We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for one night”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is one of many that are conveniently located right near to the train station. It's not the most inspiring hotel you'll ever stay at but if you want a budget stay it's worth a look.
The good points are location and the room having a small balcony and french doors that opened up for some fresh air. The hotel front desk staff were also very helpful, one lady helped us find somewhere we could go bowling for the evening and worked out how we could get there on public transport.
The downsides were all minor points, and it depends how much these things annoy you as to whether they would have an impact on your stay...There was no free wifi - the receptionist was quite candid when telling us that the hotel was locked into a contract with a service provider that meant they had to charge for use (and not cheap), and wouldn't be able to offer it free until 2015. There is however a PC in the breakfast room you can use for wired internet, but i didn't try it out.
It's an old hotel and the decor is equally as old. It's clean, but definitely not to everyone's taste.
The plug sockets in the room to charge your electrical appliances with were non existent, but even when we found something we could use hidden behind the bed it was the Swiss plug fitting, not the European standard, so be aware of that if you need to charge something up.
Breakfast was very plain, a range of items but unfortunately stone cold coffee and not much to fill you up for the day.
Overall okay for one night - not too expensive and a good location, but not a place you'd want to stay in for long.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is also on Geneva’s hotels in general: those of you who have been there know that all Geneva’s hotels are overpriced. This is because of all the trade shows and exhibitions there. The annual agenda of the shows leaves just few days without an event. So if you are just tourist or travel in individual business, you have to book many months in advance and pay 2-3 times more than the local hotel service is worth. Additionally, many hotels are spoiled and arrogant because of this. Coming to Geneva for 25 years I have been through many hotels, looking for “my” place I would like to return, and I have no definitive solution. But after trying various places of different categories, here is my advice: do not go for 5 star hotels, unless you are a snob. The only privilege might be a nice view on the lake but you have to pay for it at least twice the value. Do not go for 4 star hotels, because you will pay even 3-4 times the reasonable price. Try one of those 3 star hotels, also overpriced but not so ridiculously. The cost to service ratio is much more reasonable. Small 3 star hotels will accommodate you on a short notice. They always respond to your emails, knowing their limits they will still do their best to serve you best they can. Rooms are small, sometimes with old furniture and with no decor but usually clean and with all basic amenities. The advantage is that they are well located whenever you like to go. Local staff will not ignore you, if you walk from the station instead being Bentley or RR driven those few meters.
And here I go to the hotel Montana, which I used few times within last 5 years. 3 minutes’ walk from the train station, 3 minutes from the lake. Small, old, but clean and with helpful staff and reasonable priced as for Geneva. If you care for quiet room – ask for the room from the back. There is Internet access through the hotel but still cost a lot – use instead free Internet corner on the ground floor. Breakfast, quite OK, included in the price. Also you will receive, as from all other hotels in town, free pass for Geneva transport system, including water trams, which are not just mean of communication but also tourist attraction. And, by the way, you might still get from the airport to the town free, if you pick up a limited one-time pas from the machine at arrival hall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Old hotel with tired furniture and grimy feel. Too expensive. Location and breakfast OK but still not worth the money. They really need to invest and renovate, otherwise it will turn into a 1 star hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I spent 6 days at this hotel a week ago. If it was my choose, I'll NEVER choose it. Since it was selected by the employee of the travel division of the company where I work, there was no possibility to change the hotel. The hotel really needs renovation as soon as possible. The offer for breakfast is relatively limited. The room is spacious, but with old furniture. The bathroom also old and because of that it looks as not clean.
The only posistive thing is the hotel location, because all important places in Geneva are on walking distance - the main train station Cornavin, the old town...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacedonianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had one night in Geneva and since there was nothing else avaliable in our price range, we ended up staying at the Montana. The room was large, with a small table and chairs, it was old and dated, the bed was just two singles pushed together. The bathroom was OK, needed serious updating. The staff were helpful, the breakfast selection was good and the location of the hotel was also good. But overall it was a overpriced hotel that needs renovations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

service is minimum, the check out in the morning is a desaster, I do not habe anything more to say, the parking fees is 20 SF but at the parking place they ask 15 SF ??

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank roland f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank TSUR D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#52 of 109 in Geneva
291 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#49 of 109 in Geneva
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#30 of 109 in Geneva
511 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#29 of 109 in Geneva
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: rue des Alpes 23, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $136 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing