We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$27.27*
and up
Geneva Pass
Ranked #12 of 149 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This renowned museum, universally acclaimed as one of the best in the city, provides a moving reminder of the importance of international humanitarian efforts.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I took a university friend from Edinburgh to the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement Museum. There are three areas in 'The Humanitarian Adventure' exhibition: 'Defending Human Dignity', 'Reducing Natural Risks' and 'Restoring Family Links'. The whole exhibition gives you a whole idea of what is happening in present world and what are the roles and responsibilities within the Movement. My favourite part of the exhibition was the Chamber of Witnesses, where you hear stories of survivors from the affected areas across the globe. I personally enjoyed my first visit to the museum after many years. A visit not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fumiaki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    172
    65
    26
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just been rennovated and updated”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a place that everyone should visit, just to appreciate what goes on in our world, and what a service the Red cross provides. The museum has recently been renovated, and is well worth a visit, if not more than one visit. There is quite a lot to absorb, not just in the content of the museum, but also the meaning behind the content. there are many interactive exhibits for children, to try and help them understand the underlying principles of the Red Cross.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dryrun3205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited this 'museum' which in fact is more of an exhibition, I would say, and we all found it well worth visiting. The exhibition was well organized insomuch we each had headsets programmed to your language and paced dependent on where in the 3 main branches of the exhibits you were standing so you could go as quickly or slowly as you wished. Our two teenage daughters enjoyed and took away different things from the experience and I was moved to tears at one stage.
The design of the 3 halls are taken from 3 different designers and so keeps you interested to the end.
We took an hour and a half to go around. You need a parking permit to park nearby, bought in a tabac or petrol stn. The kind traffic warden gave us a handwritten pass as we asked them where to park but this was unoffocial!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank daichef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was an amazing museum. Well curated and very moving. Thought we would spend maybe an hour and ended up spending about 2.5 hours. Get the Geneva card and you get in a good number of attractions free or reduced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jstoy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gimmicky and pretentious”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our guide book recommended this museum for its informative displays on the humanitarian work of the Red Cross over time. I don't know if that exhibition still exists but we were only offered the 'aventure humanitariane'. Everything in Geneva is expensive and this was too, but we were happy to pay for an informative exhibition. Museums have moved on from dry displays in glass cases and modern ones like to experiment with design, space and interactivity but this one takes this to another level. This exhibition is designed by three modern architects and full of 'meaningful' video displays and works of art which are presented with little or no contextual knowledge leaving you bewildered and baffled. On the positive side, there were some fascinating archives of the missing from World War 1 and moving testimonies of conflicts around the world. There was a good summary of the Rwandan genocide and a wonderful display of children's photos, affected by the atrocity. The artistic work of prisoners was also inspiring. Sadly, even here artistic priorities triumphed over visitor experience - only four seats to study the World War 1 records and only one seat ( a beautifully designed one) in front of each testimony so that you had a choice of missing it out or queuing up even when the museum was not very busy. The audio tour in English only worked off and on, providing frustrating morsals of interesting information when it chose to work. There was also a lovely archive film advertising the work of the Red Cross but no explanation of its origin or date. All in all we came out of the museum feeling cheated - they obviously have some fantastic material to share but sadly let architects and designers have full sway without giving historians a voice. If you love modern art and design then you might enjoy this. If you go to museums to try to learn and understand, give this one a miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing