We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in the heart of Geneva” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value in the heart of Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A short walk fromt he train station in an area with some nice restaurants, this hotel provides comfortable beds and friendly welcoming service.

The overall style is a little old fashioned for my perfect choice, but very tidy and clean. The bed was very confortable and the wifi worked well too. Modern, large flat screens, a sofa, well stocked mini bar all there to add to the overall comfort.

Breakfast was good - a good choice, really nice scrambled eggs and crispy bacon and friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieRich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review and we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Bristol Hotel Geneva.
We sincerely hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again, and we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Kind regards from Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    288
    63
    13
    7
See reviews for
143
246
44
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Everything is very dear in Switzerland, so it goes without saying, the hotel is expensive. Well located, close to the river, old town and business area. Rooms well appointed. We received a double upgrade as they were unable to honour our "no smoking" request. Our two rooms opened to the court yard which was rather noisy all night if windows were opened, which was necessary to reduce the heat. Beds and bedding luxurious and comfortable.We were able to secure a "free" parking spot in the court yard as it is "free" after 7 pm and on Sundays. Parking is a jaunt away if you are unable to find a spot around the court yard. Week days it is likely advisable to park in the assigned spots the concierge directs one to. (We did note an 80 swiss franc ticket on the vehicle beside us from the day time. ) The restaurant buffet breakfast was lovely. Cold and warm foods. Excellent. The harp player was an addition to the ambience. There is a Starbucks around the corner if one prefers to go "off campus" for an expensive latte. Lovely walk to the old town. All the top designers walkable, if you have this shopping in your budget. Chanel etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beyond5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

The feedback of our guests are very important to us, and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Looking forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Geneva, we remain

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
236 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has a great location, just half a block from the lake and the Mont Blanc bridge in downtown Geneva. The decoration is classic old world, but with very modern touches such as free high quality wifi, and a gym and jacuzzi in the basement. The room was super comfortable with a great bed, and we also enjoyed an excellent breakfast buffet, including live entertainment by a harp player. Very classy! I can highly recommend Hotel Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you took some time to rate us on Tripadvisor and also add this review.
Many thanks for your support and we sincerely hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just a few words, since there are so many reviews of so many hotels in Geneva -- there are so many hotel choices, it all depends on what you want. I've stayed at the De La Paix, Intercontinental and Bristol, and I liked the Bristol best -- it's not in the most picturesque part of town, but it is a block from the trolley and bus line that leads to the airport (10 mins) and Cornavin Station (five minutes), a few blocks from the lakefront -- stone's throw to the Wilson, in fact -- and a few blocks from UNHCR and other UN offices. And it's great for the money -- reliable wireless, very good breakfast included, and helpful staff. If money's no object, obviously there are other places you'd stay, but if you're in Geneva for a few days for a conference or business, the Bristol is a good place to end up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Three_0f_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel, and we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.
We also wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Bristol Hotel Geneva, and rate your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, we remain

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spend two night at Bristol Hotel and found it a good accommodation in Geneva.
Not really in the center, but however walking distance from it (20 minute walk).
Breakfast was very good and very pleasant with live music in the background.
Had the chance to try the restaurant room service of the hotel and was satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lp_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review.
We sincerely hope to see you back at the Bristol Hotel and remain in the meantime, at your entire disposal.

Kind regards from Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were very pleased with the location, modern, spacious and clean rooms. Reasonably good value for Geneva!
Our only issue was with noisy housekeeping activity starting early mornings! Windows were very well sound proofed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel, and we really hope that you had a nice trip back.
Many thanks also for posting this review, which is very rewarding. Indeed the Bristol Hotel delivers a "4 star superior" service and an intimate and luxurious atmosphere set in the very heart of the city.
Looking forward to having a chance to welcome you again, we remain

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Most hotels in Geneva offer excellent service but even so the Bristol stands out.

I have always favored the Warwick Hotel due to its great location but after not being able to get rooms there on my last trip it may be time to rethink.
Our handler recommended The Bristol and even though I was a bit skeptical at first, this quickly changed once I arrived at the hotel.

Location wise, the Bristol sits across from the Four Seasons Hotel and convenient to both the station and the old town.

While a bit smaller than the Warwick, the rooms are more elegant and the views a lot nicer - the rear part of the hotel has the view of the courtyard while the front faces the Rue du Mont Blanc. Additionally given that there is maid service twice a day, they are much cleaner and better appointed.
The breakfast room and the bar areas are also nicer both are more elegant and cozy at the same time.
The spa offers a sauna, steam room, a whirlpool and a work out room, all items that are lacking at the Warwick.

No doubt I have found a new favorite abode when in Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

A huge thank you for your support and for being one of our brand new ambassadors!
We sincerely hope to meet with you during your next stay at the Bristol Hotel; do not hesitate to contact us.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon, we remain

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing