We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Luigia

Luigia
Ranked #141 of 1,715 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
france
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Luigia is a good place for lunch with colleagues or dinner. The food is tasty and - by Swiss standards - reasonably priced. What I miss? It would be nice to have the choice of a small pizza (or a slice of their huge pizza) with a salad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Member_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    113
    62
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellence in tomato sauce”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was twice in Luigia, and I am now convinced. The best tomato sauces in the city are here. Rarely an Italian restaurant puts as much care in the variety and excellence of so many different tomatoes sauces.
For normal basil pizza sauce , origano sauce for pizza marinara, capers sauce for 'Guazzetto' squid, sea scented sauce for 'moscardini': all excellent and varied.
The pizza dough is a little strange for a Neapolitan, with its too homogeneous board, but very good.
It is not cheap, and I'm shocked by the overpriced bottle of water, especially when we ordered more drinks for everybody.
But it is surely the best Italian in the city and the only one who can qualify Neapolitan restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Arrived hungry and tired; were very pleased with food and service”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had been travelling all day and did not feel like going too far or too fancy for dinner; walked over to Luigia with a friend who lives nearby, who promised good and quick Italian food. She was correct on both counts, and the service was good. Nice varied menu. Don't recall much else other than a big busy place with at least a smattering of families with young children, but we had a nice table tucked into a sort of corner and didn't feel crowded. No idea what it cost as our friend grabbed the bill. Would go here again, though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Daylight Robbery - more expensive, & food is worse on each visit”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

After last night's experience, I've had it with Luigias. It is resting too much on its laurels as one of the only 'destination' restaurants in Geneva, where the choice is pathetically poor. The owners are coining it in, and now developing covered seating area outside so they can do so in all weathers. But they have become too, too greedy and take customers for fools. We had an early evening meal with our two small kids and the price was over 130 CHF. Even though we asked for pasta split between our two kids, (it came in two small portions kid size) but they charged us full price for each! ie. 15 chf each! I asked for 'carafe' of water (meaning tap water) and this was also charged. My husband's carbonnara tasted bad (swimming in brownish grease with nasty ham bits), totally unlike in Italy! My fish was okay but the courgette that came with it had been deep fat fried. Uneatable! No the place is just a cash factory rip off of poor Genevans and the large international crowd desperate for something a bit more hip. But not worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lucyhme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern place, great Neapolitan food”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I eat at Luigia all the time.
It is the only modern, delicious, quick, yummy Italian place in town. A clear favorite!
Pizzas are first class. Gnocchi are very good. Espresso is the gold standard here. However, the tiramisu could benefit from being a little less creamy...
(Their original location, near Rive, is also very good - I went there today for the first time- , but doesn't have a terrace though.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigia also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing