We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favarger "fresh chocolate boutique", Geneva”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Geneva Tour

Sweet Geneva Tour
Ranked #16 of 28 Tours in Geneva
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A fun, informative and delicious way to discover Geneva's sweet scene (chocolate, pastry, gelato) in Carouge, an old neighborhood with a rich history, Italian flair and a charm all its own. Kerrin of MyKugelhopf has taken her popular sweet tours in Zürich to Geneva, revealing addresses of the city’s most passionate yet unknown artisans, who will share their craft with you. Enjoy behind-the-scenes visits and plenty of tastes along the way!
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Favarger "fresh chocolate boutique", Geneva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Favarger is certainly the best handmade chocolate boutique in Geneva.

Ask for Camille. He will enjoy to make you taste different chocolates and guide you in your sweet choice.

You will not regret, for sure !!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Chocolate - Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This tour is advertised as "Sweet Geneva" but it was much more.

We met our guide Sylvia near the fountain at the Place du Marché in Carouge. We started with a walk to a chocolatier, a tour and demonstration of how hand-made chocolates are produced, and of course the mandatory tasting of the results.

By the time we were done we had visited two more chocolatiers, a clock maker, a tea shop, a gelateria and the Carouge farmer's market. Sylvia has a personal relationship with many in the area and that made our visits to the inner workings of their businesses feel much less intrusive.

We also learned a lot about the history of Carouge and how it came to have a different look and feel to that of Geneva.

Plan for lots of walking so wear comfortable shoes. The tour took a good three hours to complete. A bonus for us was finding a very good Vietnamese restaurant for lunch near where the tour ended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank AlchemyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming, sweet and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a new and different way to visit Geneva for us, highly recommended. We have visited friends in Geneva before and always spend time around the lake and downtown, but we had never been to Carouge. What a charming little area, and such a fun way to visit it. With desserts! The guide, Sylvia, was very knowledgeable about the neighborhood's history and she took us into a great variety of sweet shops (small independent stores rather than the big industries) for ice cream, chocolate and cupcakes too. Really fun-and delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tour operators cannot afford to be unresponsive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I wrote well in advance (>2 weeks) in order to find out if a tour would be available for the time of my stay in Geneva, but never received a response. Out of curiousity, i checked and found out that the operator was active on the net during this time so i cannot find a justification for such substandard conduct. I wish i could review the tour itself, however, i feel i should share my negative experience all the same.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank yarrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I'd been living in the neighborhood covered in this tour for over a year and thought I knew it pretty well, but Kerrin introduced me to several new and wonderful spots for chocolate and sweets (most of which I've been back to since!). Her personal relationships with these artisans & her extensive knowledge about chocolate really made the tour a memorable and interesting experience. I'd recommend it to visitors and residents alike. Go hungry, you'll get stuffed to gills with delicious samples!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank testa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Geneva Tour also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Sweet Geneva Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing