We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence St James
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The staff at the reception desk hardly speak French or English. The room is cleaned only each three days. And the lift was broken when we left the hotel. The housekeeper helped us with our heavy laguagge, but only because she was very kind with our impossibility to take them down, from the 7th floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    23
    15
    21
See reviews for
19
29
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

4 of us stayed here for 1 night, 2 twin bedrroms, situated on same floor. Some of the Staff dont seem to speak French, that was not a problem for us, but just an observation for any francofiles. Beds were comfy and can be folded up which would make for a large room, also twin beds are seperated with a small partition for those couples where 1 snores, this is a big bonus as it works !
Excellent value, especially as each room has an equipped kitchen with 4 ring gas cooker & microwave.
The location was excellent, close to the Lake and fountain and near the old town (both very short walks away). Staff were helpfull and allowed us to check out late in one of the 2 rooms, as we had a late flight, they looked after our luggage too in reception after we did check out at 3pm. Staff provided us free public transport tickets for 2 days, but note this is standard practice by all hotels in Geneva. Only downside (and this I stress did not bother us for the one night), was the decor was decrepid, such as cupboard doors falling off and lights not working. There are NO lake view rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite side from main street, facing rear yard. Quiter. Twin rooms on 5th floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trakmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was a nice hotel/residence with kitchen attached, cleanliness was ok, location wise manageable with a free travel pass to catch a bus or boat to city center. Most of the things near by such as an Indian restaurant, church, park, Geneva lake. Over all nice security system with excellent free WiFi. Staffs are cooperative but not sufficient in numbers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DrSomanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

as generva was very expensive, this cheap accomodation seemed very good, the staff was very helpful, the location was brilliant central to generva, near the lake, near all transport. the hotel gave a free bus pass for generva which was great. the room was clean, with a small kitchen which was ideal for us, however, the room had wooden floor which meant you could hear all the noise and was difficult to sleep , needed ear plugs. other then that it was not bad. it all depends on your budget .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pushpakhimji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maseru, Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The staff at reception were horrible, they told me to take the wrong bus line to the airport, I was very frastrated, I wouldnt recommend staying for anyone, except the fact that their internet was ok, my room was never cleaned in my entire stay and I'm sure it was not cleaned even before I arrived. The kitchen was ok though. I was travelling with Vietnamese colleagues and the lady at the reception was a Vietnamese and started speaking their language and neglected me totally. There was a nail also that hurt me badly on the corner of my bed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nthabeleng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Please don't go to Lake Geneva I could not believe how expensive it is go to lake Garda much nicer and cheaper..

Hotel St James Residence is what it is cheap for this city and only for the kitchen we would have been lost great location but 3 star rating I don't think 2 star maybe
the only good side to lake geneva is the free public transport that we got when we arrived at hotel, used it to get to airport and on the lake its an expensive rip off and the other side of lake has very shady parts

Room Tip: we had a room at back of hotel and it was fine on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed here twice before and decided, as we never had any issue before we would stay again while on honeymoon. Big big mistake, worst mistake ever. We had notified the hotel prior to our arrival that we were on honeymoon and needed to check in early. When we arrived the room wasn't ready. No problem, left luggage and returned two hrs later. We were told wewere on 7th floor and lift broken. Told them notgood enough so putus on 3rd floor into what I wouldclass as a single room. Small double bed, on chair atthe table and the kitchenette was a joke. It had to be the worlds smallest dirtiest room. The light broke in the bathroom. I was so upset and when I complained I dealt with the most ignorant rude receptionist. She hasn't a clue about customer care. They took the good out of our trip andwould never stay there again. Avoid if u want to enjoy your trip. Awful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carkir10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Atel - Calvy
#78 of 108 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Hotel Longemalle
#64 of 108 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#9 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#42 of 108 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Cité
Hotel Les Armures
Hotel Les Armures
#40 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence St James

Property: Residence St James
Address: 3 Rue Versonnex, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence St James 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residence St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence St James Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing