We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strategic location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“strategic location and helpful staff”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my business trip and left my luggage for about 4 days free of charge since I wanted travel light to Italy for vacation but should return to my home town via Geneva. The hotel is located next to train and bus station and so many restaurants, money changer, dept store, etc everything you need is on walking distance!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikacika_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    98
    71
    21
    19
See reviews for
14
52
35
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hotel Le Montbrillant was chosen from my company for a Business Trip to Geneva. I stayed two nights in a Studio (with Kitchenette, Sofa etc.) at the rooftop of the studio part of the Hotel. The room was unusual large for a Geneva Hotel and on a first sight I was a little bit disappointed. Not because of the size, but because of the furniture and the overall look. In general the room was clean, only a the sofa coating had some stain on it and the walls did not look very new. But I had about 4 beds in the room to enjoy for myself. Which means that there would also be space for a larger group of people.

The big advantage of the Hotel is its central location just behind the main train station Cornavin. But at the same time this is also a little bit of a disadvantage, because you will hear some noise from the trains and the ongoing work at the nearby logistics center during the night. But you can reach most of the Tram connections and the trains immediately.

I did not take breakfast at the Hotel, which they offer for a modest price (for Geneva). Neither did I decide to take dinner there, but instead went to one of the nearby restaurants at the other side of the train station or in the city.

Overall it was a good Hotel, which convinced me with the large room and the good WiFi connection (you have a Swisscom Hotspot in the Hotel, where you get a voucher for). Otherwise the personnel was really friendly and helpful. Some minus points for the decoration of the appartment wing of the Hotel (which is not reachable through the main entrance) and the furniture of the studio itself. The overall impression is just not that of a 4-Star hotel but rather that of a good 3-Star.

Room Tip: If you intend to take a Studio ask for a "quiet room" because the apartment building is fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darktemptation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's hard to get a better location than this hotel, if you're looking to be near the trains/buses, restaurants, etc. It's very practical. Also, the staff are very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. Breakfast is fine and I'm told by a friend who lives in Geneva that the restaurant is good for dinner. It could use some touching up and attention to details in the room. The lighting is terrible. It's like you're in a restaurant with dim lighting...great for a romantic night out, terrible if you want to read or get some work done. The room is a bit cramped and it was warm and stuffy, even though I don't think the heat was on...had to have the window open in November. However, nice linens - it's a mixed bag. Main problem was the lighting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull. East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very friendly staff. Great location next to Gare Cornavin and transport links.
Good food in restaurant. Try the beef bourgignon and the pizzas
Breakfast a bit basic. Ask for a room with a view of Mont Blanc and the lake
Not really 4 stars though. We had a room at the very top which has a convenient kitchenette.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with view onto lake and Mont Blanc (station side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanland73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

it is the nearest hotel from the train station. facade looks appealing with a cute restaurant and cafe. lobby was appealing nice too. staff was nice, although we encountered some communication problems. the taxi that we requested the night before never came. probably some misunderstanding with the date /time of pick up.

the room we had was on the fifth floor, elevator only goes up to the fourth. Good thing there was someone to assist with our luggage. the studio was large, beds were comfortable. two things i didnt really like were, first the airconditioning wasnt working, so we had to open the windows, but then we could hear the noise from the train station/ rail road tracks. second, the bathtub was way too high, even with the foot stool. i almost slipped as i was trying to get in the tub. not safe for small children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked this hotel as it was near the central train station for my early start the next day. Room was small, window did not have shutters or curtains, fortunately it faced north and was small. Did not hear the trains as other reviewers have reported but I was on the side furthest away from the train station. Due to its proximity to train station there are a few unsavoury characters about, I was not troubled but may need to be considered for families or females alone. Restuarant was of acceptable standard, buffet breakfast adequate if unexciting.
Would I stay there again, yes if I was just passing through. For longer stays look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the north side and not the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had booked this room for a business trip in Geneva, and it definitely is not a 4 star hotel. It is right next to the train station, and I could hear the train all night. The area is not very nice, no where near anything half decent. The breakfast buffet was so overpriced and terrible as well.

The only upside to this hotel was how massive the room was.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy90025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
408 reviews
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#34 of 106 in Geneva
784 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#27 of 106 in Geneva
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#57 of 106 in Geneva
268 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#55 of 106 in Geneva
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant

Property: Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant
Address: rue de Montbrillant 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown close to Geneva railway station and in direct connection with the airport and public transportation TPG. The heart of the Montbrillant beats to the rhythm of the business district, the lake Leman and its fountain. Hotel Montbrillant is welcoming you in: • 82 rooms with air-conditioning including 58 "Business" and 24 "Superior". • One restaurant and one Parisian brasserie. • One conference room for your meetings and banquets: 50 pers. max. • One wine cellar with over 140 references for your appetizer and cocktails. • One Wellness centre: Massages, reflexology, lymphatic drainage and reiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Montbrillant Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing