We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, but..?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Plancha

La Plancha
Ranked #20 of 1,667 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant La Plancha, new hype destination in Geneva. The new owner, Anna, welcomes you warmly and suggests you get together with friends for tapas around a good bottle of wine. Quality/prices unbeatable. Fresh market products and from local suppliers. Specialty “luxurious” cheeseburger. Spread the word…
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Superb food, but..?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

On arrival at the restaurant, you could tell that it was a popular choice. It was brimming with people at the bar and dining areas.

We chose prosecco to start things off whilst we surveyed the menu. There was a lot of meat and fish dishes as well as some veggie ones too. My partner chose the Entrecote Frites, whilst I opted for the Giant Shrimp Thai Noodle dish. This came up rather large as you see from the photo. But finish it I did.

The service was fantastic and the food came out promptly. We both enjoyed what we ate very much indeed.

Dessert was shared and an eclair filled with lemon mousse and red fruits was presented on a stylish black slate.

Now, I am not sure whether I had a dodgy prawn or just the sheer volume of food that I ate, but within 30 minutes I was rather unwell. This can happen to anyone, in any restaurant, so I do not want to put anyone off going here or be unfair.

All in all we enjoyed what we ate at the time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    67
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice food with superb ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We went there for a business lunch and were sitting outside. The terrasse is nicely done despite the noise from the traffic. The service was friendly, although quite slow and some people at the table were served really late, which was really annoying. But now to the point: the food. Mostly meet, some fish - as the name would indicate but also one or two vegetarian alternatives. Ingredients were very good and it was very well prepared, including the vegetarian alternative. A very good surprise!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice location, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I loved to have lunch there, fresh bread to begin, good service, and tasty food, good place if you are exploring close to Rue du Rhone

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gabymoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner's passion evident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a very warm welcome and service was attentive all evening. Delicious first asparagus of the season; excellent pata negra; good range of fish and meat dishes with various tasty veal dishes. Good, varied wine list, and reasonably priced (for Geneva!). You can also eat at the bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Chic place with delicious Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very satisfied with their service, and the meals are delicious and original. Great place to make an event party, apero afterwork, and romantic dinner. Nice wine, nice mojito. tuna burger and filet de perch is become my favorite foods here. The waitress and the owner was very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ynerey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plancha also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to La Plancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing