We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a bit dissapointed”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I usually stay at l'hotel de la paix but it was fully booked so i chose the swissotel due to its convenient location for my purposes. in a very nice building i found the room to be very small, i was told that these were the smallest rooms in the hotel, so i don't want to generalise. I was a bit dissapointed by a few small things like the fact that the bottles of water in my room had been opened and used and that i had to request my room to be made in the afternoon. also a bit strange was a member of staff just walked into my room while i was in there for turn down service although i was having a rest after a long flight, it took some effort to shoo her away! on the whole the stay was fine, and i must say that the level of service from the front desk and bar and restaurant was superbe. being in switzerland one can always gripe at the prices, but the food i had in the restaurant was actually cheaper than the food i had in the bar, which i found a bit strange. i dont think anyone will have a bad stay here it just doesnt feel on the whole to be at swiss standards for this category of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest, I really appreciate your feedback as we are aiming for the best service delivery and true Swiss hospitality. Unfortunately the surface of some of our guest rooms is rather limited; especially compared to newer hotel buildings. This is due to the Métropole being a historical property from the 18th century. I have well noted the small operational shortfalls you had to experience and I would like to sincerely apologize for them. I have brought them up in our quality comitee and we have further refined our internal procedures to make sure these issues will not occur again in the future. It is great that you were impressed with the level of service from the front desk, the bar and the restaurant. We would be pleased to welcome you back soon to Swissôtel Métropole. Best Regards, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    203
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
133
191
38
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times, its a typical business hotel located on the lakeside, the accommodation was nice the room well-furnished and pleasant.

The only place to sit outside is very noisy from the traffic; it isn’t pleasant when trying to relax.
Its expensive, but its Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest, First of all thank you very much for your loyalty. Your feedback is important to us as we always want to improve our product and services. It is a fact that the location of the hotel is great but unfortunately when sitting outside on the ground floor summer terrace, sometimes noise from traffic can appear. We are currently working on a project that will hopefully us to welcome guests as of next Summer on our fantastic rooftop panoramic terrace...! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in this new, relaxing environment. Kind Regards, Stefan Winistoerfer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, joining my partner who was in Geneva on business. Staff are so very helpful. I was provided with a travel pass for local transport which was very useful. Situated close to the lake, the location is wonderful. Although the room was on the small side it was very comfortable with every need catered for. I loved the Mirror Bar, very elegant, I am looking forward to my next visit later in the year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for having posted your feedback. I am glad to hear that my colleagues looked well after you and that you will be coming back to stay with us later on this year. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Métropole and Geneva. Yours sincerely, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for business during a busy period in June. Rate we paid was CHF515 per night. Hotel is very nice and a true 5-star hotel, located within a stone's throw from the Lake. Breakfast was very nice, but again, quite pricey at CHF 42. Good room's but smaller than those at other Swissotel's but with nice toiletries and a very comfortable bed. Would not stay on my personal account as felt it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Wanderlust81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the Swissôtel Métropole for your recent stay in Geneva and for your review. I am glad that you appreciate our hotel and its location whilst doing business in Geneva. It is a fact that Switzerland and Geneva remain expensive destinations especially these days with the very strong Swiss Franc, we therefore very much focus on service delivery and product renovation. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived just as the French Bastille Day Parade was about to proceed along the street in front of the hotel. We received a genuine welcome from the doormen and consierge and a fast check-in from the registrar who seemed to be happily expecting us. They told us about the Bastille celebration and the consierge pointed us to the exciting places to visit - all within walking distance from the hotel. From our room we had a close view of the Geneva Fountain and Lake Geneva - beautiful! Our tours, our shopping interests and even our dining favorites were very close by. Our room was classy, elegant and very clean. The meal we enjoy most is breakfast and our hotel expectations are elevated or dashed by the quality and ambiance of breakfast.
The Swissotel Metropole holds our first place votes for quality and abundance of food choices for breakfast and charming outdoor setting for leisurely morning dining.
Hopefully, one day we will return to the beautiful city of Geneva and when we do we'll absolutely stay at the Metropole!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lake Geneva. Rooms are small but elegant. King beds are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmom1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. My team is working hard to constantly improve our product and the services we provide. We are particularly happy to receive good feedback from our valuable guests. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Geneva and Swissôtel Métropole. Kind Regards, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Yes, you can get a lake view if you pay extra. Just. The window (at least on the 4th floor) was very
small which made the room dark. If you fancied a bit of lakeside air you couldn't because there was a 'verbotten' sticker saying don't open the window because of pests. The room -580CHF! -had towels about 10 years old, one bar of soap and a tiny shower. In check in you were given a fre complimentary drink voucher - only to be told later in the mirror bar that they were only redeemable in the restaurant with a meal. At least, there was Nespresso in the room and people were pleasant. Next night stayed in the Fairmont Montreux Palace - now that is a 5* luxury hotel with lake views - sublime.

Room Tip: Get exactly what you think you are paying for, in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us as we strive to constantly improve our product and services. The hotel indeed offers different room categories of which only some offer a view over the lake. The rooms on the 4th floor are located in the attic of the historical building and their low ceiling and smaller window size are perceived by most of our regular guests as charming. I regret that the guestroom did not meet your expectations. Because of the hotels proximity to the lake and to avoid dissatisfaction of our guests we provide information in the room that when dark outside and having switched on lights inside, windows should preferably remain shut, not to allow any mosquitoes in. Upon your next visit we would be pleased to show you a different room to make sure you will be satisfied with Swissôtel Métropole. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

It was a short stay (1 night) in Geneva and stayed at the Swissotel Metropole.

Great service, friendly doormen and swift check-in. Allocated a lovely bedroom overlooking the lake and enjoyed some of the offerings in the Mirror Bar.

Location is ideal in Geneva and could not have asked for a better position.

Only downside was the breakfast the following morning. Service was lacking a bit and the breakfast room seemed a bit dissapointing, but overall experience at the hotel was excellent.

Would certainly return at some point!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Lake...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post some valuable comments about our property.
We have shared your review with our team and were pleased to read the very good comments on the service and attention you received from our colleagues.
The breakfast offer is definitely an area we are currently looking at and keep on improving thanks to the different comments we have received already.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can also appreciate the improvement in that area on a future stay.

Best regards,

Stefan Winistoerfer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
622 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Property: Hotel Metropole Geneve
Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#10 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing