We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience at Metropole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great experience at Metropole”
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Arrived at end of 3 week stay in Switzerland and France with no hotel
booked. First went to Relaix around corner which was infested with mozzies (rooms smelt musty, no views) so moved to Metropole which was
slightly cheaper with a great view of lake. Room and bathroom were superb, beds very comfortable, room spotless and rates were very negotiable as was just out of high season (1/3 of high season prices). Reception and concierge desks very helpful and gave us late checkout with no problem. Great position, very close to old town and shops

  • Liked — great room, views and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aliCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your delighted experience with the TripAdvisor community. I hope you will be able to visit us soon again in order to seen the new design rooms.

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    203
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
133
191
38
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2007

Had a wonderful over night in this hotel with 2 inter connecting rooms which suited our family of 2 adults and 2 teenage children.
The rooms were of a good size, by European standards, wonderfully equipped with even a coffee maker, superb beds and a luxurious bath room.
The staff were most courteous and helpful without being too intrusive.
We stayed during the Fete de Geneva and had a wonderful view of the amazing fireworks display from our windows ( we were on the 3rd floor facing the jardin de anglais). This was particularly welcome as it turned out to be a wet evening so we were snug and warm in our rooms.
The breakfast was good enough but I would describe it as adequate rather than superb.
The location is wonderful, just moments away from all the major attractions.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We have stayed in Geneva a number of times but this is the hotel I would come back to.
If you are staying during the festival then book early and ask for a room facing the jardin anglais on at least the 3rd floor and you will get a great view of everything.
Good rates and special offers can be booked on the internet but you need to talk to the hotel direct for special requests. If at first they do not give you the best rate always ask for special offers.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Seaboughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Your review is energetic and motivating.

I hope to see you soon back at Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 925 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2007

For the category that this hotel seems to pride itself on, we had rather high expectations that the Swissotel Geneva Metropole (yes, we would otherwise normally associate the Swissotel brand as a moderately-priced chain hotel but thought perhaps this would be something of their flagship property) would match those of the countless other 5-star deluxe category hotels that we frequent throughout Europe. Although adequately comfortable, it wasn’t anywhere near comparable to other deluxe accommodations (within the similar price range) in Europe, not to mention some of Asia’s awesome hotels. This is in terms of first impression, service, quality of the guest rooms, public areas, and location. Only the location is great, but everything else is mediocre and even poor in some aspects (service). If taking into consideration the price, one cannot say it is good value for the money.

Starting with check-in, we were behind another couple trying to check-in (it was very late at night) and we witnessed noticeable hassle and frustration as their room was apparently released due to their late check-in despite the credit card guarantee they had (which was required anyway). We waited a while keeping our fingers crossed as were waiting to check-in right after them. That couple was taken aside and we do not know what their outcome was. Our turn came with a different sort of glitch. The rate they showed us was a much higher rate than our confirmed rate, for which we had a print-out of, very fortunately. The check-in staff did not accept that confirmation at face value but said that I will need to speak with the reservations manager the following day and said that if they can verify the correctness of it, then all will be okay (as if I had tampered or forged the confirmation!). I had to try and catch the responsible person the next day (rather than them coming to us) and it was not immediately resolved. But to cut a long story short, they only confirmed our booked rate after so much hassle.

We had a deluxe lake view room, which was okay and small. The bathroom was proportionately small and nothing to be called luxurious. The only saving grace (almost?) was the view, which was nice but then again, it wasn’t impressive (the hotel is not situated right on the lake but very close to it, being separated by a road and a public park). Therefore the views from the mid-level floors where we were located could not be a spectacular panoramic view of Lake Geneva as one might have expected. We do not have any pictures to post because we didn’t take any -- we were not inclined to as there was nothing really impressive about the rooms, the views or the lobby.

Overall service was unremarkable. Our very first impression was at the check-in desk and that did little to delight us. Concierge service was not up to the standards of an exclusive hotel. Our requests (simple ones, like booking a private chauffeur-driven car or a day-tour) were delivered with the feeling as if it were their forced duty (versus concierges at places like the Ritz London, the Peninsula Hong Kong, etc who all cheerfully accommodate as if it were their passion). The feeling is different. You feel as if you are in a middle-segment chain hotel (which is what it is technically), rather than an exclusive deluxe property.

In summary, we could recommend this hotel if trying to find an adequate place to sleep in a very convenient location for a very dear price. You should not expect much else and you will not be too disappointed. For us, we found nothing special that would draw us back to this hotel on our next visit to Geneva. We will happily try other places such as the Four Seasons or the Beau Rivage.

  • Liked — The close proximity to Lake Geneva and the good view
  • Disliked — Small, cramped rooms, not so plush
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank PourPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear guest

Thank you for having chosen Swissotel Metropole for your stay in Geneva. I also appreciate your comments, constructive and motivating, shared with the TripAdvisor community which helps us develop further our service and our product. As a matter of fact the hotel has undergone tremendous upgrade form a service and product point of view. We are very transparent in our communication updating our webpage daily with prices, pictures, promotions and other valuable information requested by our guests.

Do give us a second chance and I look forward to welcoming you soon back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2006

In addition to the great quality of the rooms, the staff was very accomodating. We arrived before our reservation due to a glitch at another hotel and were not only welcomed, but upgraded to a Junior Suite. We had several other requests that were easily handled.

The hotel is in an excellent location, on the edge of Old Town next to the lake. Out of our window we could see the "flower clock" as well the water. You can walk to most places including the train station (across the bridge).

I've stayed in other Swissotels, and Metropole was the same quality. Very clean, crisp linen, spacious rooms.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OceanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and for choosing Swisslotel Metropole for your stay in Geneva. I highly appreciate the fact that you have recognized our service and the staff.

I hope to see you soon back and do not hesitate to visit our webpage for updates and promotions.

Quality Manager

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

The Metropole is an good hotel in which to stay if you want to be near the business district as well as some shopping.

The staff are attentive - and the hotel is in general pretty nice - decor is above avarage.

Bar is good, as is breakfast - if a littely samey.

Definitely worth a stay.

Helpful?
6 Thank timaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I look forward to welcoming you soon back at Swissotel Metropole Geneva

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2006

I thought this hotel would be something pretty special but it isn't.

Pros:
- Great location (beside lake, old part of town)
- Decent little gym
- Really lovely breakfast area (take your time over your newspaper)
- Character (as opposed to your usual Sheraton, Intercon, etc)
- 3 elevators for 4 floors so never have to wait long
- Espresso machines in rooms

Cons:
- Dismal little room (mine was on the rear side - either get one at the front or stay somewhere else)
- Paper thin walls - can hear ever word my neighbours say on both sides
- Booked a non-smoking but they put me in a smoking (asked for change of room and they said wait 2 nights - can you imagine)
- Expensive (ok if on expense trip, but don't spend your own money on this place)
- Wifi internet is CHF 30 a day
- The bistro restaurant is awful

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BenDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and at the same time we regret that your stay was rather deceiving. I have shared you review with the team and the management and certain changes have been made.

Do not hesitate to visit us soon again.

Quality Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

We had high expectations of this 5 star hotel, but came away very disappointed.

We stayed in an executive room on the 3rd floor. The room itself was well appointed and very clean, as was the bathroom. It was, however, much smaller than we had expected.

Unfortunately for us we were situated opposite the lift which meant a lot of noise from people coming and going until late into the night and then from early in the morning, with breakfast trolleys etc. going up and down the corridor.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on our last night. The meal itself was quite expensive (over £100 inc. wine) and was of very poor quality. The starter of soup was lukewarm, as were the main course pasta dishes.

The restaurant staff were very rushed, even though it was a fairly quiet night. A waiter poured some wine for us and then took the bottle away. We had to wait ages for a top up and then sat with empty glasses for nearly half an hour before giving up and walking across the restaurant to retrieve the bottle and help ourselves!!

The best thing about the hotel was it's location - opposite the lake and a very short walk to the shops.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 1963CruiseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Quality Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you or choosing Swissotel Metropole for your stay in Geneva and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Please visit our webpage for the latest updates concerning promotions, pricing, new rooms design, new menu and much more.

Hope to see you soon back

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
622 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Property: Hotel Metropole Geneve
Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing