We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight in Geneva” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Geneve
Ranked #51 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Durham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overnight in Geneva”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were staying for one night in Geneva before heading off to France. We thought it a good chance to visit a new city - until we started to look for hotels - the prices ranged from 250-450 Francs per night! We found Hotel de Geneve on the official tourist web site - it is 2* and provides clean and comfortable accommodation right in the city centre. We paid approx £150 for a small room ( no air con) with a good breakfast. A free ticket for bus travel was provided. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Prices in Geneva are eye wateringly expensive and although we enjoyed our stay we were glad that it was just for the one night!

Room Tip: some rooms seemed larger than ours with good views - check before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DurhamAnne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    104
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
62
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oakland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a nice hotel for the price in Geneva, which is an extremely expensive city. It's close to the central train station and is walking distance from old town and the other main sites. Free breakfast, a fan in the room, a balcony were all plusses. I wouldn't say any hotel in Geneva is a good value, but this seems to be one of the better values.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

great location, warm staff. small but cozy & clean. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearRaccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I only came to Geneva for 2 night and had a hard time deciding where to stay. I was so worried we wont be able to find any parking or that the hotel will be miles away form the center..
I did not regret my choice, this place is cute, friendly, and even f you can't secure your parking, we haven't had a problem to park once. there are 4 parking spaces right in front of the hotel which always had space for our car, or another 6parking spaces only 15 metres away.. so if you worry about where to park.. dont :) Rooms were clean, cozy, simple but thats all we needed.
An older gentleman at the reception was really frienldy and helpful to us - think his name was Werner...
I would easily come back, im not a fussy traveler, I look for afordable yet nce and clean places to stay and this was definitely one of them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muficek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Staff very friendly and helpful. Spotlessly clean. Room at back of hotel meant it was quiet. Standard expected of a 2*. Liked the complimentary tea/coffee in reception. Simple breakfast: fresh bread and jams, cereal, cheese, ham, fruit bowl, make your own toast, good coffee. As a lone, female traveller felt secure. Few minutes walk from station. Free internet access in reception.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woofie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

It was a rather good hotel with all necessary facilities. Everything was clean and cozy. It took only 5-10 minuts to get to the centre. The breakfast also was nice . And for sure, it was a great value for money, because Geneve is rather expencive. We liked staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hotel de Geneve is situated just away from the main commercial areas of Geneva and is only a 5 minute walk to the main transport hub, shops, post office or lake,
The rooms are warm and the beds comfortable and a nice continental breakfast is served each morning
There is a computer in the lobby for the use of guests and wireless Internet ias available for a small fee in the rooms
There are some good cafes nearby as well
I can suggest that this hotel is a good home away from home for the traveller on a budget who wants a bit of comfort

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#36 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#63 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Excelsior
#61 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#27 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Geneve

Property: Hotel de Geneve
Address: place Isaac- Mercier 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hôtel Rio)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Geneve 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Geneve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing