We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty meat”
Review of Golestan

Golestan
Ranked #828 of 1,687 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
461 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Tasty meat”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Always a bit wary when I order kebabs sober but thankfully these are 'real' kebabs. The meat is marinated and cooked over charcoal so there is great flavour and succulence. Little bit pricey but then this is Switzerland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Persian food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The Golestan is in an area that is rich in ethnic restaurants. It offers good Persian cuisine and is worth a visit. Try one of the daily specials.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerigrineSufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More of a canteen than a restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a little disappointing. My wife and I were looking for a nice, if quick, meal, before going to the cinema down the road. The restaurant came recommended (on here!). Unfortunately, it's more of a slightly up-rated kebab shop.
Service was very good, and brisk. But the food was lacking. We ordered a serving of Kebab Barg and a Chicken Fesendjan. They both came with a huge pile of (plain, boiled) rice. The kebab also had a roast tomato on the side, and some sliced raw onion. That was it for accompaniments. The prices, however, were for meals, not just a meat dishes.
If they can offer actual meals at the same price, which is to say the meat, less of the rice, maybe some bread, or a vegetable, at the same price, they'l have a winner. Alternatively, if they ca drop the prices a bit, so you can order a few sides and end up paying roughly the same, they'll also go far. As it stands, we felt like we'd had half a meal, however nicely cooked the two dishes were.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kleinemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good FOOOOD”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great food! Order ghormeh sabzi with a doogh :) They still need to work a bit on the service but overall it's a good address and very close to the station so great location too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nazila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Persian food!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I had tried a 3 other restaurants in Geneva but Golestan is the best so far. We tried Koobideh Kebab, Joojeh kebab, and gheymeh bademjan and they were all excellent. Very tasty, well cooked and the right taste. The rice was also well done and the portions were generous. The doogh was very good and handmade rather than industrial.

The personnel seemed a bit inexperienced but friendly and available.

Prices are reasonable for such a restaurant in Geneva and we spent 30 CHF each, including a good kashk bademjan to share as appetizer.

Overall a very good restaurant which I will certainly return to.

Helpful?
Thank shr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golestan also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Golestan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing