We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, service, and lake vistas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
Ranked #26 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, service, and lake vistas”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

First stay at Beau Rivage, would certainly go back and heartily recommend to others. The location is fantastic. Right on the promenade, and just a short walk to old town, the park, and the botanical gardens. The hotel common areas are lovely and welcoming. The room was a nice size for European standards. We did not have a lake view room, but the fantastic bed, automatic shades, and spacious bathroom more than made up for the lack of views. As LHW members/for my birthday, there was a lovely flower arrangement in the room, bottled waters, and a gift box of delicious, assorted macaroons.

Service was excellent: we experienced the hotel staff as warm, helpful, and attentive, from the doorman to reception, as well as at the Terrace Bar and Chat Botte restaurant. Drinks at Terrace Bar in the evening provide a great opportunity to relax and people-watch over the promenade (highly recommend the Fresh Idea cocktail). Lunch at Chat Botte and dinner at Patara were both quite good. Breakfast at the hotel was nice, but a sparse selection for the steep price of 47 CHF per person. This was included in our hotel package, thankfully.

Overall, we felt we had a world class experience at a world class hotel. Hope to stay here again someday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrmpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeauRivageGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I personally wish to thank you for your nice feedback on your Beau-Rivage’s experience. It is always lovely to read our guest felt in our property. It drives us towards excellency which is our day-to-day.

We are delighted that our Staff and service make your stay at Beau-Rivage enjoyable. We have well noticed your remark regarding the breakfast which is very useful. I will review personally the selection of our breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to making your stay a memorable experience again.

Ivan Rivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    54
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
97
27
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently returned to the Beau Rivage Hotel in Geneva after an extended period of absence and it really felt like coming home. I simply cannot fault this hotel, in terms of the service, the accommodation or the food, and, of course, its position is second-to-none in Geneva. My room was simply gorgeous and I love the sweeping view over the lake, particularly at sunset, from the little wrought iron balcony with an ice-cold glass of Champagne in my hand! One of the things I cherish most about this hotel is its ambiance - an atmosphere of peace, calm and tranquillity always pervades every corner. It is always so quiet and I sleep blissfully well here. From the moment I walked back into the lobby, with its lovely marble and tile decoration and its little tinkling fountain in the middle - and its air of calm and cool on a hot and humid September day - I felt as if I had come home. Very happy memories came flooding back. It certainly won't be so long before my next visit to the exquisite Beau Rivage Hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake is an absolute must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwisewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeauRivageGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear madam,

I personally wish to thank you for your positive feedback on your Beau-Rivage’s experience.

It is always a thrill to read what our guest felt in our property. It drives us towards excellency, which is our day-to-day goal.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Beau-Rivage and we look forward to welcoming you back to making your stay a memorable experience again.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a group reservation and everything was fantastic. We only went for dinner and didn't stay in the hotel. The food was good and the service was exceptional. The staff were flexible, professional, efficient and friend. I would definitely got there as a private guest and take another business dinner there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EventsOrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeauRivageGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear EventsOrg,

I personally wish to thank you for your positive feedback on your Beau-Rivage’s experience. It is always a thrill to read what our guest felt in our property.

I will be glad to congratulate the Chat Botté’s team on your behalf and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great location, excellent food through room service. Excellent views on the lake. But the hotel is really a quiet hotel and its boring especially at night. There is a piano-bar in the lobby that is not so special. The food is probably the bestthing about this hotel. Its really for an older crowd. 50's and above.

Room Tip: High floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadih F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeauRivageGeneva, Directeur général at Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback. I feel very concerned about the experience of my guests in our property.

I am sorry that the atmosphere of Beau-Rivage didn’t match your expectation. The Mayer family’s passion is to reinforce warm spirit and complete discretion in this private house built in 1865.

I stay at your entire disposal if you should give us nevertheless another opportunity to welcome you again at Beau-Rivage and give you the possibility to have a completely perfect experience.

With my best regards,

Ivan Rivier
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very warm welcome by front door staff and reception. Suite impeccable although no fruits, no flowers, but great view. Breakfast buffet not up to 5-star standards: not very appetizingly presented, meats and cold cuts not fresh (it was very hot but that does not excuse it), bred selection below average. Service not very accommodating and slow (it took 20 minutes for omelette and eggs). Instead of pancakes they brought crêpes. Evening bar service efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go4ital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel using a free night voucher from the Leading Hotels of the World. We expected the smallest room with no views and no LHW member privileges, especially because it was a weekend night. We were very surprised to see our beautiful suite with the view of the lake. The room was as elegant and comfortable as it can get. Not only we had been upgraded, but we even got a little gift and breakfast the next day! Very generous!

The road below is quite busy, but the room was very well insulated and we didn’t hear the outside noise. The room had a little corridor and double doors which perfectly screened out all the noise from other guests. One guest had a party on our floor and decided to leave the room door open, but we didn’t hear much in our room.

The only thing we were not totally happy with was the fact that some very aggressive birds were freely roaming the breakfast outdoor area (with beautiful lake views), including the area where the food was displayed. We mentioned it to the staff, but they didn’t seem to be very worried about that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatainOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved the location of the hotel. Close to everything right in front of the jet d'eau. Breakfast was very nice in the terrace. Emannuel at concierge was wonderful, very helpful. I was fighting a cold and he offered me a tea that really helped. The Thai restaurant right in the hotel was very good. The room was spacious clean and the best toiletries I had ever received from a hotel. They offer Clarins products!!! Truly great... The shower is quite large and the tub offered a comfortable soaking. The hotel bar area was quite lively and Thursday nights there is a DJ. The one thing not to over look is how expensive Geneva is. The taxi ride from the train station to the hotel under 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Mont-Blanc
Swiss Luxury Apartments
Swiss Luxury Apartments
#23 of 105 in Geneva
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva

Property: Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 13, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1865, the family-owned Beau-Rivage continues to welcome the world’s well known personalities in total discretion. The hotel is situated on the lake front and boasts views of the city harbour and the Alps. It stands in the heart of the city, only a stone’s throw away from the Old Town, elegant stores and business quarters. The hotel provides charm and savoir vivre that makes it one of the most distinguished addresses in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing