We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Geneve
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Good location accessible to all public transports. Excellent value in this expensive city. Rooms are not luxurious and not airconditioned but very clean and a pleasant welcome by the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Washington_DCMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    107
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
32
65
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Quite close to the train station, and a few minutes away from the bus stop and close to the old town. I only stayed here as the hotel my colleagues stayed in was full. Compared to their hotel it was very similar with a basic breakfast (which was more than adequate) with excellent coffee, considering I usually drink herbal teas, I did overdo the coffee a bit, but it was good!
There was a computer with free internet in the reception, and I think there was the possiblity of having herbal teas during the day as there was cups and tea bags on a coffee table in the reception area. The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable the shower was rather small. I think it was the sort of shower/sink/toilet which I have come across in many places including boats where everything is molded in one piece and then placed in a room. The power shower did mean that the whole of the cubicle floor got rather wet as it was impossible to move in the confined area. However apart from that I was quite happy with the set up. Although I initially had my window open, I did close it because of the noise, which compared with some of my colleagues was not bad.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

This hotel is very, very simple and low standard by any account but it is made up for by a great location and its friendly staff. We stayed for 2 nights and had no problems at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTheAmmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

I was a bit apprehensive about staying in this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I was really glad that I did. It is in a great location near the station and all the sights and shops. The hotel is charming and the staff are all excellent. The breakfast was very good and there was certainly enough to eat. A gem of a place and if I was returning to Geneva I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene09Helensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel is a 7-8 mins walk from the railway station. Quite near the lake and the old town. The public bus/tram stop are also very near the hotel. The room was decent and clean. The hotel also provided free local travel pass and this was great since our Swiss pass had expired as it was our last day in Switzerland. The breakfast was ok. The check-out times are strict but the staff allows to keep the luggage in a corner in front of the reception for a few hours.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuneIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel is very conveniently located about 7 minutes walk from the train station, 3 minutes walk from the airport bus, and a 5 minute stroll to the river. All in all, we had the best room in the house, (207), and yet we would have liked to have had some air-conditioning, considering how hot it was the week we were there. The staff is extremely friendly, and the place impeccably clean. I have shared my suggestions for improving the room, including the addition of a real televesion screen versus the laptop size screen we had to endure while trying to follow Wibledon matches! It's really a toss-up, and I would say that next time we might venture further afield. Especially given that we were in Geneva for a conference, and therefore would have also benefited from a 24 hour internet (which was NOT free) and availability of a printer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

I thought this place was pretty nice. It was very clean, in good condition, and the breakfast was very nice. I would probably go back.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianEtudiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#38 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#28 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Excelsior
#59 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Geneve

Property: Hotel de Geneve
Address: place Isaac- Mercier 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hôtel Rio)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Geneve 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Geneve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing