We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The picture says it all. You sleep in the bathroom.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really don't know who designs these hotel rooms.
But I am pretty sure they don't sleep on the designed rooms.
Or, if they do, it will be by themselves.
How, on Earth, are you supposed to use the doorless bathroom if there is someone else in the room?

This is just part of a set of problems at the Swissotel Metropole.

Let's start with the fact they market themselves as "five star boutique hotel".

It is clearly not a five star hotel. Service is poor and unattentive. We had to contact reception several times in order to have our wi-fi internet connected.

There was an open chocolate bar on our mini-bar. I've complained twice and on the second day it was still there, half eaten. Awful.

It is a massive hotel, many many rooms. You will wait for a long time to get a cab in front of the hotel. Guests queueing.

It took me about 15 minutes one morning to get a cab there. With guests fighting for the next taxi to arrive. Not fun at all, if you are running on a schedule.

And this is something very unlikely to happen anywhere else in Geneva that is a tiny town.

I really don't get where they take the "boutique" part from...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

We apologise for the inactive internet connection, your experience has been shared with the it engineer and the reception team.

Regarding the taxi, we are doing our best to provide you a quick service but it could happen the city is experiencing a very high demand.

Concerning the new Signature room, we keep a strong focus on comfort and quality with features such as new bed, Swiss furnitures, hammam shower or bathroom jacuzzi.

Of course we totally understand that this style may not suit to everyone.

With best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 833 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

great for business or holiday.. great location and the staff is the best in the business, they always remember who you are.. great decor and location can not be beat. next to shopping, the old town and by the lake .. amazing views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
1  Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, services and staff quality .

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Immediately when you enter the hotel you feel the solidity and the discret charm of swiss hospitality. The reception area and the coffee house give you a warm wellcome. The generous rooms as well as the gentle service are top and with its central location at the lake promenade you have the best starting point to discover Geneve. Book your room with Lake view!

Room Tip: Lake view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enricoBeiWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel with this Swiss touch we are trying to provide through services, facilities and room design.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have stayed in Geneva many times and there some lovely hotels but the swissotel metropole
is by far the best for location and service . The newly furbished rooms are superb and the roof top bar is fantastic . looking forward to returning .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, staff quality and also our new signature rooms and roof top lounge.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of sales & marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Now this is Geneva so the prices aren't cheap, and depending on your rate you will get box rooms on the lower floors. I was worried about mine which was on the 1st however it was perfectly fine (if a little snug) but it was warm, cosy and quiet (that is somewhat helped by the fact that Geneva is not a noisy city).

Firm bed, good bedding, TV with all channels you may need (especially all the British channels e.g. BBCs and ITVs and Channel 4!). Couldn't find a room service menu so couldn't tell you if it was good or not. Breakfast was fine if a little pricey at 42 CHF.

Overall a nicely presented hotel in Geneva.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and room facilities.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Regarding your comments on our rates, please kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva.

We have also taken good note of your remarks on the missing room service menu.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have just returned from Geneva staying at the Swissotel Metropole Geneva.
I was lucky to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms (322).
I have been lucky enough to stay in some very special hotels and rooms around the world and this recent stay is up there as one one the nicest rooms I have been privileged to stay in...
If you are in Geneva check this hotel out......
Looking forward to returning

Room Tip: 322 great room great view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback further to your stay with us at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva.

Very good comments such as yours are quite important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they have been forwarded to the concerned persons.

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us in our new Signature rooms.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My 1 night stopover at this hotel before Christmas was very good.
My room had everything I needed including a usb port on the tv to charge my mobile since I was daft enough to pack my charger but no swiss adapter.
Very convenient for the old town and the shops if you have the time to wander.
The 10min walk from station is mostly downhill and over the pont du mont blanc so its not a hassle.
Rive is a transport hub nearby and many routes stop at or near this hotel.
My room wasnt large but it served its purpose and would easily accommodate a couple for a week long visit comfortably.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank patona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Genève with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your business stay at the hotel before Christmas time.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 109 in Geneva
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel de la Paix, Geneva.
1.7 mi away
Hotel InterContinental Geneve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 109 in Geneva
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Geneva
#12 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $334 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing