We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geneva Hotel Conveniently Located”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Geneva Hotel Conveniently Located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the train station and just across the bridge from Central Geneva and many tourist attractions. Unfortunately, it is in the process of renovation. The concierge service was very poor: when asked to make a reservation, they said they would make them for 7:30. We arrived at the restaurant only to be told our reservation was at 9. The concierge never informed us they were booked until that time. Other reservations were made at truly mediocre places that almost the entire clientele was directed from the hotel. Kickbacks? On checkout, we were told we had a fee of $200 for a broken table. No manager was available to discuss this with so we had to pay it so we could make our train. On the upside, when we called, the manager credited our account for the table and apologized for the misunderstanding?!?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verachristenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mrs. Christenson,

Having solved this glass table top issue directly with you at your satisfaction, we feel disappointed with your reaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the future (as you said in our last email exchange), we hope to be able to give you a better impression about the Bristol Geneva.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    294
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
153
256
44
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Bristol is an older hotel with a lot of charm. The rooms are spacious and the service generally good. Breakfast is enjoyable with a harp playing. The restaurant menu is a little limited if you are staying for a long time, but the location close to both the lake and the old town is ideal. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for posting this comment.
Elegant, charming hotel with a great location this is the Bristol Geneva!
Regarding the restaurant menu, we made the choice to serve only organic and local products so we reduced the suggestions "à la carte" and change our carte 4 times a year.
Room service and classic meals give you extra proposals, but we take note of your remark.

Kind regards from Geneva and we look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

In terms of location you cannot fault the hotel, it is a stone's throw from the lake and near all the shops and restaurants. Additionally the staff are very friendly and helpful. What let's the place down are the services. Given the huge price tag of rooms I expected better Wi-Fi and cleanliness.

However the biggest frustration is the fitness centre. It's immaculate and well laid out, but no one uses it. Why? Because the steam room and Jacuzzi are mildly warm at best and for some unknown reason they have a stupid rule that bathing suits have to be worn in the sauna & steam instead of just a towel, which is ridiculous because 1. This is Switzerland and 2. There's no swimming pool so the majority of guests don't even think to pack a costume. A total waste of an otherwise lovely fitness centre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveburke82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this comment.
Regarding the Wi-Fi we wish to have more information about the issues that you faced as we changed 3 months ago the entire system with up to date technologies. We do not have other complains since this change.
Regarding the wellness centre issue, we understand your point of vue but we have to be careful since the area is also used by children and guests from all nationalities with different sensitivities.
I would appreciate to have a direct call with you to carry on this exchange.

Kind regards


Xavier Collange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Bristol in August and were really pleased. We had a great reception at check in and the room (on the 4th floor) was spacious and well equipped as was the bathroom, and the beds very comfortable. There was a fridge minibar, kettle and tea/coffee and a nespresso machine (although pods were 2sf each which seemed a little mean). There was a street view out of the window and I'm not sure there were any better views but this was OK with us for the money. The public rooms were warm and cosy and although we didnt use the restaurant it all looked lovely with a harp player for breakfast, there was also a spa which we didnt use,
The location between the rail station (from the airport and to Montreaux and lausanne) and a few steps from the lake was perfect for us and the cost was great value for geneva.

Room Tip: We were happy with 409
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captnkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We warmly thank you for taking the time to post your review.
"Great hotel and great location" this is exactly what the Bristol offers at only two steps from the lake!
We look forward to welcoming you during a future stay in Geneva.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a great room - very spacious and clean. The reception staff were helpful and corteous. Breakfast was excellent but the room small - we were lucky to sit straight away- they had a harpist to provide ambience- very swish!
The location was ideal - easy walk to the station and 2 minutes to the lake, 10 minutes to the old town
Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 993Rpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your comment.
Indeed the Bristol Geneva delivers an excellent service and an intimate and luxurious atmosphere set in the very heart of the city.

Kind regards from sunny Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel centrally located. Easy walk to lake, restaurants, shops. Rooms clean, updated, great size. Beds comfortable. We had three rooms and everyone was very happy. DELICIOUS breakfast in the morning! Concierge was helpful. A block from starbucks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your comment.
Great location with an excellent service... This is exactly what the Bristol offers!
And indeed gorgeous buffet breakfast served by the sound of our harpist... but do not forget that we also serve a "coffee express" at the bar at only CHF 10.- !


Kind regards from sunny Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

If I could give this hotel 4.5 circles I would.
I was in Geneva only for one night but I would have been comfortable staying at the Hotel Bristol for more.
The hotel is located in a nice to very nice location and as a woman traveling alone I felt safe staying there.
It was just a two minute walk to Lake Geneva and then over the bridge to the historic part of the city, relaxing and yummy restaurants and great shopping.
The room I stayed in was on a non smoking floor, huge, quiet and had a huge bathroom. Everything was very clean.
The hotel staff behind the front desk were multilingual and I had no problems communicating with them in English. They also gave great clear advice on where to go for an afternoon and evening in Geneva.

Room Tip: you can ask for smoking or non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location - only two steps from the lake - our rooms and the quality of our service.

We look forward to welcoming you soon, and remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing