We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Central
Nearby Hotels
$194
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$522
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$168
$139
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel N'vY(Geneva)
$384
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$422
$302
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$370
$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$289
$217
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveler rating
141
192
105
39
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
192
105
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townseveral floorsbreakfast is servedsmall balconycommercial buildingbreakfast in bedbel airan expensive citysimple breakfasttrain stationfantastic locationwalkable distancetea coffeedouble bedtop floorlake genevapublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 497 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here in late January for two nights. We only booked a standard room, so we knew the room would be fairly average. Everything was satisfactory, and the hotel has many pluses. However, some small things irked me greatly.

The pros were:
- Comfortable bed and pillow (very important for hotels in my opinion!);
- Had a DVD player--Not many hotels have DVD players, but I thought this was great as I tend to travel with a couple of DVD's to watch on my laptop, so it was awesome to put it on in the room;
- Hotel staff were really friendly and accommodating, especially the two younger male staff members;
- Breakfast was served in the room which was really convenient for us;
- Location was fairly central, with the river just a couple of streets away;
- Our room also had a balcony!

The cons were:
- Bathroom was a nightmare. The toilet lid kept coming off, and the shower was incredibly tiny. They also had a shower curtain which was really hard to keep from sticking to you when you're trying to shower. Also, the shower head kept falling off;
- No shampoo/conditioner products, and no fridge;
- Coffee was a little disappointing--didn't really taste like coffee at all.

Despite the fact that it's a no-frills hotel, we really enjoyed our time there. Thanks Hotel Central!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your comments which were very constructive for us.
Please have a look at our website and you will see that we offer other rooms/suites with more facilities than the small budget room you stayed in.
Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of help again for your next stay.

With regards
Erik Gangsted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice overall place in the heart of Geneva. Clean,beds are small but that's just European. Free continental breakfast with tea and crassaunts. Lighting was ok but that didn't matter too much.Staff very friendly gave us plates and forks for dinner (when asked) Also free movies to rent in the front desk (not all French). Definitely would stay here again on my next visit to Geneva.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank BobLucky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hi BobLucky3

Glad you liked the place and that you would stay with us again.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Hotel is located on the east side of Lake Geneva across the Lake from the Central Train station straight up the Rue du Mont Blanc. The Hotel staff was warm and kind. The area around the hotel is full of life, restaurants and shops. There is also a Coop supermarket one block over from the hotel. The bed was comfortable.

The only draw back for me was the fact that the toilet was outside of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Waterlaw

Merci de vos commentaires très agréables et nous étions contents que notre hôtel vous a plu.
Votre chambre avec douche et lavabo dans la chambre mais les toilettes dans le corridor, partagé par seulement 2 chambres, est notre chambre budget, très aimé mais aussi simple et bon marché. Nous avons des chambres un peu plus chères avec leur propre salle de bains.

Merci encore et meilleures salutations
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

very nice family-run hotel right in the center of Geneve, next door to a number of good dining points, the Old city, and most transportation nodes.
The hotel is very clean, everything necessary is present, I specially recommend the apartments 41 and 45, that are a one-bedroom apartments with a well-equipped kitchen.
The only downside is the construction site nearby, but hopefully the works will be over some day...
Thanks to owners and all the staff of Hotel central and looking forward to staying with you next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumpleteazer495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Kaylie M

Thank you for your lovely comments which I have passed on to the staff.
Look forward to maybe seeing you again

With best regards
Erik Gangsted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the heatwave in July 2013. Looking at the average temperatures, we decided not to book a room with air conditioning, which we ended up regretting so very much!
Our room was very small. It just fit our bed and the breakfast table. The bathroom is the place you enter from and gets very steamed up.
The toilet has a shredder inside and makes startling loud noises, even when no one has used it.

Because it was so hot, we placed a fan in front of the open window all night to at least try to get some air. Unfortunately the area below was very busy, so loud drunk people yelled all night long, until the early morning trash collector car came. Sleeping was very hard, especially since it was also 30C at night. This is not the hotel's fault though.

The location was excellent; very central.

The breakfast is also quite nice; a different bun with jam each day and a croissant, plus coffee and orange juice per person! Very much appreciated in a city were getting a kebab costs €15!

The staff was amazing. Everyone was very friendly; they had maps and advice for us and even et us borrow an adapter when we discovered the one we brought didn't fit.
If it hadn't been so hot (or we had invested in a room with air conditioning), this would have been a very nice stay! As it was, it still makes for fun memories, and we would definitely return here (preferably when it is cooler...).

Room Tip: Get a room with air conditioning! It is very loud outside.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Eva T

Thank you for your very honest report on the hotel.
Yes being so well located also has its downside....a bit noisy at night when people are in the streets.
Glad to hear your stay was otherwise comfortable and we hope to see you back...in the winter maybe!

With best regards
Erik Gangsted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews