We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Ranked #19 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived just as the French Bastille Day Parade was about to proceed along the street in front of the hotel. We received a genuine welcome from the doormen and consierge and a fast check-in from the registrar who seemed to be happily expecting us. They told us about the Bastille celebration and the consierge pointed us to the exciting places to visit - all within walking distance from the hotel. From our room we had a close view of the Geneva Fountain and Lake Geneva - beautiful! Our tours, our shopping interests and even our dining favorites were very close by. Our room was classy, elegant and very clean. The meal we enjoy most is breakfast and our hotel expectations are elevated or dashed by the quality and ambiance of breakfast.
The Swissotel Metropole holds our first place votes for quality and abundance of food choices for breakfast and charming outdoor setting for leisurely morning dining.
Hopefully, one day we will return to the beautiful city of Geneva and when we do we'll absolutely stay at the Metropole!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lake Geneva. Rooms are small but elegant. King beds are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmom1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. My team is working hard to constantly improve our product and the services we provide. We are particularly happy to receive good feedback from our valuable guests. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Geneva and Swissôtel Métropole. Kind Regards, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 788 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Yes, you can get a lake view if you pay extra. Just. The window (at least on the 4th floor) was very
small which made the room dark. If you fancied a bit of lakeside air you couldn't because there was a 'verbotten' sticker saying don't open the window because of pests. The room -580CHF! -had towels about 10 years old, one bar of soap and a tiny shower. In check in you were given a fre complimentary drink voucher - only to be told later in the mirror bar that they were only redeemable in the restaurant with a meal. At least, there was Nespresso in the room and people were pleasant. Next night stayed in the Fairmont Montreux Palace - now that is a 5* luxury hotel with lake views - sublime.

Room Tip: Get exactly what you think you are paying for, in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us as we strive to constantly improve our product and services. The hotel indeed offers different room categories of which only some offer a view over the lake. The rooms on the 4th floor are located in the attic of the historical building and their low ceiling and smaller window size are perceived by most of our regular guests as charming. I regret that the guestroom did not meet your expectations. Because of the hotels proximity to the lake and to avoid dissatisfaction of our guests we provide information in the room that when dark outside and having switched on lights inside, windows should preferably remain shut, not to allow any mosquitoes in. Upon your next visit we would be pleased to show you a different room to make sure you will be satisfied with Swissôtel Métropole. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

It was a short stay (1 night) in Geneva and stayed at the Swissotel Metropole.

Great service, friendly doormen and swift check-in. Allocated a lovely bedroom overlooking the lake and enjoyed some of the offerings in the Mirror Bar.

Location is ideal in Geneva and could not have asked for a better position.

Only downside was the breakfast the following morning. Service was lacking a bit and the breakfast room seemed a bit dissapointing, but overall experience at the hotel was excellent.

Would certainly return at some point!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Lake...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post some valuable comments about our property.
We have shared your review with our team and were pleased to read the very good comments on the service and attention you received from our colleagues.
The breakfast offer is definitely an area we are currently looking at and keep on improving thanks to the different comments we have received already.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can also appreciate the improvement in that area on a future stay.

Best regards,

Stefan Winistoerfer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Were really so excited heading to Geneva since weve booked a famous 5-star Swissotel Metropole. Facade was fabulous, reception area was average but the staff were impeccable in what they do.

Heading towards the room, the hallway was one of the best ive seen after staying at several 5-star hotels. With so much anticipation for the room, well to be honest, it was kinda small compared to other 5-stars. Interiors were perfectly fit, bathroom was gorgeous in which i can stay for hours. Breakfast was good but pale in comparison to the Legendary Breakfast of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam.

Everything is a few minutes away staying at this hotel. Luxurious clubs, bars, restaurants, shops, you name a high-end brand and you got it in the corner of your eyes. Not to forget the sights were a few steps away or just several stops and voila, youre there. Dont forget to visit Patek Philippe Museum, its highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugenedr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our facilities and services.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the welcoming and services delivered by our team members; it is particularly important for us as we not only strive to improve the level of quality of our product but also the engagement of our colleagues toward our clientele.
As far as our room product is concerned, we are currently working on the full renovation of our lakeside rooms, concentrating on redefining the space in the bedroom and bathroom area as well.
The breakfast is also an area we are currently working on, improving the selection and quality of products we are presenting.
Thank you for your valauable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Swissôtel Métropole in Geneva.

Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

5 star luxury hotel just in front of lake Geneve. Water fountain and the famous clock just in front of the hotel. Close to the pedestrian and shopping quarter. Old town just behind the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having posted your review on Tripadvisor. The hotels location is seen by many travellers to Geneva as unbeatable. We hope to have the pleasure to cater for your needs again next time. Kindest Greetings to Malta, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed at Swissotel for 2 weeks in March for a business trip. The service was perfect from the time I arrived until the time I left. My room was ready when I arrived in the morning for early check in, which was greatly appreciated after an overnight flight. Front desk staff, room service staff, and housekeeping staff were all very courteous and friendly. The location is excellent, close to shopping and public transportation. Bar/Lounge area was very nice as well, and the wifi access was reliable and convenient.

The only drawbacks for me were the size of the room and shower, and the limited room service menu. The standard room was very, very small for a two week stay. I would compare it to the size of a large walk in closet. There was space to walk around the bed, and that's it. The shower was extremely small as well - barely enough room to turn around in the shower. The room service options were very limited, but this is probably a non issue for people staying a shorter length of time. When I did order room service, the service was fast, and the prices were much more reasonable than other hotels I've stayed at in Geneva.

I would definitely stay at the Swissotel again, but hopefully in a larger room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptriciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on our services and the friendliness of our colleagues as we constantly strive to improve the quality of our services and particularly the efforts made on the interaction between our employees and our guests. We understand that you were staying in our first category of room, the Classic shower room, and we agree that category is more appropriate for shorter stays of 1 to 2 nights, definitely too small for 2 weeks. Should you be back to Geneva we recommend that you book our Premier city side room or even better our lakeside room, giving you more space to work and store your belongings.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Swissôtel Métropole.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Excellent service from the moment we arrived. Lovely room with good facilities and great coffee machine. Only negative would be the price of drinks in the Hotel bar, approx £40 for a Brandy and £20 for a 100ml glass of wine!!! Fantastic location for exploring the Old Town and the Right Bank. Short walking distance for buses and trams which are readily available into the early hours.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sggoacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest, It is with great pleasure to learn that you have appreciated our service level from the moment you have arrived. We are consistently reviewing our prices in the bar and in the restaurant to make sure we remain competitive. Even though the hotels is located within walking distance of most mayor sights/businesses, all our guests benefit from the free Geneva public transportation pass during their stay! Hope to be able to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Hotel de la Paix, Geneva
0.4 mi away
Le Richemond, Geneve
Le Richemond, Geneve
#7 of 106 in Geneva
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#16 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $315 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splitty, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing