We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Swiss covid QR code is required

CERN was the only place we visited that required the Swiss QR code. You can apply online by... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
978timd
,
Denver, Colorado
Nothing beats science!

We visited during covid/ Aug 2021. Not everything was open but nevertheless a tour that we manage... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2021
GoPlaces06815803121
Read all 1,548 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Geneva
from $121.38
More Info
from $110.23
More Info
from $97.99
More Info
Geneva City Tour
169 Reviews
from $61.24
More Info
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveler rating
980
397
116
41
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
980
397
116
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews particle physics guided tour days in advance world wide web big bang waiting list hadron collider science geek cutting edge interactive displays scientists lhc universe particles globe physical experiment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019

We were unable to make the 15-day window to reserve (for 4 people - maybe it is easier for a smaller number) for the individual guided tour- check out the CERN website for details on how to do that - but you can get a lot out of the exhibitions, particularly if you take the time to look at them and absorb a bit. By the time you see enough exhibits you will realize that understanding the basic mechanics of what CERN does is not really rocket science - it just takes extremely talented and dedicated scientists, engineers and technicians to make it happen and to understand what exactly is happening. The exhibits break down the whole process into comprehensible bits - if only our high school science teachers had been as effective. We saw several guided tours go by us and it is hard to imagine that the guided tour provides much more, and with the exhibitions you can spend as much time as you want and are not hurried along by a tour. There is a small boutique with souvenirs if you want to take home more than photos. The Globe across the street provides a short film in a planetarium style – unfortunately it does not run continuously so you would need to decide when you want to go and cross the street in time, and that is about all that is happening in the Globe, although there are some small exhibits. What is also possible in a visit to CERN, for those who really want to grasp the scale of the facility, is to go by car - or even bicycle (there is a mapped-out route for this) - to the entrances of several CERN sites where there are static displays describing what is going on beneath the surface, in the accelerators and detectors. Access to these sites is not available as part of standard visits, but the displays are quite informative and do not require accessing the site itself - they are located just outside the site. It is much the same information as one would get with the exhibits, but seeing them in place, where the activity is actually happening, is quite impressive.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Marshall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Pay attention to the website for booking. I booked exactly 15 days prior and had no problem. I was worried all this info might go over my head but the guide, who is retired from CERN, made it all understandable and repeated things more than once. There are a couple of films, one in 3D, that made things clear. I brought a passport just in case but did not need it. Wear closed toed shoes and arrive a bit early. No security check at the site.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank HollyS2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

We weren’t able to get one of the tours scheduled. BOOK MORE THAN TWO WEEKS IN ADVANCE. The free show is actually kind of fun. There is one, large, dark room (inside the globe shaped building right off of the tram stop). There are a few interactive things to play with, and a 5 minute show that explains what CERN is doing. It’s mainly a light show, but was cool to watch. Since it’s free, and easy to reach, I’d say it’s a must see in Geneva. There is a small gift shop on the other side of the tram tracks (at the tour entrance).

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank daverF7235CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

This would be appreciated by both adults and children. Free entrance to the museum and activity center.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank CFBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Cern is the european center for NUCLEAR RESEARCH. You must visit this place if you want to see how big can be a laboratory in collaboration with many countries.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank dimitris170
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews