We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a diner within the restaurant which is cheaper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ox Steak House

Red Ox Steak House
Reserve with
Red Ox Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #682 of 1,667 Restaurants in Geneva
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
234 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“There's a diner within the restaurant which is cheaper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

There are actually two restaurants in one:
As you enter, to the left is the fancier restaurant.
To the right is the 'diner' version (no table-cloths, etc).
It's the same kitchen, and the diner is half-price...
I had the 'lieu noir' fish, which is the Friday special.
It was very good. The spinach was re-heated, which was a shame, as was the creme of asparagus soup (disappointing).
But Red Ox (diner) was inexpensive and very handy for the Adriatica Hotel.
Service is old-fashioned and excellent. That's what earns them the 4th star.
A great place to eat alone, because they have a bar with newspapers.
Lots of businessmen regulars having lunch solo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    11
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forchheim, Germany
Level Contributor
300 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very good steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

As the Red Ox is within walking distance from the Hotel Adriatica, where I usually stay, when I'm in Geneva, I went there several times, alone, or with colleagues. It offers a large selection of excellent steaks, good wines, and some traditional swiss dishes as well as seafood. At the bar (I was there in Summer the last time) they have a good selection of whiskies, the barman told me that this will be adjusted in autumn and winter towards an even bigger selection. The staff is professional and friendly as usual in Switzerland. Now the drawback on the whole deal is - you better take your boss to pick up the tab, as even for Geneva it's a bit on the pricey side :)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent steak house!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Recently visited it with my four kids and food was excellent. The lamb chops were incredible. I recommend the Sirloin steak, which was better than the TBone. They had kids menu, great steak for kids menu. Nice wine list.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
767 reviews
548 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“As Good as in Wyoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

As you enter the Red Ox Steak house, your eyes are drawn to a display on an iced counter of fresh big chunks of red meat that will make your mouth water and your appetite grow 10 times stronger. You are greeted by two professional elderly waiters who look like they really know what they're doing. They help you take off your jacket and hang it while you are looking around, observing that you are in a rather masculine setting of people in well dressed business attire. You are escorted to your simply set table covered by a white table cloth and napkins. I was a guest of a Swiss banker who seemed to be a regular. A fresh bread de campagne with butter was served as you appease your overwhelming hunger. After a brief presentation by the Maitre d', we placed our order. My host ordered "Gambas Sauvages d'Afrique" (giant shrimps of Africa) with an "infusion de carapaces" which he devoured elegantly, cutting and deshelling them in an artful manner. The manager of the resturant, Monsieur Aymard, personally suggested, when he heard that I am an afficianado of steak tartare, that it be made from a tenderloin cut. It came nicely mixed with well balanced ingredients accompanied by a hot sauce on the side, leaving me to spice it according to how well I can take hot pimentos. The french fries were browned to perfection. All this was watered down with an excellent wine, LE CHEVALIER NOIR (domaine du chateaux de collex), which is an assemblage of different grapes: gamaret, pinot noir and garanoire. What a meal, ending with two tarts, rhubarb and almond. This is a serious, elegant, and not snobbish restaurant. Bravo, Monsieur Aymard and staff.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ox Steak House also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Red Ox Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing