We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Warwick Geneva(Geneva)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Suisse Hotel(Geneva)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
56
220
172
68
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
220
172
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationexcellent locationworked finehard boiled eggscentral locationtransport passlake genevaminute walkold townspacious roomcontinental breakfastthree stardecent hoteltrams and busesreception areashort stayyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 566 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

comparing the price and the quality of the Bernina Swiss...rates are definitely too much high! I had a single room with french size bed quite comfortable. Wi fi connection low quality. International breakfast low level. the only i can suggest of this hotel is the position: walking distance by the railway station, 7 minutes by train to the airport of Geneve and 200 metres from Starbucks and Mac Donald!!! that's a plus considering the quality of the french swiss food!!! :-)))

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlConteMascetti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Geneva is insanely expensive if you're not on a Swiss salary (or an expense account); where else does a Big Mac cost £8.30?

This hotel gives back some sanity. I'm staying here at the moment (13.05.12) and it's my refuge! Very central location in a very small city: you can walk everywhere (although I did get the tram to the UN with my complimentary "Geneva Travel Card").

Clean (of course) and all the necessaries. Yes, OK, my laptop wouldn't work until I went out and bought a special adaptor (the usual Continental Europe ones don't work here), but, hey, I don't blame the hotel for that: it's a crazy Swiss idea that their plugs are better!

If you want a Holiday Inn, then go there.

Reading some of the reviews, it seems to me that some of our North American cousins don't fully appreciate that Europe isn't North America. It's what makes Europe a fantastic quilt of cultures and languages.

Uncomfortably, in the city that hails non-discrimination, etc. Switzerland is one of the worst offenders. Look up the date of woman's' sufferage in Switzerland and you will be shocked.

Look at how the Swiss treat foreigners - with lots of discrimination. I've felt more threatened here by non-white faces than in London or New York. The attitude here seems to be if you're not white you are a criminal

I suppose I had a stereo-typed vision of Geneva. All fur coats no knickers; distressed old Russian aristocracy rubbing noses with the likes of Shirley Bassey and Roger Moore (both totally without "old money")

But, Geneva does not match up to my ideas.

However, the Hotel Bernina is an excellent choice - and thank you to EasyJet for pointing
out this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel is directly across the street from the train station in Geneva. The hotel is actually easy to miss even if you're standing in front of it so keep a sharp eye out! It's a pretty plain hotel, from the lobby, to the elevator, to the restaurant, to the rooms. Actually kind of boring. Everything is clean though, and in good working order. Like Switzerland. The wifi is reliable and free, although slow. The location is pretty good - Geneva is a fairly compact city, so you're within 30 minutes walk of just about everything, and the bus/tram system is excellent if you don't want to walk. There are tons of restaurants, cafes, bars, shopping etc within a few minutes walk of the hotel. The neighborhood is decent - nothing sketchy like a red light district, just lots of small business everywhere, and plenty of people from all over. Service at the hotel is friendly and efficient, and everyone speaks English very well. Breakfast is included, and it's not bad. Mostly continental-style but pretty tasty. The rooms are very clean, and heat/AC works well, as do the elevators. Bathrooms are just OK, but clean and everything works. Beds are not very comfortable, typical of most of Europe. I don't recall there being a bar at the hotel, but it's possible I missed it. Anyway there are plenty of bars just around the corner. The main downside to this place is the price - but Geneva is an extremely expensive city in general, so I guess it's par for the course. Bottom line - would I recommend this place, and would I stay here again? If you can get a good deal on it, Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel is a safe choice (not a spectacular choice). But there are dozens of hotels in the same area, so check around before deciding.

Room Tip: They're all pretty similar (and similarly plain)
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikevegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a weekend break to Geneva, paying £80 for two people in a double room.

The location of the hotel is excellent directly opposite the train station and main bus/tram stops to all attractions i.e. CERN, United Nations etc so really easy to find and ideal to get around with the free transport card, only a ten minute train ride to airport. The waterfront promenade is a five minute walk or twenty minutes to the fountain and old town and there are plenty of reasonably priced bars/restaurants in the area. There were a few less salubrious people hanging around outside the train station like any major city but they kept themselves to themselves and didn’t cause us any bother.

Despite the location we didn’t think it was that noisy as there were shutters on the windows which blocked out the street noise. The room itself was fine - spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, good shower and all facilities were in good working order (includes room safe and free reliable Wi-Fi access). All the staff were very friendly and helpful, allowing us to check-in first thing in the morning as a room was available, providing directions and storing our luggage for free. Breakfast was also plentiful with a good choice of continental items, only downside was that we had to wait for a table as the breakfast room was very small compared to size of hotel.

To be honest if you paid this price for a room in many cities it would be considered as overpriced but this is Geneva and it’s expensive so for a budget classed hotel we have no complaints and would return due to great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

basic hotel. Basic breakfast. No aircondition, room hot even in may. No fridge. Could hear neighbour snoring from one room and tv from the other. . Cleaners start at 8 am so even if you wanted to sleep longer they make a big noise in the corridor. No way near 1 star hotel not 3. Staff very pleasant and helpfull . Has a safe in the room. Has coffee machine at reception for only 1 CHF. Apart from that, it is Overpriced. Price shouldn't exceed 35 €. Otherwise just avoid it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delitasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews