We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis delivers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Geneve Centre Nations
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hartsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ibis delivers”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is exactly what I expected: and I have high expectations! Modern, clean, efficient, even trendy! The breakfast (not cheap) was plentiful and various. The room was minimalist (as Ibis is) but had everything I wanted. No quibbles about giving one internet access card for each device I had. it was supposedly the high-speed internet, but I don't think it was. Fine for work, but less good for Skype and youtube! The location was 10 minutes walk from the train station - not bad, but slightly further than I had anticipated. The dinner I had in the bar was disappointing: pre-packaged, with an avocado salad that felt like it was frozen!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    535
    141
    17
    12
See reviews for
149
289
44
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Ibis Genève Nations is precisely as advertised - a very comfortable, no-frills, easy-access hotel. If only other "2-star" hotels could be at the same standard, the world of hospitality would me a much easier place to navigate. Rated in terms of comfort, this hotel offers quiet, nearly soundproof rooms, exceedingly comfortable beds, and a very clean and spartan (almost Scandinavian) experience. The bathroom is large compared to the room, and all fittings are brand new and practical. It is an absolutely perfect business hotel, with direct access to the train station via bus 8, and to all international organisations with the same bus going the other way. In other words, this is a place to get a good night's sleep and wake up ready for a day's work. In no way would this be a good choice for a "romantic" or "touristic" trip, as it is not located in the correct neighbourhood for those activities, nor does it offer the necessary frills needed for a leisure traveller. The only issue of note, which another reviewer also mentioned, is that there is no in-room safe. Considering the clientele, and the fact that this is pretty much a standard for all hotels nowadays, I would gladly have exchanged the flat-screen TV for the convenience of a safe. It is also worth noting that if booked too close to the arrival date, the prices may seem somewhat appalling. After all, CHF 230 a night could get you a giant suite in a 5-star hotel in Bangkok, but this Geneva, the Center of the Known Universe, let's not forget it... so the burn of the price isn't so bad, especially as everyone here is probably on some kind of per diem or expense account anyway. Overall, it is to be recommended to anyone who's passing by Geneva on business and requires cleanliness, convenience, comfort, and doesn't demand unreasonable luxury. Didn't taste the breakfast as I was late for my meeting, so no comment on that.Anyway, bottom line is: recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zerosixzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

It is really easy to find this hotel if you know how! Therefore.... if you are arriving at Gare de Cornavin head to the main concourse at the front of the station. Take a number 8 bus toward OMS or Appia and go 2 stops to Canonnaire (the bus stops are shown on a screen on the bus). This stop is about 50 yards beyond the hotel which you will see on your left hand side. Make sure you pick up a travel map along with your free 80 minute transport ticket just before exiting through the customs gateway at the airport.
The hotel has many more positives than negatives:
positives
- very clean with modern fittings
- free wifi
- really comfortable bed
- good breakfast - excellent value for us as it came as a small supplement to our room rate but probably still good value at 15f when compared to prices in cafes
- staff generally friendly and helpful
- location with use of free travel card

negatives
- poor air conditioning for a modern hotel, the room never seemed to cool - luckily we were at the rear of the hotel so could sleep with the window open but it could be a big problem in the height of summer. We couldn't understand why when we left the window open during the day the maid kept closing it
- the towels were surprisingly poor quality compared to everything else in the hotel and there was only one per person - I like a hand and bath towel

UK travellers note that there is only one European electric plug point and two Swiss so it is worth investing in a Swiss adapter - we got one for £3.10 from ebay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good quality value for money base.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear of the hotel are over a quiet residential area so no road noise
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SMW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great location for those engaging with UN, Red Cross, etc. in Geneva with nice and modern facilities. Rooms are simple but nice and spacious and the staff really nice. They extended my booking despite the hotel was full. The buses running to the central station are just near the hotel although you can take a 15-20 min walk up to there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Libreta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was in Geneva for work for 5 days. The Ibis is a good solution : nothing fancy and rooms could be bigger but they are spotlessly clean. Wifi is free and the connection is excellent. Beds are very good, HD TV, new bathroom . Staff is extremely nice at the reception.
Only thing : I would add some variety in the menu at the restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

With good internet, nice comfortable bed, immaculate cleanliness and friendly service, the Ibis is a great basic hotel. The bedroom is not terribly big and you probably wouldn't choose the IBIS if you were spending a lot of time actually at the hotel, but as a place to get some sleep, do a bit of work, etc. it's perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I found Geneva hotels to be quite pricey, so the Ibis was the best option. I know it says it's a 2 star, but really the facilities and the room were ace! Very clean, quite big room, we even had a small couch in a corner, which was convenient for storage. Also, the breakfast was worth every penny! We found it pricey at first, at 15 CHF per day, but comparing to how much you'd pay at a cafe/ supermarket for sandwiches, this was the best option. The hotel is also quite close to the centre, about 15-20 min walk or a short bus ride. I'd fully recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina_L123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
231 reviews
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#33 of 105 in Geneva
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#41 of 105 in Geneva
1,279 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 105 in Geneva
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Geneve Centre Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Geneve Centre Nations

Property: ibis Geneve Centre Nations
Address: Rue De Grand Pre 33-35, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Geneve Centre Nations 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Nations boasts a city center location, just minutes from Cornavin train station, international organizations and the Geneva International Conference Centre (CICG). It is less than 15 minutes by public transport from Geneve Cointrin international airport and the Palexpo exhibition center, and has 216 rooms with an air cooling system and free WIFI. There is a 24-hour bar and paying car park (subject to availability on arrival). Guests also enjoy free public transport and WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Geneve Centre Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing