We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite hotel in geneva”
Review of The New Midi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Midi Hotel
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

this is by far my most favourite hotel in geneva. overall, geneva hotel scene is relatively horrible - rooms look dates, 60ies, they scream 'we were build in austin powers era'. and, you pay hefty price for this.
du midi is different - the hotel have very fashionable stylish rooms, with small design touches all around: starting from philip starck kartell chairs and up to red dot design award coffee machines.this is definitely the hotel, where you enjoy staying at room vs. using it only to have a sleep.
it also has very central location - steps from the lake, short walk from train station where most of the public transport is available.
important note the rooms could be on a smaller side, but in my personal priorities, design and quality of the room are much more important vs. size, so this one is my favorite hotel.
for those who want to have bigger rooms, could check dull, but spacious novotel centre or kempinski.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarek_Yaroslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 153 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

Although the room itself is comfortable, for the past 3 days there is construction work with loud banging and machinery noise in a room adjacent to the one they gave me. When I called the reception to complain about the noise and asked to be moved to another room they simply stated that the hotel was fully booked and that moving to another room would be impossible.

It is unacceptable that a hotel place a guest in such conditions, specially considering the price being charged for a supposed 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights. It's walking distance from train station cornavin. While it was difficult to locate on the map and taxis were unwilling to drive the short distance, it's relatively easy to find once you know that it is a block away from the four seasons on les bergues and by the main lake. Location wise it is great as rue de rhone and rue de confederation (main shopping and banking offices) is a three min stroll across the lake.

Reception was friendly and helpful. There is also free coffee/tea and wifi in the lobby and a starbucks next door for morning breakfast.

The signature was probably the quirky decor of old style human sized figurine on every floor. Overall, pretty comfortable business hotel in a central location by the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keiragopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Next to the River Rhone and a short walk to Cornavin station, the New Midi is in an excellent location. A small but comfortable reception area with free internet and WiFi.
The reception staff were friendly and efficient. Take up the offer of the free transport card during your stay and use the trams and buses.

I was in a room on the 7th (top) floor. To get there I had to use the tiny lift. It only holds 4 people, although on one occasion it was overweight with four of us in it.

The room was on the small side but clean and comfortable. The double bed and pillows were good. The wardrobe is small with no drawers so a long stay with lots of clothes and a large suitcase might be a problem in the room I had.

The bathroom was on the small side too but had everything I needed. The shower was adequate. It had a manual mixer rather than a thermostatic control so took a bit of fiddling to get the temperature correct.

I did not use the restaurant. Breakfast was an extra 23 CHF but myself and my colleagues decided to go to the Starbucks next door for coffee and a croissant for 8 CHF.

Value for money is difficult to measure in Geneva. It is an expensive city at any time and particularly with the Swiss Franc so strong at the moment.

I would stay at this hotel again and can recommend it if it fits in your price bracket.

Room Tip: River side rooms are likely to be less noisey. Go for 1st or 2nd floor and use to the stairs to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glitch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Excellent location, impeccable service, clean, great housekeeping staff, friendly front desk, very helpful, gorgeous room. Why not offer free Internet? The rooms cost enough that the Internet should be free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skedadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a very nice hotel!
They have a good Service, staff is efficient. It is comfortable, clean and bright. Breakfast is good ... although the room is small ... enough variety.
Nearby the Lake Geneva and I believe this is the strongest point ... In Geneva the place you are staying is very important for everything: get transportation, walking by, friendly environment, local people ...

I always enjoy stay here ...

I definitely recommend who is traveling for business in Geneva!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Perfectly located with a very helpful staff,I would stay here again. Take train from airport. Not taxi for $50.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#53 of 106 in Geneva
161 reviews
Hotel d'Alleves
#45 of 106 in Geneva
137 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#20 of 106 in Geneva
131 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Midi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Midi Hotel

Address: place de Chevelu 4, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel du Midi)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $194 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Midi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a square beside the Rhône, this privately owned 4-star hotel in the heart of Geneva is close to the shopping streets and historic city centre. Free Wi-Fi is available. Just 500 m from the main railway station and about 15 minutes' drive from the airport, the New Midi is easily accessible. There is also parking available next to the hotel. This is our guests' favourite part of Geneva, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The New Midi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Midi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing