We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveler rating
563
253
80
30
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
253
80
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barmirror barold townjardin anglaissteam showerflower clocklake genevalake view roomjet d'eaupillow menuperfect locationbeautiful hoteljunior suitebreakfast buffetnespresso machineshopping areabusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 943 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have stayed at the Metropole 6 or 7 times this year for business, most recently in July 2011. I have found the staff to be efficent, room facilities reasonable, and buffet breakfast good quality.

Some reviewers have mentioned the high room costs. In my experience the Metropole Hotel is reasonable value for a central location, 4 star hotel in Geneva. A small standard room (no lake view) regular cost is approx CHF 280-350 and larger room CHF 350-400 per night. However, room rates vary wildly depending on demand and expected occupancy. If you are travelling to Geneva during an event or trade show - Car Show, Watch / Jewelery exhibition, UN Congress etc then be aware that hotel rooms are very limited and ALL hotels rooms will be double or triple regular cost. If you have no choice but to travel during these high occupancy periods then be aware of the likely extra costs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillonfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, services and outlets. Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Regarding your comments on our rates, please kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva during city fairs.

W e are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A dreadful hotel.. Stay well clear. The most overpriced experience of my life.. €500 for a room you couldn't swing a cat in, had to change room and could only get a smoking room.. Some ignoramous behind the bar charging € 26 for a bad gin and tonic.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, General Manager at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are sorry to read that your experience during your recent stay with us has not met your expectations.
We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and we are truly surprised you rated our services so poorly. Our barmen, and all other colleagues, are regularly trained on company's standards in order to deliver 5 star services. We have shared your comments with our department heads during our recent quality meeting and in the meantime we encourage you to give us a second chance and experience our usual level of services throughout the hotel.

Best regards,

Stefan Winistoerfer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This property is ideally suited for exploring Geneva. It is across the street from Lac Leman, which is bordered by a tree-lined pedestrian walkway -- ideal for a morning jog. It is 5 minutes stroll from the main shopping district. The greeting we received was exceptional and the staff was always willing to go the extra mile. The rooftop bar has excellent views over the city & lake. We definitely enjoyed our stay here.

The room we stayed in was small and not with much of a view. That said, we booked the room through a discount ebooker and that might have been why we did not get a preferred room. Even with the discount it was a bit on the expensive side, however not in comparison to other properties in Geneva in this location.

Room Tip: There are lake view rooms which might be preferable.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeisprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, services and outlets.

We are proud to gain a new hotel ambassador.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

First time in Geneve. Client choice. Nice location, but too expensive if you consider the relation cost x benefits (comparison Baur au Lac Zurich): small room; personal tending to be burocrats; mistakes (not so small) in the final bill. Exception for the concierge who deliver good service obtaining train ticket.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor community.

We have taken good note of your remark on the service and we did since your layt stay a large improvement.

Comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Regarding your comments on our rates, please kindly note there are equivalent to those proposed in the other 5-star hotels in Geneva.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great hotel in a good location near the major shopping area of Geneva. The rooms are very spacious with excellent amenities. The staff is very attentive and polite. Definitely recommend that hotel and will also return on my next trip to Geneva.
Thanks again to Mr. Stefan Winistoerfer, General Manager, for his great hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGeneva, Responsable commercial at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Swissôtel Métropole Geneva with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Good comments such as yours are most important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sullivan Sananikone
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews