We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is a 2 minute walk to the railway station. It is in a great location you can easily walk to the old city, the lake and the shops. The rooms are fine and although not large the room we stayed in had a huge bathroom which was a bonus. It is a little dated but it was clean and offered us everything we needed. There was no air conditioning in the room but a fan was provided and that was all we needed. The day time temperature was around the low 30s while we were there.

The breakfast that is provided was cold meats, cheese, toast, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, fruit, croissants, juice and tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mignon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Mignon C,

I would like to thank you for having choosen Hotel Bernina and also for your review on Tripadvisor.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again,
Warmest regards.

Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 550 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked the hotel for two adults and one infant. Upon check-in, we were told that "it wasn't sure whether the maid had put in a cot bed" for our baby. Went upstairs to check, only to discover that there was none there. Went downstairs to ask for one, but now got the response that there are none available in the entire hotel, despite being stated as available on Expedia's website. Asked for a mattress to be put on the floor, but there were no available in the entire hotel. Finally decided to cancel the booking, which Expedia did with no penalty fee and went to another hotel. Conclusion: Stay out of this hotel if you have infants/toddlers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i99loma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Obviously, I'm disappointed not to have been able to satisfy your expectation, nevertheless, I would like to clarify a few points.

Firstly, it turns out that when you made your booking, you booked for one child only. Then, when you arrived at the hotel, you were 2 adults, one child and a baby. If during the booking process, we would have been informed that you had a child and a baby, we would have had the pleasure to meet your expectation. But we didn't, and unfortunately, during the summer period, we accomodate many families and if we are not notified in advance, we can not 100% guarantee the availability of a cot.

Finally, I would also like to clarify that it's a pleasure for us to accept children free of charge, if their parents agree to share their bed with their child .

One more time, I'm confused we didn't manage to find a suitable solution for you and your family and I hope you finally enjoyed your Geneva stay.

Best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location is great but the rooms are really small. We had standard double and the bed was 120 cm wide and room size was 6-7 m2. When I complained the portier said that we have the large room? The room was also old and no hair dryer. This hotel is absolutely not recommend for couples or adults. The "Quality" label should be removed from the hotel name - totally misleading and does not justify the high price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rauli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Rauli H

First of all, I would like to apologize for issues you encountered during your stay. As the period was extremely busy during your stay (July 3rd), we didn’t manage to allocate you another room. However, even if the room you stayed in is one of our smallest one, it is 14,7 m2 (not 7m2 as mentioned in your review).

I hope we'll have another chance to welcome you and show you our hotel at its best.

Best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good accessibility and location. Bit far from the hotel. A friendly staff. Very less facilities and no AC. Many restaurants are nearby. Breakfast was continental. There is a subway entrance just opposite to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssooryaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I felt like in a trip to the 70's...terrible bed, the mattress is probably is from the 70s, furniture is archaic, no air conditioner, cheap amenities....great location and free internet...book it only if you cannot afford anything better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear MarioFeld,

I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel Bernina and for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. However, I must say that I was disappointed to read your review as we pay a specific attention to our guest satisfaction and also to keep an excellent value for money, despite our very centrally location in one of the most expensive city in the world.

Regarding the mattress, I can quite understand that it was not to your liking. Some people like it rather hard, other soft. But, the mattress you slept on, comes from the same manufacturer as some 4 star hotels in the area.

Finaly, the 80s style is fully part of the traditional spirit of our family hotel we want to retain!

Best regards,

Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was as described, and we had a great experience checking in and using the facilities at night. At 8:30 in the morning one member of our party was having breakfast while the other was on the toilet. Our bags were on the beds, and it would be clear to anyone that we had not checked out yet. The maid then walked straight into the bathroom while my mother was on the toilet which was possible because the bathroom doors do not have locks. We complained to the management, but they insisted that the maid must have knocked and my mother did not hear. My mother has good hearing, and it seems much more likely that the maid just rushed in. She did not knock on the bathroom door, nor take time to see if the light in the bathroom was on.

The management seems to feel that this is an acceptable event, and besides an insincere apology does not appear to care. The management said the maid did not make a mistake

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeChronicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear CoffeeChronicle

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback. I want to apologize about the issues you encountered with our housekeeping service. I can assure you that this is well below our standards and that these issues are in the process of being resolved.

One more time, I would like to apologize for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced during your stay with us and I hope you'll give us a second chance to meet you expectations.

Best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Most central hotel. Close to all transportation needed to visit the city.
5 min from the airport.
No restaurant and no need, nearby are more than 50 restaurants of varying prices.
Friendly staff, and most Portuguese! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreiaNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#32 of 109 in Geneva
466 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 109 in Geneva
462 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#81 of 109 in Geneva
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina Geneve

Address: place de Cornavin 22, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $106 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business hotel for 80 years at your service. Benefiting from a prime location opposite the Main Train Station of Geneva, Hotel Bernina is adjacent to a big shopping center and only a 5-minute walk from Lake Geneva. The property is also next to the bus terminal and the business district as well as the commercial area of the city. The United Nations and other international organizations are about a mile away. Venture out, enjoy Geneva's nightlife and retreat to your spacious, elegant and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bernina Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Geneva
Geneva Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing