We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double private room for one person.. good location but fairly expensive.”
Review of City Hostel Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Hostel Geneva
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I had a 7 hour (night) layover in Geneva and stayed here for about 80 swiss francs. The halls were a bit musty and the room was small with two uncomfortable beds, a sink, and no bathroom. The location was great, walking distance to the train station! And there were a number of restaurants,bars and amenities in the area. The reception was helpful with my late check-in and there was also free wi-fi which was provided upon check-in along with City map and key card for 24 h building access. I would stay again, mainly because it is one of only two budget traveler spots! They were sold out when I booked so book in advance as this type of accom is hard to come by in thsi expensive City!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjcj1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 440 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's a nice place. Close to Gare Cornavin and walking distance feom a tram stop. Rooms are basic, but neat. Toilets are shared but are clean and well maintained. There is a kitchen on every floor, so you can cook, a gray way to save on Geneva. Staff are friendly. You can also buy discount price swiss knives and watches here, in addition to chocolates. You cannot find something this cheap in Geneva, certainly not near the city business district.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anoop350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was short stay but it was nice to stay there , staff were very helpful and polite. excellent location , it just walking distance from railway station "Gare Cornavin" which the city center, just 6 minutes traveling time from the airport . Nice hostel atmosphere to know many friends , it was my first time to stay in hostel ever but i like it so much , my only problem to find adapter to charge my mobile Hehehehe.

overall experience , for sure if i went back to Geneva i will stay there

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMICHAEL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This may come from ignorance because it was my first experience staying in a hostel. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I had booked a private room. The room was nice. There were fresh towels provided. I wasn't sure if the sheets were clean. They were definitely holey. As I had been traveling around staying in hotels, I didn't bring a blanket or anything of my own to sleep in. So I guess what I'm saying is, this is a nice hostel. It's clean and, for Geneva especially, very well priced. But if you have never stayed in a hostel before, don't expect it to be like a hotel, even if you have a private room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Literally only there for 8 hours as we checked in late and departed early but from what we saw it seemed nice. Was clean and a lot quieter than you would expect of a hostel. Rooms were adequate, however the towels were unusually small (more like bath mats). Staff were friendly and in an expensive city was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We don't normally do the hostel thing, but opted to stay here for the first two days of our two week honeymoon in Switzerland. We don't regret it! Matter of fact we wonder why we don't do this more often! We got a private room for two. The linens were soft, showers hot with plenty of pressure and the place was surprisingly quiet and very clean. The lobby is more modern hotel than hostel and we appreciated the free amenities including free travel pass, kitchen on each floor and vanity stations in each bath. The hostel is about 10 mins was to the lake, just around the corner from a delish creperie and 8 mins walk from the train station. Considering what you can spend on a room here, I'm not sure why you would stay elsewhere! After all, who visits Geneva to sit in their room?

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A smart, clean and central hostel with friendly and helpful staff.

I stayed here on my first visit to Geneva and couldn't fault it.

There is a nice bright reception area and I had a private room with two single beds to myself - perfectly clean and comfortable night sleep. The bathroom directly across the hall meant it was practically en suite - they were very clean and the shower was great.

You can hear people in the corridor in the morning if they're noisy, but only a problem if you want to lie in.

The staff provided a useful map they'd produced with sights to see as well as suggesting how to get around.

The location is very central, with plenty of shops and supermarkets on Rue Lausanne. You can walk to the main train station in a few minutes and is ideally located for a short tram ride to the United Nations.

On the day I left I wasn't flying until 7pm and could get a padlock for there lockers for 10 franc deposit to leave there all day.

Good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benfolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 106 in Geneva
1,318 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#44 of 106 in Geneva
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#78 of 106 in Geneva
182 reviews
Hotel Carmen
#63 of 106 in Geneva
80 reviews
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Geneva

Address: rue Ferrier 2, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: $37 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hostel Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your City Hostel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing