We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed January 27, 2013

On arrival we were greeted excellently by Samuel with a very informing welcome, he told us about the city bus pass and gave us our bearings. Deserved of a tourism award!
Our room was clean and comfortable, bed was good, we had a balcony overlooking Cornavin which was great.
Breakfast is standard European fare with lot's to choose from, when the meats or cheeses were finished the kitchen and waiting staff were very quick at replenishing, all good.
Perfect if you're stopping over in Geneva en-route or returning from the Alps.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony overlooking Cornavin, windows are well soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clin_Hoolihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 536 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

You couldn't get a better connected hotel location: just opposite the station which means 10 minutes to the airport. We got a free ticket for all public transport with our booking.
The historic city centre is a 10-15 minute walk away. The room was big and clean, also the bathroom. Corridors, staircases and lift were clean and modern. Breakfast offered good variety and was served in a pleasant room. There are no coffee making facilities in the room, but you could make tea and coffee on the ground floor which also has an espresso machine (for a charge). The restaurants in the neighbourhood are far cheaper than in the city centre, but the area has an air of red light district about it. Our room window looked out to the "Siren Club". I would wholly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nepomukia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It´s not a big,new, modern and elegant place, but it´s clean, the room and the bathroom are of good size, the continental breakfast is very good and we always found a vacant table for us.
One excellent point is the location, which is a few meters from the train station in Geneva and in the area you have all sorts of stores, bars and restaurants. The staff was nice. Wi-fi free in the room.
I would stay there again. We didn´t have any problems.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Director of Sales at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Mpimenta,
Thank you so much for your review,

I have passed your kind words to all the team who really do appreciate your comments and your time and we look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Bernina Geneva.

Warm regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in the period Dec. 2012/Jan. 2013.
The hotel is conveniently situated close to the main train station and is easy to find, straight across the road. We arrived early at approx. 10:30am and wanted to know if we could store our bags but the gentleman on the desk said our room was ready and that we could move straight in.
All staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was included and quite ample.
Now the only downside to our stay. The walls are paper thin, so much so that you can almost hear people in the next room when they change their mind. Was woken up on our last night by the couple in the next room having sex. For this reason only I could not really recommend this hotel and would not stay again. A real pity as everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Director of Sales at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback and your comment about Hotel Bernina Geneva. I have passed your kind words to all the team.

I'm very sorry that you encountred some trouble during the night. We're always trying our best to allocate guests on renovated rooms of our historical building, but sometimes we don't manage to do so. Nevertheless, I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once in hotel Bernina Geneva.

Best regards,
Mike à Porta
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel was really near to the train station, which was really convinient. There were lots of restaurants nearby. Kebabs, japanese foods, starbucks, mc donald's..everything was just a few steps away. The room was clean, quite big and confortable. You have to pay for tv.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Director of Sales at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Lilie E,
thank you very much for having taken the time to describe in detail some important points of your stay at Hotel Bernina Geneva. Hoping you will give us the pleasure of staying with us again in the near future.

Mike à Porta
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The Bernini was the perfect place for my stay, right in the center of Geneva.. Breakfast was ample, room was fine for us but might be considered small for some people. Great value. Impressed by cleanliness, staff, personal touch, artwork. Best 3-star hotel I have stayed in. Easy access to airport from train station across the street. Close to restaurants, shopping, Lake Geneva.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Director of Sales at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear CatieKSA,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at hotel Bernina Geneva. It is so rewarding to read such a good review! It will be a pleasure for me to read your review to the staff and congratutale them for their permanent effort to satisfy our guests.

Thank you very much and we all wish you a fantastic 2013.

Mike à Porta
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here recently while visiting CERN with my 11 year old son. This was my second visit to this property and I returned because it had been so suitable first time around.
It is central, right across Cornavin square from the railway staion and a short walk from the lake. Plenty of shops, bars & restaurants nearby. Les Brasseurs is adjacent and is especialy good with its own micro-brewery. Most, if not all, of the tram lines converge around the square so transport around the city is really easy.
Rooms are clean and well appointed, probably quite small by US standards but sufficient. Breakfast is continental style with breads, cereals, juices, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham served with a choice of tea, coffee & hot chocolate.
There is a small guest lounge behind the reception area with free tea/coffee.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
I would love to go back but have heard that the lease may be ending shortly after decades of single family ownership of the business. If true that is unfortunate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kildress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernina-GVA, Director of Sales at Hotel Bernina Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Kildress,
Thank you very much for your very detailed rating and your nice words. It is indeed a daily challenge and commitement trying to fulfill the expectations of our guests. But it is our motivation to give our best every day.

We wish you a fantastic 2013.

Mike à Porta
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#40 of 106 in Geneva
1,316 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#46 of 106 in Geneva
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#54 of 106 in Geneva
297 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
Excelsior
#64 of 106 in Geneva
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina Geneve

Address: place de Cornavin 22, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $106 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business hotel for 80 years at your service. Benefiting from a prime location opposite the Main Train Station of Geneva, Hotel Bernina is adjacent to a big shopping center and only a 5-minute walk from Lake Geneva. The property is also next to the bus terminal and the business district as well as the commercial area of the city. The United Nations and other international organizations are about a mile away. Venture out, enjoy Geneva's nightlife and retreat to your spacious, elegant and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bernina Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Geneva
Geneva Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing