We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap near the city centre”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We were disappointed with this hotel which we staryed for 1 night in June 2007. The carpet in the room was badly stained and the breakfast which was served in the room was poor, just a croissant, jams and a drink . Good city centre location and fairly quiet. Difficult to find with only a small sign and even when this was found you still have to find a lift to you to reception.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Derekstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 445 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2007

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Central for two nights in early June 2007. It's a bit of a walk with luggage from the train station (about 15 minutes). The people at the front desk were very nice and spoke English. We loved the breakfast they served in the room that included croissants, and other breads, coffee, tea, and orange juice. We stayed in the "compact" room to save money. They aren't kidding about the compact part. It was very small, but clean. We had a small balcony, which was nice. When we entered our room, oddly enough we had to walk through the bathroom to get to our room. It gave us a good laugh, but it wasn't a big deal. The hotel is in the old town of Geneva, which is personally my favorite part of Geneva. It is literally steps away from the most popular shopping area of the city, which we found wonderful! Also there are two good restaurants just next door to the hotel that serve great pizza, salads, etc. I would definitely stay again, but I may opt for a bigger room.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in May of 2005, and I can say without reservation that this hotel is an excellent choice. Geneva is an expensive (and wonderful) city, and this hotel is a good choice, especially considering the price. We stayed in a room for three persons, and, while the room was not that large, it was certainly adequate. The beds had the down comforters that seem to be standard issue in Switzerland. The included breakfast is delivered to your room and was very good. The hotel is in a very convenient location; a short walk from both old town and Lake Lehman. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patzeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it was just what we needed. The location was great and the staff were very friendly. I stayed with my 10 yr old son and we were able to rent a video for the evening to watch in our room which was handy. The restaurants just below are good too. The breakfast was quite basic but for the price this hotel was fine and I would def recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelwithakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

My fiancee and I stayed in the Hotel Central for three nights this summer in Geneva, and it was part of the reason why Geneva became one of our favorite cities in Europe. The hotel has a great location, right in the heart of downtown and quite close to many of the tourist attractions of the old city. Our room--not sure if all do--had a relatively small balcony, which was nice for ambience. Breakfast is served to you in your room, at whatever time you arrange, and the staff was quite friendly. Finally, the price was quite reasonable, particularly for Geneva, which has some of the most expensive hotel rooms in the world.

The room is not enormous, but it is comfortable for two, particularly if you're going to spend 90% of your waking hours out enjoying the city. It is also a tad odd in that you enter the main room through the bathroom (using the bathroom when other guests are in the hallway right outside your door can be weird). Also, I've never seen a toilet that doubles as a paper shredder!

It's not luxury, but I'd strongly recommend Hotel Central for budget travelers who are mainly use their accommodations as a place to sleep and have breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GelEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We really liked this hotel. It was very quaint and in a lovely part of the city. We booked the Junior Suite and it was very nice. The bed was quite comfortable. It was nice having the sitting room attached as I was sick for the first couple of days, so I had more room to stretch out. For the money this was a good deal. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but fresh and tasty. It was also nice having an English channel on the tv to give me something to watch. All in all, if you're on a budget this is a good choice, and being in the old part of the city was just a bonus. Less than one block from good shopping and good restaurants. We ate in the restaurant downstairs and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AloraDanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Hotel central in Geneva for two nights in September 2006, as part of a 60 day trip through Europe, on a (somewhat) limited budget.

We arrived by plane from UK after 11pm and whilst we found the hotel easily enough, we found it difficult to gain access. Seems that the buzzer didn't work on the front door. We then tried to call the hotel but the telephone prefix was somewhat tricky to work out, but thankfully we met a very helpful lass in the street who advised me of the number to use.

Once inside, we had a compact room, which was, well, compact really. Nevertheless, the room was clean, with no sign of 'foot fungus' and the European breakfast of Hot Chocolate (or coffee or tea), juice and pastries, was tasty and served promptly each day.

The hotel location was very good, with easy access to the old town, the lake, train station, etc.

Overall, if we went back to Geneva, we would stay at the Hotel Central again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roymaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#77 of 106 in Geneva
181 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 106 in Geneva
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel'Esperance
#38 of 106 in Geneva
277 reviews
Hotel Des Horlogers
#1 of 1 in Plan Les Ouates
106 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#24 of 106 in Geneva
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing