We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveler rating
562
251
80
30
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
251
80
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barmirror barold townjardin anglaissteam showerflower clocklakeside roomlake genevajet d'eaulake viewpillow menuenglish gardenperfect locationsuperb hoteljunior suitebreakfast buffetnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 940 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Good choice for the business traveller on a short stay. Well equipped modern rooms with good linen, bathrooms etc but typical rooms are very small for the price. Rooms at the front can be noisy with traffic. Breakfast is fine, but not really worth the cost. Stayed here many times as conveniently located. Room service is fine and bar is ok if a bit lacking in atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. We have worked a lot on our quality standards lately and especially on our breakfast and food offer.
We encourage you to give us some feedbacks on these recent changes on your next stays and on other possible areas for improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Geneva.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have been surprised to discover in a 5 stars hotel , so small rooms having no apace to open two suitcases. Even the wardrobe had space for only 5 -6 clothes. The 2 single beds of our twin bedded room very small reminding kids room. The public places are big enaugh, but the breakfast restaurant is too small for the size of the hotel . Traffic jam between guests and staff who try to serve and us to be served. The hotel uses the bigger places of the loby level as meeting rooms rather than restaurants which could be more appropriate. WiFi is paid and expensive . Room service helpfull but the food was average. The hamburger tough (!!) and the club sandwich tasteless.Very central location near the main comercial street .

Room Tip: Ask if exist bigger rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We have several categories of rooms and some of them located on the city side may be more suitable for individual occupancy. You would be pleased to hear that we are currently working in the renovation of our lakeside room taking into consideration the needs from our leisure clientele (more wardrobe space, proper space for suitcase).
The time you visited us was indeed a very busy time and we understand there was a lot of people at the same time in the breakfast room; we are working on a different lay out of the breakfast area but it is important in order to improve the service to have it separated from the main restaurant and other areas of the hotel. We shared your comments on the Room service food and we are working on improving the quality of the menu there as well. As for the internet access, it will be a new complimentary service as of 2013.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and experience the recent improvements.

Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

A five-star hotel at a five-star price.

Everything is comfortable to the point of luxuriousness. Our room was a bit on the small side, but it had everything you could want in it. Bathroom was of a good size.

Switzerland, and Geneva, is expensive at the moment, but if you can afford the Swissotel Metropole, you can afford Switzerland!

A very enjoyable 3-night stay (but the bar does get crowded with loud businessmen - on expenses!).

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ackcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is true that our bar, due to its central location in town, can get crowded at time mainly on weekdays. We hope to welcoming you back to Geneva in the future.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great location with beautiful lake views. This property has been renovated keeping in style with it's original old world charm. Very comfortable rooms, however the bathrooms could be better for a 5 star establishment. This is a hotel to book when they have special promotions, as their sale pricing is really great value. We only paid CHF 280.- for lake view deluxe rooms. The breakfast room has been renovated into a rather modern, plain area which is a bit dissappointing from what it used to be.

Room Tip: Beware, lakeside rooms are the noisier ones as the main road through to France goes by here. Rue du Rhone side rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parsichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear guest, we thank you for your valuable comments recently posted. You will be pleased to hear that we are now just starting a renovation program on the lakeside product with an emphasis on the bathroom including the shower area; we hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again and enjoy the new room as of next year.
As for the breakfast room, we understand the style changes completely from the rest of the hotel but it was important for us to set up a full buffet breakfast in a separate area than the main restaurant. We look forward to your next stay in Geneva.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hotel is definitely a 5 star and in great location. Over looking the lake and within a few minutes walk of shops and restaurants. This would of been fab if they were open. The whole of Geneva was shut for new years eve, new years day and on 2nd. Couldn't wait to get home as nothing to do. We only found a few restaurants open which resulted in lowering ourselves to eating a mcdonalds, didn't expect to have to do that in Geneva.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for your appreciation our product, services and location. It is true that Geneva is not as active as other nig cities during New year’s and people tend to leave the city to go skiing. It was also a bit particular this year the 1sz of January falling on a Sunday and most offices and shops extending the Holiday through January 2nd. We understand your disappointment and we can only encourage you to give the destination another chance in spring or summer!
Stefan Winistoefer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews