We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Ranked #76 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had to travel to Geneva for a business event. I chose the Hotel Admiral from the Internet. I had never stayed there before. My criteria for choosing it included its closeness to the railway station (per Google maps) and the place where my business was taking place (Quai des Bergues), and the price.

The Google map was not wrong. The Admiral is about three minutes from the station by foot, and well positioned for everything else in the centre of Geneva.

When my colleague and I arrived we were met by a very charming receptionist, and the manager, both of whom were very attentive. We were presented with a general travel ticket for all the modes of transport in the city, which was a nice surprise. The room was very clean and quiet, which for me is of the utmost importance. Our breakfast next morning was first-class and all in all, we were very well treated.

On my arrival home (to Ireland) I discovered that I had left a number of business and other cards in a drawer in my room. A phone call to the hotel was dealt with immediately and the cards were soon on their way to my home in Dublin by post, where they arrived safely a few days later.

I thought this was a great service to add to the hospitality of our stay. I will definitely be booking into Hotel Admiral when next I have occasion to visit Geneva.

Room Tip: Can only say that my room was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    183
    101
    35
    32
See reviews for
31
163
60
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hardest review I've done yet. Hotel itself is nice and we wanted something cozy and comfortable whilst visiting our son in Geneva over Christmas. Lots of fresh flowers, very nice floral decorations outside, beds comfortable, sheets and towels good quality and changed often, breakfast very good indeed, shower hot and efficient, very pleasant and helpful staff, excellent value for money and good location - I'm doing all the good bits first! However, we should have been given a pass to travel in Geneva free-of-charge on buses, trams and local trains and we weren't. It was only when enquiring about something else at the tourist information office that we found out about it some four days later. This was definitely a mark against the receptionist who checked us in. Please ask if you're not given one automatiically. As previous reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is on the edge of the red light district and pimps and prostitutes abound. However, we didn't ever feel intimidated or threatened by this and walking from the main road to the hotel wasn't a problem. The sex shops etc were further along the Rue Pellegrino Rossi and so we didn't need to pass them. Unfortunately this did mean that the road was very noisy at night - quite a lot of cars roaring around and shouting which the double glazing did help to reduce but not enough. The other huge problem for us was that the walls were paper-thin and if your neighbours were noisy - which ours were on at least three of our seven nights - you really didn't get much sleep. Even normal moving around and using the bathroom noises seemed to be abnormally amplified and I didn't have a full night's sleep once during our week. This is such a shame because the hotel does try really hard, it's in a very convenient location (especially for the railway station) and it's a short walk to the lake and Jet d'eau. I'd like to say we'd use it again, but I don't think we will.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ok, this review is tricky. The hotel is older, but has a very cozy feel to it. The room was small, but serviceable. The front desk staff was courteous and tried to be helpful. The breakfast (included) was fantastic.

The hotel is in a bit of a "sketchy" area, lots of prostitutes 24hours a day on the street and surrounding area. This is not a problem, however, when the city quiets down around 11PM the street noise from pimps/hookers and their clients is unbearable. Impossible to sleep, you stop noticing it around 6-7 am when the background city noise starts again. We stayed three nights at the beginning/mid May, likely got about 3 hours sleep.

Front desk staff attempted to get us a room at the back of the building without success.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel Admiral is located pretty much in the centre of Geneva so most attractions are in very easy walking distance. Its also located right in the middel of Geneva's Red Light district. My wife and I knew this when booking, but it turns out that this is a "business is booming" area and the noise at night is loud and pretty off-putting. The hotel itself is what we'd consider three star at best. Service on arrival was ok and the room was what you would expect for a hotel of this class. The airconditioning was hopefless and yes, we did find the remote contral and tried to make all the necessary adjustments. We had to open the widow to try to get some cool air into the room - which achieved little othe rthan letting in all the night-life noise below. Bottom line: an average hotel in a pretty sleezy area...but value for money so long as your expectations match the reality. Recommended - just.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

As most of the description provided in their web site (like "outstanding location", "panache" and "warm hospitality"), the Admiral Hotel should be ashamed to state that "all rooms are sound proof", it must be a joke ! Paper-thin walls that gave the impression we were sharing the room with our neighbors (a family with a little kid), floors that let us hear everyone's steps in other rooms or in the corridor, windows on the street that seemed open even when closed. There is a sex-shop downstairs and a shady building just in front of the hotel, with residents chatting loudly in the street and cars stopping by all night long, even midweek. We brought earplugs, and our room was on the 5th floor, but it didn't help much. We paid 160€/night for a room where we could not sleep at all, this is definitely a rip-off.

Apart from that, the place is old but clean and it is conveniently located close to the train station and the lake. Wifi was free but the signal was too weak in our room so the internet connection was very slow or unavailable. The room was cold and wet as the day had been rainy, so we tried to use the air-conditionning in its heating position but it didn't work, neither did the on-off switch (we had to unplug the air-con from the wall to stop it). Breakfast was OK except the unappealing hot food (yucky scramble eggs and beacon).

In conclusion, we would not recommend this place to our friends or family, especially for the rate we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, but bring earplugs anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The jump off point for the Hotel Admiral is the super convenient location, but the real value comes with the five star service that the entire staff provides. They are very helpful accommodating the needs of the weary and often confused traveler. The breakfast, selections and service is outstanding. We had a special problem of our own making that the front desk staff went above and beyond to help us solve. It spoke volumes to us. The only ding is the street noise at night, but adding in all the pluses you will still find Hotel Admiral and quality stay for the value.

Room Tip: rooms that face away from the street noise are much preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I agree with most of the reviews. Briefly: small but very clean and comfortable rooms, well situated in the center, close to the lake and to many restaurants. The red district is quite safe. The persons at the reception are very nice and helpful, the breakfast is rich and tasty. The only problem is the very low quality of the walls between neighboring rooms. You cannot get a good night sleep, not so much because of the outside noise, as for the noise from the other rooms, the shower at 3:00 AM, the TV past midnight, even the mobile phone buzzing... The price was cheaper than most good hotels in the center, but not very cheap by itself. Good compromise if you take some ear plugs with you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PopsPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#79 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Hotel Windsor
#81 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Excelsior
#60 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Geneva

Property: Hotel Admiral Geneva
Address: rue Pellegrino-Rossi 8, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star hotel, recently renovated, perfect central location, all rooms non smoking with air condition and free Wi-Fi wireless internet. A rich buffet breakfast is included in the price as well as all tax and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Admiral Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing