We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it! An absolute steal compared to other hotels in Switzerland.”
Review of Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We were shocked at how nice the hotel was! Elsewhere in Switzerland we were paying more and getting a lot less for our money. We got a double room for 118 CHF.

The hotel itself is really nice. Our room was clean and modern.

The staff were extremely helpful and let us keep our bags in their luggage room until our room was ready. They also gave us a free passes for the public transport in Geneva.

I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 295 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very close to the train station, to the lake and the city center, the hotel is clean but is old-fashioned and without any spirit.
Style from the 60's-70's, well maintained but ... no air-conditioning, no coffee machine in the room, ...
I asked for a quiet room and I got a room in the back which had no noise coming from the street but ... the room was very hot, no airco -> opened the window ... I had the noise of some cooling equipment from the back of the hotel and the nice flavor of some bloody smokers !

So, go there in winter time and ask for a quiet room and it should be ~ ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The worst hotel ever. Bad managment sure the biggest regret I ever been im my travel life.,
im not a weird person on perfection. I like to enjoy the places and at least minimal conditions. I never asked too much. But this hotel I dont recommend to anyone.
Bad bad cleaning! noisy, and the managemnt very rude with clients. the only good thing is good locatiojn, but that.. its just luck. You can find better hotels around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights in Excelsior. The location is a stone's throw from the railway station, 3min walk from the river, 5min walk from the lake. You got all you need around the hotel: cafe, pharmacy, department stores. Geneva is pretty small so the old city is 10min walk from the hotel. Even so, it is very quiet.
The team was very helpful, recommending good restaurants and sites to go.
The rooms are large and there was a small chamber inside for baggage. The rooms are kept very clean, and so is the bath.
Since it was July, the air outside may be hot and humid, and so air conditioning could have helped, but still, they have a ceiling fan and a door to a tiny balcony which ventilate efficiency, keeping fresh air, as opposed to air-conditioned rooms that tend to seal and smell.
All n' all, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Shmuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited Geneva during Easter weekend. The hotel is standard; clean room and bathroom. The neighborhood is really good, station, mall, lake, everything at walking distance. Service was fine, receptionist friendly.

We were given a twin bed though we had given 1 double bed as preference. They said we could change after the first night stay there. We did not ask for it though. The problem with one of the beds was that its top right leg was broken and hence the bed was not stable. We did not complain during our stay as we had already unpacked. What we thought was, this could not have gone without their notice. Room service would have noticed it for sure and they still gave it to customers which is weird.

Breakfast was standard; the egg boiling process was very confusing for everyone. They keep raw eggs and you need to boil them in a common boiler yourselves. This confuses everyone , even though there is a board but not everyone will notice it. People take each other's egg and if you don't stop others from taking yours, you might end up waiting for 10-15 minutes again. Also, some people didn't realize the eggs kept there are raw, and tried to break them with mishaps. I saw at least 2 tourists in trouble with that.

I would have rated this restaurant higher had they paid attention to these details. For the price you pay to stay here, you deserve a little more comfort for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSunahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

There is no waiting lounge and the desk staff are not very helpful, especially when you have asked for an early check in. The rooms are too small for comfort and air conditioners are needed in May and June. The breakfast is basic to say the least. Reminds one of a Nunnery!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romasolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I recently spent 4 nights with my husband who attended a conference. I was very surprised what an expensive city Geneva is. This hotel is affordable and VERY well located. Just a short walk from the train station. When you stay at a Geneva Hotel you get a pass that allows you to use all public transportation for free. I took full advantage of this and visited different areas every day. The breakfast room is very small and busy in the morning but the buffet is plentiful and delicious. The room was clean and we could see Lac Lemans from our balcony. The young men in the reception were very friendly and helpful, the woman with the short blond hair needs some lessons in customer service, friendliness, smiling etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#69 of 109 in Geneva
550 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#63 of 109 in Geneva
176 reviews
Drake Longchamp
#70 of 109 in Geneva
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#81 of 109 in Geneva
474 reviews
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#33 of 109 in Geneva
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior

Address: rue Rousseau 34, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $116 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing