We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard double with 120 cm bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location is great but the rooms are really small. We had standard double and the bed was 120 cm wide and room size was 6-7 m2. When I complained the portier said that we have the large room? The room was also old and no hair dryer. This hotel is absolutely not recommend for couples or adults. The "Quality" label should be removed from the hotel name - totally misleading and does not justify the high price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rauli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Rauli H

First of all, I would like to apologize for issues you encountered during your stay. As the period was extremely busy during your stay (July 3rd), we didn’t manage to allocate you another room. However, even if the room you stayed in is one of our smallest one, it is 14,7 m2 (not 7m2 as mentioned in your review).

I hope we'll have another chance to welcome you and show you our hotel at its best.

Best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 536 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good accessibility and location. Bit far from the hotel. A friendly staff. Very less facilities and no AC. Many restaurants are nearby. Breakfast was continental. There is a subway entrance just opposite to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssooryaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I felt like in a trip to the 70's...terrible bed, the mattress is probably is from the 70s, furniture is archaic, no air conditioner, cheap amenities....great location and free internet...book it only if you cannot afford anything better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear MarioFeld,

I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel Bernina and for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. However, I must say that I was disappointed to read your review as we pay a specific attention to our guest satisfaction and also to keep an excellent value for money, despite our very centrally location in one of the most expensive city in the world.

Regarding the mattress, I can quite understand that it was not to your liking. Some people like it rather hard, other soft. But, the mattress you slept on, comes from the same manufacturer as some 4 star hotels in the area.

Finaly, the 80s style is fully part of the traditional spirit of our family hotel we want to retain!

Best regards,

Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was as described, and we had a great experience checking in and using the facilities at night. At 8:30 in the morning one member of our party was having breakfast while the other was on the toilet. Our bags were on the beds, and it would be clear to anyone that we had not checked out yet. The maid then walked straight into the bathroom while my mother was on the toilet which was possible because the bathroom doors do not have locks. We complained to the management, but they insisted that the maid must have knocked and my mother did not hear. My mother has good hearing, and it seems much more likely that the maid just rushed in. She did not knock on the bathroom door, nor take time to see if the light in the bathroom was on.

The management seems to feel that this is an acceptable event, and besides an insincere apology does not appear to care. The management said the maid did not make a mistake

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeChronicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear CoffeeChronicle

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback. I want to apologize about the issues you encountered with our housekeeping service. I can assure you that this is well below our standards and that these issues are in the process of being resolved.

One more time, I would like to apologize for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced during your stay with us and I hope you'll give us a second chance to meet you expectations.

Best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Most central hotel. Close to all transportation needed to visit the city.
5 min from the airport.
No restaurant and no need, nearby are more than 50 restaurants of varying prices.
Friendly staff, and most Portuguese! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreiaNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

First the pictures in the internet are from another hotel for sure. An "exotic" smell wait for you inside the rooms as if someone is cooking besides you. The fourniture seems recovered from the street or bought in a "poor garage sale". The doors and woods were in a very bad shape, not painted and some deteorated by humidity or because no one took care of them.
The cleaning was very good, I must say, and the hotel gave us a discount for parking, but the price is too high in relation to the quality.
We didn't like the attitude when we claim about the rooms and was told to us that's natural because the hotel is closing in December and they are not investing any money till there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisfilipeCarnaxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I travel to Chamonix, France with family, so I spent 1 night stop over at Geneva before continue to Paris using train. I choose hotel Bernina because of its location, and I was extremely satisfied with the location. Cornavin station is just accross the street, with many shops and restaurant surrounding the hotel particularly at Rue du Mont Blanc, only 15 minutes walk to the lake, and very easy to go to the United Nations headquarters, just a few step from the hotel to catch up the tram.
I booked a family room, and I got room no. 407, quite spacious with 1 queen bed and 2 single bed. Unfortunately there is no aircon in the room, only 1 fan and in the summer the room become very hot, I cannot sleep for the whole night, try to open the window in the midnight but it was too noisy.
Breakfast is not so good, not so many option and service also need to be improved. However, the ladies in the front desk were so nice, very helpful and friendly. My check-in and check-out process was superb fast and convenience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnych j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 106 in Geneva
1,318 reviews
Excelsior
#64 of 106 in Geneva
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#79 of 106 in Geneva
470 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#44 of 106 in Geneva
457 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#47 of 106 in Geneva
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina Geneve

Address: place de Cornavin 22, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $106 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business hotel for 80 years at your service. Benefiting from a prime location opposite the Main Train Station of Geneva, Hotel Bernina is adjacent to a big shopping center and only a 5-minute walk from Lake Geneva. The property is also next to the bus terminal and the business district as well as the commercial area of the city. The United Nations and other international organizations are about a mile away. Venture out, enjoy Geneva's nightlife and retreat to your spacious, elegant and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bernina Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Geneva
Geneva Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing