We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Booked this hotel from reviews,which are Misleading ,not worth money,small box rooms,heating not sufficient in bed room,very congested ,would never think of staying there again.Breakfast is the only good thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohil2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm sincerely sorry you didn't appreciate your stay at our hotel. Hotel Bernina is one of the best value for money hotel of Geneva and even if we are not a 5* star hotel, all the staff of our 80 years family business are doing their best every day to always satisfy our guest.

With my best regards,
Mike à Porta,
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 557 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very fast mobile access is available here. Scince I went to Geneva to attend a conference and had to download / upload documents used for the meeting, it was very helpful. The location was also good and very easy access to city tram.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sugi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community and with us. We are very pleased that our free Wifi access met your professionnal expectations.

One more time, thank you to have choosen Hotel Bernina Geneve for your stay. We hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,

With my best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bernina Hotel has been our stopping off place on our visits to France. It's wonderfully convenient to the main train station. Staff is pleasant and competent, and the complimentary breakfast was satisfactory. We were somewhat dismayed that the bathroom in our room was woefully out of date. No shower stall, and only a hand-held shower head. The old-fashioned tub requires a climb to get in, and would be a challenge to an elderly guest. I believe that bathrooms on our earlier stays were somewhat more modern.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elliott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Elliot K,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and also for your compliments regarding our staff. Your comments regarding the bathroom are fully justified. We're doing our best to ensure our guests' confort and to finish renovating all of rooms as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked this hotel mainly for the cheaper rates, for a midweek break (4th-8th Feb13) for myself and my husband. We really didn't expect much considering the great price, but we were both very pleasantly surprised. On arrival the fantastic multilingual reception staff offered us the best room available and explained everything we needed to know. They were extremely helpful and polite and answered any questions we had. The room was basic and dated, but had everything we needed apart from tea/coffee making facilities but it was no hardship to take the lift to the lobby and get our free coffees. The location is more than fantastic! Opposite the train station (ease for airport) and also the tram stops right outside too. We managed to get everywhere we wanted to go within a few simple steps. I don't often use public transport and was quite nervous at first, but was amazed at the ease and simplicity of accessing the whole of Geneva, I felt like a pro in no time :O) (if you ask reception they will provide you with a detailed map and point out some hot spots) We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking Cornavin and had no trouble with noise, again amazed at how soundproofed it actually was. It was really enjoyable to open the window in the morning, take in the hustle and bustle, people watch and then look up to see snow covered mountains in the distance. For those that are wondering about the piano/karaoke bar at the back of the hotel, a word of warning, all is not as it seems but it’s worth a try just for the experience. If you do wander in (like we did, and it certainly was not noisy!), the drinks are expensive and the women are under dressed haha.
A few tips about Geneva : The Jet d'Eau is quite spectacular. If you are able to, get right up to the bottom of the jet to put things into perspective. The Museum is a good trip especially if you are interested in old armour/weaponry or ancient Egypt. Take time out in the central park, it has giant chess free to play if that's your thing. The UN building is boring, no tours or access whilst we were there even though it did say there were on notices (The 3 legged chair out the front of the building is pretty cool though and represents the fight against land mines) CERN is an absolute must! this was the highlight of our trip. We booked in advance, the free tour was taken by a physicist and was highly informative, a base knowledge of physics is probably desirable for this tour though and you do need to book. You can just turn up for free and see the two exhibitions there. (take the no 14 tram from under the bridge by the station). Finally make sure you take out a mortgage to eat and drink in Geneva! People will tell you it is expensive but it will still shock you!
All in all we had a very pleasant experience and we would definitely return to this hotel and Geneva again. The great location and customer service far outweighed the standard of the rooms.

Room Tip: go for higher front rooms, great views, no noise, people watchers paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Director of Sales at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Sandz77,

Wow, what a review ! I have really appreciated your detailled comments and above all your fantastic description of your Geneva experience. I would'nt have been able to give better tips than yours!
It's also a great pleasure for us to notice that Hotel Bernina's team and services met your expectations.

It'll be a pleasure for me to welcome you personnaly next time you'll come to Geneva,

Yours Sincerely

Mike à Porta
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stains on bedding,bugs in the bed, room opposite a karaoke bar with constant noise and lights glaring all night, area ok ideal for train station, I would never stay at this hotel again or return to Geneva.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Director of Sales at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Terry H,

First of all, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay.

As you can imagine, all our team of our eighty years old familly hotel has been informed about your review on TripAdvisor, in order to understand what happened and why the problems you encountered have not be solved during your stay.

Our guests satisfaction is our priority. That's why all our rooms are equipped with double glazed windows, and as standard process, sheets and laundry are changed for every guests. Moreover we work with a local known company in matress cleaning which cleans all matress according to strict guidelines (Anitbacterial with allergen and test seal free of chemicals). The certificate they delivred us is valid until January 2014 and is available on simple request (maporta@bernina-geneve.ch). I'm very sorry for that we didn't manage to satisfy you despite all our efforts.

Should you have any remarks or questions, please feel free to contact me.

Mike à Porta
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

On arrival we were greeted excellently by Samuel with a very informing welcome, he told us about the city bus pass and gave us our bearings. Deserved of a tourism award!
Our room was clean and comfortable, bed was good, we had a balcony overlooking Cornavin which was great.
Breakfast is standard European fare with lot's to choose from, when the meats or cheeses were finished the kitchen and waiting staff were very quick at replenishing, all good.
Perfect if you're stopping over in Geneva en-route or returning from the Alps.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony overlooking Cornavin, windows are well soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clin_Hoolihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You couldn't get a better connected hotel location: just opposite the station which means 10 minutes to the airport. We got a free ticket for all public transport with our booking.
The historic city centre is a 10-15 minute walk away. The room was big and clean, also the bathroom. Corridors, staircases and lift were clean and modern. Breakfast offered good variety and was served in a pleasant room. There are no coffee making facilities in the room, but you could make tea and coffee on the ground floor which also has an espresso machine (for a charge). The restaurants in the neighbourhood are far cheaper than in the city centre, but the area has an air of red light district about it. Our room window looked out to the "Siren Club". I would wholly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nepomukia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis
Hotel ibis
#47 of 109 in Geneva
94 reviews
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#37 of 109 in Geneva
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#43 of 109 in Geneva
474 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 109 in Geneva
1,377 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#49 of 109 in Geneva
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina Geneve

Address: place de Cornavin 22, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $120 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business hotel for 80 years at your service. Benefiting from a prime location opposite the Main Train Station of Geneva, Hotel Bernina is adjacent to a big shopping center and only a 5-minute walk from Lake Geneva. The property is also next to the bus terminal and the business district as well as the commercial area of the city. The United Nations and other international organizations are about a mile away. Venture out, enjoy Geneva's nightlife and retreat to your spacious, elegant and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bernina Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Geneva
Geneva Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing