We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel the heart of Geneva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Alleves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel d'Alleves
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel the heart of Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel "Hotel D'Allèves" is for those who prefers the location and a moderate rate and who are unpretentious. Perfect location, excellent Pizzeria right next to the hotel which made me feel that I am in Milano not Geneve. An excellent wine bar by the lake less than 300 meter from the hotel and much more.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms facing south, much quieter traffic although that area is generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captabdlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    59
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
37
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed at d' Alleves on almost all my visits to Geneva since 1973... 100 visits if not more.
I would say that d'Alleves with its less than 50 rooms is a big boutique hotel...and it was well before the term was invented. Patiently, the now gone Mr d' Alleves did collect a great number of paintings and ancient carpets which you will find in the corridors and in each room. Everything is very nice even the paintings on the ceiling is some rooms.
All rooms are quite nice even though different in shape. The breakfast is very good.
Of course , being nostalgic I felt sorry no longer to find the reception on the side of the little tree shaded piazza at the back of the hotel. But I should not complain. The new reception is very nice and the staff very efficient.
So why not five stars ? Well I will revert to 5 stars instead of 4 when they replace the Jack Daniels and the Johnie Walker Red label in the minibar. OK they can keep the Jack Daniels , but please get rid of the Red Label. I have not met anybody lately who does not consider it as one of the worst whiskies . Let's wake up. The sixties are gone, and the Red Label should be gone too except in motels...
Sorry d'Alleves , but I mean it...and no, I do not agree with the previous reviewer who prefers plush hotels.... I don't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Location is great, just a minute walk from the lake and 7 minutes walk from the Central railway station. Althiough the room was spacious, the look was totally out of date and does not agree with the posh feeling of Geneva.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank seasatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It was my second visit at this wonderful hotel - great location, best staff ever, beautiful rooms. Really feels like home away from home (but a clean and decoreated home...) I will defenetly come back again and again. Dana

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I travel to Geneva regularly on business and this is always my preferred hotel. The staff are welcoming, the location is excellent, the breakfast is good, and the rooms are quite spacious, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanD186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A very comfortable hotel with a super location in the city centre of Geneva. Very good service. The room was nice and spacious. Breakfast was also quite good, although as usual in Geneva, quite pricey. Still; all in all a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors (6th and 7th floors) have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Hotel D'Alleves is quaint, a bit small, but very comfortable. The rooms are nice, showers great. Location is super, central to the city, shopping, and tourist areas. The front desk taff is super, very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler96360805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
The New Midi Hotel
#45 of 108 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#50 of 108 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#8 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#15 of 108 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Alleves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Alleves

Property: Hotel d'Alleves
Address: Rue du Cendrier 16, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Geneva
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Alleves 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel d'Alleves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel s Alleves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing