We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveler rating
563
252
80
30
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
252
80
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barmirror barold townjardin anglaissteam showerflower clocklakeside roomlake genevajet d'eaulake viewpillow menuenglish gardenperfect locationsuperb hoteljunior suitebreakfast buffetnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 942 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great location with beautiful lake views. This property has been renovated keeping in style with it's original old world charm. Very comfortable rooms, however the bathrooms could be better for a 5 star establishment. This is a hotel to book when they have special promotions, as their sale pricing is really great value. We only paid CHF 280.- for lake view deluxe rooms. The breakfast room has been renovated into a rather modern, plain area which is a bit dissappointing from what it used to be.

Room Tip: Beware, lakeside rooms are the noisier ones as the main road through to France goes by here. Rue du Rhone side rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parsichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear guest, we thank you for your valuable comments recently posted. You will be pleased to hear that we are now just starting a renovation program on the lakeside product with an emphasis on the bathroom including the shower area; we hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again and enjoy the new room as of next year.
As for the breakfast room, we understand the style changes completely from the rest of the hotel but it was important for us to set up a full buffet breakfast in a separate area than the main restaurant. We look forward to your next stay in Geneva.
Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hotel is definitely a 5 star and in great location. Over looking the lake and within a few minutes walk of shops and restaurants. This would of been fab if they were open. The whole of Geneva was shut for new years eve, new years day and on 2nd. Couldn't wait to get home as nothing to do. We only found a few restaurants open which resulted in lowering ourselves to eating a mcdonalds, didn't expect to have to do that in Geneva.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear guest, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for your appreciation our product, services and location. It is true that Geneva is not as active as other nig cities during New year’s and people tend to leave the city to go skiing. It was also a bit particular this year the 1sz of January falling on a Sunday and most offices and shops extending the Holiday through January 2nd. We understand your disappointment and we can only encourage you to give the destination another chance in spring or summer!
Stefan Winistoefer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Another typical hotel in Geneva - a pricey, small and clean room. The location on the lake is convenient for business and shopping, service staff was friendly and helpful with very good english. If you've traveled to Geneva then you know why this review is short and to the point. If you have not traveled to Geneva then your review will likely be similar to this one upon your return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Xtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, services and outlets.

We are proud to gain a new hotel ambassador.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have stayed at the Metropole 6 or 7 times this year for business, most recently in July 2011. I have found the staff to be efficent, room facilities reasonable, and buffet breakfast good quality.

Some reviewers have mentioned the high room costs. In my experience the Metropole Hotel is reasonable value for a central location, 4 star hotel in Geneva. A small standard room (no lake view) regular cost is approx CHF 280-350 and larger room CHF 350-400 per night. However, room rates vary wildly depending on demand and expected occupancy. If you are travelling to Geneva during an event or trade show - Car Show, Watch / Jewelery exhibition, UN Congress etc then be aware that hotel rooms are very limited and ALL hotels rooms will be double or triple regular cost. If you have no choice but to travel during these high occupancy periods then be aware of the likely extra costs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillonfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, services and outlets. Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Regarding your comments on our rates, please kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva during city fairs.

W e are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A dreadful hotel.. Stay well clear. The most overpriced experience of my life.. €500 for a room you couldn't swing a cat in, had to change room and could only get a smoking room.. Some ignoramous behind the bar charging € 26 for a bad gin and tonic.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are sorry to read that your experience during your recent stay with us has not met your expectations.
We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and we are truly surprised you rated our services so poorly. Our barmen, and all other colleagues, are regularly trained on company's standards in order to deliver 5 star services. We have shared your comments with our department heads during our recent quality meeting and in the meantime we encourage you to give us a second chance and experience our usual level of services throughout the hotel.

Best regards,

Stefan Winistoerfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews