We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service, great location”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed for a couple nights in this hotel with my parents and grandma. We had a great experience, it's a family hotel, where the service is personal, delicious home-made breakfast and very clean rooms, even when they are a little rustic and simple, but with a warm sensation in every detail. Great location! very close to the centre and near fro restaurants, shops and transportation stations. If you want a good hotel, this is a great option, not so expensive as others hotel in this town! try it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear jenbon

Thank you for taking the time to put your feelings about our hotel on tripadvisor.
We are a small family run hotel and were very happy to get your positive feedback, and especially to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 445 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location and super friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are small, spare, definitely no frills. If you're not going to hang out in the room, it's no problem. Breakfast (croissant, roll, jelly, butter, juice, coffee/tea) in our room was nice but the coffee was often just warm. The staff was so wonderful it was easy to over look the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello there

Thank you for your positive remarks and that you enjoyed the stay.
I have told the staff that you congratulated them on their friendlyness...thank you.
I have spoken to our breakfast lady and we will on work on making sure the coffee is really hot.
We hope to welcome you back another time.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pluses: This hotel was located centrally. The man running front desk was nice.

Minuses: The room and bathroom were dark and dirty. The front door entry system never worked. We stayed for 2 nights and were planning to stay an extra two nights later that week. But, we cancelled the second reservation and booked at a newly renovated hotel for much cheaper. I understand that this is a budget hotel, but we were able to find a very nice place for cheaper so either this hotel needs to renovate, or charge much less per night.

Summary: I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Claire S

Thank you for your comments as it is only through feedback that we can improve.
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the stay.
It is true that the rooms are not new but I was surprised and regret to read that the room was not up to standard as this is not normal and I have personally followed up with housekeeping.
You are the first to tell us that there is a problem with the door but I will check tonight....thank you for letting us know...
Once again we regret that we were not up to your satisfaction

With regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent three nights in this genuinely centrally located hotel. Old town, the shopping district, Lake Geneva, restaurants, public transport hubs - all are just a couple of minutes walk in each direction. A perfect location to explore the city of Geneva from. The hotel itself is fairly basic, but we got a free upgrade to an apartment room (apparently because we'd booked through their website) which was very welcome. A simple breakfast was provided in the room daily, and our stay included a tram/bus pass to travel anywhere within the city (including as far out as the airport and CERN). Reception staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. Recommended, as long as you're not looking for something particularly fancy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Chris U

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay at our family run hotel.
We try to upgrade guests who book directly with us but due to our high occupancy year round not always possible. We are pleased that you enjoyed the appartment.
Being in the centre is an advantage and we are pleased that you were able to visit Geneva properly with the free travel card.

Thank you again and maybe we can welcome you or your friends to Hotel Central in the future.
Erik Gangsted
Owner
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

One of the best things about this hotel is the location - it really is "Central" - just minutes from shops, restaurants, trams, buses, The Lake & The Old Town. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 nights in March and booked a standard room. The room was quite small with a tiny shower/toilet. As others has said, you open the room door straight into the shower room. The mattress was VERY firm and the lighting was low energy making the room look dingy. On the plus side the room was very clean, we had fresh towels every day and there's soap, shower gel & a hairdryer. We knew when we booked it was only a 2 star hotel and the price was reasonable for Geneva but If I stayed there again I would pay the extra for a superior room. Breakfast is brought to your room on a tray at a pre-arranged time to suit you. It consisted of fresh croissants, rolls, jam, butter, tea or coffee & juice. We had no complaints about the breakfast.. The hotel gives your a travel pass you can use on buses, trams & the ferry across the lake, we used this extensively (it probably saved us a fortune).

We managed a trip to the United Nationals building, you need your passport to gain entry and there's a charge for the guided tours - definitely worth a visit.

Restaurants are expensive compared to Britain but we expected this. Anyone wanting to buy an expensive designer watch will be spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear offonhol

As the frequent reviewer you are we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are trying to be environmently friendly but I agree the long life bulbs are often too soft and dimm.
If you stayed in one of our compact rooms even the standard room at a little more would have pleasantly surprised you.
Than k you again and we hope you had a Happy Easter.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The best part of the hotel was the reception staff. They were incredibly informative, kind and would go out of their way to help you with any questions that you may have. The hotel has a great central location within walking distance of the old town of Geneva. The rooms are basic but nothing special. They are very small and cramped but as long as you do not plan to spend much time at the hotel this is not a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Sean O

Wow did you make our staff happy!!
It is so nice when they get recognition for the great job that we think they do....
Most guests forget to mention the "software" of the hotel...which is so important!
Your message has ofcourse been passed on and we all look forward to maybe one day be able to welcome you back here.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

No questions about location, but these is all advantages. The room is small, the lights in the room is not enough. Breakfast is very modest. So I believe that for these money you can find bertter hotel, possibly a slightly further from the center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rain_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Rain_Moscow

Thank you for your comments.
We are a simple family run 2 star hotel very well located.
We try to keep our prices as competitive as possible, bbut I must agree with you Geneva is a very expensive city as you have mentioned in most of your reviews on the city.
We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back in a more comfortable room.

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hotel Central
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#77 of 106 in Geneva
181 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel'Esperance
#38 of 106 in Geneva
277 reviews
Hotel Des Horlogers
#1 of 1 in Plan Les Ouates
106 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#24 of 106 in Geneva
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: rue de la Rotisserie 2, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family-owned hotel in the heart of Geneva, at the foot of the Old Town, and a 3-minute walk from the lake. All rooms, studios and apartments are equipped with cable TV, DVD player, free WiFi/Broadband, telephone and fax/modem socket. Inclusive continental breakfast served in all rooms and apartments.Both short-term and long-term stays are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing