We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Bristol is not in the top rank of Geneva hotels, where the best are some of the best (and the priciest) in the world, but it's perfectly OK. I was there on business. It's not a particularly large hotel a bit set back from the lake. The lobby was quiet when I checked in. Room rather small with no view at all, but very clean and well fitted out. Having lived and travelled a lot in East Asia, I was pleased to note that there was a Japanese style bidet WC in the bathroom - not a very high tech one admittedly, but a nice touch and not something you see that often in Europe. Wifi included in the room price which is good. I ordered a simple room service meal which was very nice but extremely expensive for what is was. But that's Geneva for you I suppose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WRC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your stay at the Bristol Hotel.
We are very happy to learn that you were generally satisfied and look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Geneva.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    289
    63
    13
    7
See reviews for
145
249
44
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is centrally located; journey from the airport to the city centre took only ten minutes, and then another ten minutes to walk from the train station to the hotel. The old town is just a bridge away from the hotel, and offers a great walk.

Just five minutes away is the famous Jet and lake, with views "to-die for". Only issue was that we got a room with a courtyard view, but service was very good. The amenities were also thoughtful, with even an umbrella in the room for those of us who travel without one.

Overall, value for money, and definitely a place I would stay again in Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sci10109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guests,

We thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and we hope that you had a nice journey back home.
Many thanks also for taking the time to post your comment on this platform, and for spreading the word! This is always rewarding to know that our guests appreciate our efforts.

We sincerely hope to welcome you soon.

Kind regards from Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've visited this hotel on a business trip, and even if the style of the hotel was a bit 'classic' for my taste, it did offer all the small details that made my stay perfect. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was excellent as it was located only a few minutes away from shops/cafes/restaurants. Overall my stay at the hotel felt like staying at a five star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria85n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this comment.
Indeed, the Bristol Hotel Geneva is all about Elegance and Space, Location and excellent Service.
We always care about the feedback of our guests and we are more than happy to count you among our ambassadors!

Kind regards from Geneva and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

i stayed in the hotel for two nights and the room was clean and spacious. The toilet was equally clean and the chambermaids were really nice. The staffs at the reception were pretty helpful too and even recommend where we can go for nice restuarants. The location were pretty good and was just minutes away from the train station. The hotel is a nice place to stay in Geneva and really appreciate the help from the hotel staffs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsf_tan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this comment.
The feedback of our guests is very important as this helps us to improve our services.

Kind regards from Geneva and we sincerely hope to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Fortunate to get an upgrade to a superior room. It's was a huge room with a high ceiling and a Nespresso machine which I have at home. A massive king size bed and de ent bathroom. Also had BBC1 usefule for the news and watching when I need to go brain dead. The staff were outstanding in particular a young chap called Max who helped us with our restaurant reservations for Geneva on a Saturday night. He was an exceptional chap, very friendly and easy to speak to given my terrible command of French. All other staff we had dealing with we're also very courteous and friendly. Also the room was refreshed soon aft we went out as we had to come back later that morning to pick up our cameras. Great hotel and would definitely stay here again. Well done Briston Geneva and thanks

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pressendye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel, and we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.
We would also like to thank you for taking the time to post this review and for being one of our new ambassador!

Hoping to welcome you again, we remain,


Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just a short walk from the railway station this is a clean and convenient hotel.I was allowed to check in early,which was greatly appreciated after a twelve hour flight.The room had free wifi,flast screen TV and a lovely bathroom.The buffet breakfast was excellent including a range of pastries and bread,bircher muesli,cheeses and cold meats and was constantly replenished....quite important when buffet seems to stir up gluttony in too many people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Hoping that you wished to review the Bristol Hotel in Geneva (and not Zurich!), we thank you for your great support and for taking the time to post this comment.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back, and we remain with our


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here while visiting family who lives in Geneve. The staff is pleasant and very attentive to the guests needs. Room was comfortable but could use a little updating in furniture and carpet. The bathroom was wonderful and has an American style shower stall and a tub with Euro style shower. The location is excellent and easy to get anywhere you want to be in Geneve with lake boats around the corner, bus stop outside and train station a couple blocks away. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. I was sad the Nespresso machine in my room did not work and wasted one of the pods - which they charge you for. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolManager, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting this review.

We are very happy to learn that you were generally satisfied with the Bristol Hotel Geneva and its services.
However we took note of your remark regarding the need of refreshment of the carpet and furnitures. We would like to inform you that since last year we already renovated a large number of rooms and we regret that you did not stay in one of these new rooms.
We continue the renovations this year with a new decoration matching successfully classical style and soft tones more actual.

Next time you make your booking at the Bristol Geneva, do not hesitate to contact us in order to enable us to accommodate you in one of our refurbished rooms.


Kind regards from sunny Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: rue du Mont-Blanc 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#11 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#26 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of the city, just steps away from the waterfront and historic Old City attractions, the Bristol offers a discrete refuge for you to retreat back to at any hour, day or night: cocoon in the reassuringly comfortable rooms and suites, hang out at the bar, experience the chef's fresh and innovative fine-dining at Cote Square, or steal away to our Spa and Wellness Centre dedicated exclusively to total relaxation for both body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing