des Alpes is a real asset. Indeed a 3-minute walk from the train station and the lake areas. Interest center are a short: 10 minutes walk from the old town, 10 minutes by train from the airport and CERN, 7 minutes by tram to United Nations and International Organizations. A charming hotel with 28 rooms fully air conditioned have been recently renovated. Each room has a flat-screen TV, free WiFi access, hair dryer, and a courtesy tray (tea / coffee) offered. The courtyard rooms are very quiet (on request, when booking, we will do our best to fulfill your wishes). A cold buffet breakfast is offered in a dedicated room. You will find pastries, variety of breads, ham&salami, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, eggs in shells, fruit juice, tea, coffee .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing